We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of British Open Pub

British Open Pub
Ranked #42 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family friendly pub style restaurants featuring authentic English food with additional American favorites and certified Angus beef. Taste the finest ales and single malt scotches produced in England, Ireland and Scotland. Come surround yourself with authentic British Open Pub golf memorabilia and let our family take care of yours! Blarney is invited, singing encouraged and good humor admired!
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was visiting Hilton Head Island with my sister and parents. We had dinner here one night and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The next day my sister and I went for the Happy Hour. Prices were very reasonable and we really liked the corned beef slider appetizer! The bartenders and staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. It is definitely a must for those who enjoy golf and/or beer and English cuisine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfl55902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    298
    78
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking for something different”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had not read anything about this place, but took a chance for lunch. Were we ever surprised! It was fantastic! Portions were more than ample and the service was great. We all ordered something different so we could do a little sampling. We couldn't decide between the fish and chips or the mini ruebens. All very good. Will go back on next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janmod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great "opening" to our gastronomical experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First time in Hilton Head. Went in search of a place that was closed. In same complex, stumbled onto British Open. Had the Pub Wellington, Mini Ruebens and Mediterranean Salad-shared all with my chums. Perfect lunch. Sat outside, great service. Food was excellent. Good pick for a pleasant dining experience. Lots of interesting things on menu and plan to go back for Fish and Chips!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagnoliaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Best fish & Chips”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This review is for the location in Sun City, Bluffton, one of 4 locations in the area. I have be in the area almost 10 years. Whenever I hunger for fish & chips, washed down with Guinness on tap, I never would consider any other place. Three pieces of cod, and a vegetable side for $11 on Fridays.
They have someone providing live music on Fridays, but he is too loud for have a table conversation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

3 of us were trying various restaraunts while on vacation. We arrived and had a short wait for our table. We visited the bar while we waited. Joe was our bartender and conversationalist. He was very attentive and the time fly by. We dined on the patio. I had the Prime rib which was excellent. Sis had the fish and chips and enjoyed them. Friend had the lobster roll which she devoured. Very enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suthernfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Open Pub also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to British Open Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing