We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere!”
Review of British Open Pub

British Open Pub
Ranked #42 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family friendly pub style restaurants featuring authentic English food with additional American favorites and certified Angus beef. Taste the finest ales and single malt scotches produced in England, Ireland and Scotland. Come surround yourself with authentic British Open Pub golf memorabilia and let our family take care of yours! Blarney is invited, singing encouraged and good humor admired!
Toano, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My parents and I ate lunch here and really enjoyed it. My parents loved all of the golf paraphernalia that was everywhere in the pub. We all ordered the fish and chips, they were good, but not special. Overall we all agreed that the food was okay, but we liked the atmosphere, we would probably go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    298
    78
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub Atmosphere & Great Food.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always spend at least one night at the British Open Pub when we visit Hilton Head. Friendly staff with good food at reasonable prices. On this trip it was two visits. Tuesday we had fish and chips, as someone already said the best on this side of the pond. Thursday will be lobster night.
If you like a warm friendly atmosphere with good pub fare this is the place to be. We love it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unionjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhayes04, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We appreciate your business and writing in. Hope to see you again next year, try to stay warm in Ohio! Sincerely, Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neat place to visit!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pretty authentic like menu. Prices are pretty fair too. Definitely could be a family outting if you like. They have a neat Sunday brunch if you are there on a Sunday.

Their menu is much like the pub I visited in London many moons ago... close to the real deal!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Great food and friendly”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great place for drinks after a round of golf with your friends and the best Patty Melt ever! Friendly staff at both locations on the Island and in Sheridan Park. Was my Mom's favorite place on the Island!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhayes04, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your continuing patronage and recommending our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“British Open Pub”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Easily our favourite spot on HHI or Bluffton.
Prices are very good, food quality terrific, wether it be Happy Hour, normal dining. Great selections of drinks and always a warm and friendly atmosphere.
Highly recommend
Gerry

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhayes04, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We always enjoy you and your wife's company and look forward to when your coming into town! Thank you so much for being such a loyal customer over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Open Pub also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to British Open Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing