We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want, and then some”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
HarbourSide III at Shelter Cove Harbour
Springfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you want, and then some”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Harbourside III has pretty much everything you come to HHI for - a wonderful, mid-Island location, an outdoor outfitter for bikes, kayaks, and powerboats only steps away, five restaurants within a three minute walk, shops, boutiques, galleries, and of course the yachts in Shelter Cove Harbor. As part of Palmetto Dunes, Harbourside guests get access to three championship golf courses (note: the Arthur Hills course is an under-used gem of a track!), the Dunes House for beachside lunches and beverages, and the 11-mile lagoon which has guided fishing adventures for those who want the thrill of catching very big redfish. And then there's the beach, which is simply one of the best we have ever seen.

The villas are spacious and nicely appointed - perfect for up to four. They are well furnished and include all you really need for a relaxing time at the beach. A bonus is the bike racks and outdoor closet, so you can get weekly rentals (a bargain on HHI) for your bikes and keep the golf clubs out of the living spaces after the round is complete. Balconies are large and overlook the harbor. In the spring through fall, there is nightly entertainment for kids by Shannon Tanner, a HHI legend who has been creating his wacky show for the little ones on the pavilion stage for something like 20 years.

Harbourside III is one of the best values on HHI. The restaurants on the Harbourfront are a little pricey, but not obnoxiously so. Waits can be long in the summertime, of course, but that's pretty much standard for Hilton Head in season.

Room Tip: Unless you're into the bar scene, you may want to try to stay on the north side of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ILHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been coming to the Island for 12 years, this was our first stay at Harbourside III. The villa was very spacious, furniture was comfortable and clean. I think the place presents better in person than the pictures. The balcony is large. There are 5 restaurants right downstairs along with shops and an ice cream and fudge shop. The beach shuttle will take you to the beach if you don't want to drive and on busy days/seasons I don't recommend it, you won't get a parking spot. We had a problem with our air conditioning and it was delt with immediately. There is a lot of landscaping noise in the mornings, you only hear it if you are sitting outside though. All in all I really enjoyed it and would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken S,C.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here using our RCI points for the first time. Great resort. No one called us, wanting to make an appt. to listen to a timeshare presentation. Appreciated that! Was a little disappointed that there was only a 26" TV in living and bedroom area. No tv in guest room and no fan. But you don't come to a place like this to watch tv. Housekeeping service could be improved upon as far as there was some dust and litter under the bathroom wastebasket, so we knew the floor had not been cleaned thoroughly. Sofas are super comfortable and large.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoboAikenS_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

this was our third year in Hilton Head and Harbourside III is clearly a fantastic place to stay on the island and has a nice resort feel to it. The villa was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was ideal! We had a great view of the harbour and could sit on our balcony and watch the concerts and fireworks. With two small children, it was so convenient to be close to the nightly activities!
Some may think that the beach is a bit far, but if you ride bikes like so many on HHI do, it's just a short ride away.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank dna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saxe,va
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Rooms overlook the Marina at shelter cove.....beautiful. There are many great restaurants here and nice outdoor bars with live music. The beach is right across the road and they do offer a free shuttle from the unit. Our room was modern, clean, and well stocked kitchen. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bolton80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were very pleased with the location of the Harbourside III unit we rented. We only had to get off the elevator and walk 100 yards to some great restaurants and shops. The pool was well maintained as was the unit we stayed in.The beach was accessible by using the local "Palmetto Dunes Beach Buggy" that picks up at Shelter Cove or a short 3/4 mile drive. The Palmetto Dunes beaches are the best on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swolfe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
454 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HarbourSide III at Shelter Cove Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HarbourSide III at Shelter Cove Harbour

Property: HarbourSide III at Shelter Cove Harbour
Address: 9 Harbourside Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3568
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Hotel Class:3 star — HarbourSide III at Shelter Cove Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Harbourside Iii At Shelter Cove Harbour Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing