We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Lowcountry Backyard

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #17 of 361 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Choose this due to reviews and was not disappointed! Everyone had something different and everyone was very happy. I had the side salad with the tastiest ranch dressing EVER! Would return just for that dressing!! Extremely friendly and attentive staff. Don't miss this place. Check serving times before planning your visit; they close for a short time between lunch and dinner (although this may not be the case during the busy summer season.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawnahas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm going to confess now. I eat the ranch dressing on tortilla chips with my lunch occasionally. It is good, i agree. Good on anything, ha ha. Thanks for the kind review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,836
    524
    147
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good southern cookin...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a mini honeymoon in HH and try some different things we weren't accustom to in Jersey and the Low County did not dissappoint.From the delicious mason jar filled moon shine drinks to a blacked grouper sandwich and a fried green tomato blt...food and service was great ...a don't miss....p.s. try t he pimento cheese spread and the macaroni salad..real good

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve022577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
My mom will be thrilled that you love her macaroni salad recipe. I never get tired of telling her when a guest comments on it. The pimento cheese is good on a burger too ; ) FYI, for the next time you come! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, ME
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for brunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Cant't think of a single thing to complain about. Unpretentious ambience, very reasonable prices, unanimously voted delicious food (including teenage approval). Very nice menu variety considering the small number of items.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank capeporpoise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Very nice and simple review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it and we are thankful for your patronage. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful outside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Small restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating..sat outdoors and also had a guitarist paying while we ate. Tried the chicken with biscuits gravy, very tasty..also the meatloaf with peach sauce as well as tuna sandwich also good. Banana pudding was great! All reasonably priced...wonderful service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you. Glad your service and food were great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visit Hilton Head every year but had never gone to this restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised. Our waitress Lorraine was great! She was fun to talk with and very attentive.

The backyard is set up to keep children entertained while their parents enjoy some respite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kgpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Some of the best places to eat are "off the trail". Thanks for finding us and enjoying Lorraine. She's fun. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing