We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #16 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Aurora, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We LOVED the food! We all ordered something different and tasted each others. They were all delicious! We got there early and had to wait half an hour. It was well worth the wait. We will be back next year!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,867
    540
    150
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An explosion of flavours. Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Get ready to enjoy tasty comfort food. Everything we ordered was delicious. Service was fantastic. This is a small restaurant with huge selection of southern food. Reservations are highly recommended as this place get very busy. The meatloaf is excellent. The banana pudding is the best I've ever tried. Highly recommended place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away this "shabby chique" small restaurant pulls you in with friendly, welcoming service and a charming interior and exterior garden patio. Moonshine in mason jars paired with delicious low country dining choices. We went late at lunch approx 2:30pm. They are closed between 3 and 4:30pm. The cup of creamy shrinp soup was steaming hot, blackened mahi mahi and lima beans were great. Portions are generous. Very young children might not appreciate the menu. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scorpio117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We waited about an hour for a table and it was definitely worth it! I ordered the potato chip meatloaf with mac and cheese, and mashed potatoes and my husband ordered the soup of the day, and the double burger. He said it was the best soup he had ever had.( It was kind of like a shimp bisque.) My food was absolutely amazing. Very friendly staff. We were seated outside and there was a man playing his guitar and he was pretty good! My husband and I were discussing how laid back the atmosphere was and that it was a nice break from the hustle and bustle of all the other restaurants we eat at on the island. It's probably best to get there before 5:00 because when we were being seated the hostess was telling people it was going to be a 2 1/2 to 3 hour wait. (This was at 6:30) We will definitely make this a must every time we come here on vacation from now on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QT0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has amazing food! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming like you are eating at a friends house. Our waitress was really friendly and made great recommendations. Hope to return soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing