We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster needs mayo”
Review of British Open Pub

British Open Pub
Ranked #42 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family friendly pub style restaurants featuring authentic English food with additional American favorites and certified Angus beef. Taste the finest ales and single malt scotches produced in England, Ireland and Scotland. Come surround yourself with authentic British Open Pub golf memorabilia and let our family take care of yours! Blarney is invited, singing encouraged and good humor admired!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lobster needs mayo”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and the food is good. The lobster roll is an addition in the past few years. It is good but needs mayo in the Maine style. I would eat lunch here any time but not my choice for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    298
    78
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallace, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

After seeing an ad for this restaurant we checked Trip Advisor and found lots of positive reviews. Based on that we decided to try it and were not disappointed. the service was great, staff friendly and the food very good. We had the steak & mushroom pie, shepherds pie and pecan encrusted tilapia ( I think). Everyone was happy and we will go back again next time we're in Hilton Head.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The closest you will find to England”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the Brisith Open Pub does not serve exactly British food (you wont find pork pies on the menu for example) you will find a steak pie (without the kidneys), fish and chips, liver and onions, and bangers and mash. That is as close as you are going to get in South Carolina to a good English pub meal and as their prices are very low, its good value too. A real favourite with locals it gets very busy, so you have to get there early. If you want lobster, bear in mind you have to call on Wednesdays to book one for their Thursday night lobster night. Something else you wont find on an English pub menu. Keep me a seat because we are regulars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good British Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times, everything is always good. service always exceptional. from the beef to the fish & chips its all good hearty and flavorful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Our first stop on Hilton Head and we weren't disappointed. If the locals go here it must be good. The Royal chicken was outstanding as was the patty melt . The patty was large and perfectly cooked. Great service made it a place we will try again for Sunday brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britpub1, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments . The Royal chicken is indeed one of our more popular dishes.
we hope hope to see you again while your visiting Hilton Head. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Open Pub also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to British Open Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing