We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Will Feel Right At Home”

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #16 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You Will Feel Right At Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our family had dinner here. It was a bit hard to find, but I'm glad - because I don't want anyone else to find out how great this place is. We were greeted by Kim and she was so funny and wonderful. We had the flight of moonshine - wow. Intense. Hubby and father-in-law had the fish special of the day which was Kielbasa and Jondori with chickpeas and rice. I don't eat any meat other than fish, but they both loved it. Mother in law and I had the crab cakes. Listen to me - BEST CRAB CAKES EVER, ANYWHERE. EVER. THE BEST. We shared the key lime pie and banana pudding for dinner - delish. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,867
    540
    150
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fantastic Southern Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Another hidden gem--just off the main drag from the cross-bay expressway and worth stopping in for a great selection of home-made southern specialties. The Fried green tomatoes are excellent, as is pretty much everything on the menu. It doesn't have as varied a menu as Annie O's, but it's well worth an evening dining there or stopping in for a "southern lunch."

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Southern Charm in a Backyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Over the past few weeks on the island, this restaurant was mentioned in a number of conversations with the locals. Sooo, we thought we better try it before heading back to Philly. What a great experience. We were graciously met by the hostess and shown to our table in a beautiful, rustic backyard, with fire pits and an artificial waterfall. Our server was Kim, who was very charming. We started out with a cheese plate to share and then came the meatloaf and the chicken with biscuits. Our sides were grits, mac and cheese and the cornbread. We are sooo very glad we came here tonight as everything prepared and served was "over the top."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the first stop for us after checking into our condo. We had no wait for a table and felt "at home". Atmosphere generates your own backyard feeling. Food and service were excellent. Be sure to try to homemade dessert!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yecqr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Katie, waitress, was so personable, kind and made us feel like a neighbor. Just as reviews, wife had shrimp and grits, best ever. Met owners wife, so pleasant, I had meatloaf, and its sooo good, gives meatloaf a great name. The recommended fried green tomatoes just perfect! Backyard setting felt like at home with neighbors.

Helpful?
Thank ddspsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing