We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to get into, but very good food.”

Chef David's Roastfish & Cornbread
Price range: $0 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tough to get into, but very good food.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We tried a number of times over the Christmas holidays to get in, but the waits were too long for the schedule we were on, but we finally got in for a late lunch/early dinner the other day. We have been here many times before but had never written a review. We have always been pleased with the excellent food quality, and our latest visit was no exception. We both order the three item platter. My wife had lightly blackened shrimp, scallops and Mahi-mahi. I ordered my fried three item platter with cobia, shrimp and oysters. each dish came with two sides but with the large portions of fish I barely touched them. The food came out piping hot which is a rare event these days in many restaurants, and was truly delicious. We will be back as always but try to avoid those peak times since it does get very crowded, particularly during peak seasons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    184
    99
    83
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best local seafood”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Seems most places on HHI have the same fish Red Lobster has - not from these parts. This is the first place I've seen that had cobia on the menu - a tasty ocean fish. Food is always good, but the wait can be long and the service slow. But worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_H1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff is very honest & helpful”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We did not get to eat at this restaurant. We showed up and the hostess said she would be right back. 20minutes later no- one ever came back the hostess stand. We eventually left as my son is a diabetic and has to get his isulin every 4hours. Ok, now for the good. As we walked in my son tripped on thier steps and fell and everything in his hand went flying. A day later on our way home we realized he had lost his IPOD. We called & spoke to the assistant manager, Thomas and they had found our IPOD and were holding it for us until our friends who were still on the Island could come and pick it up. It's hard to find HONEST people these days but their staff were very honest! Our ipod is a 400.00 ipod including the case. Huge pat on the back to their staff! Now, just hire a good hostess and your business is sure to recover!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffarooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We learned of Roastfish and Cornbread through a local who highly recommended this restaurant. Our family loves seafood & southern cooking and we have limited opportunities to enjoy this combination in our not so coastal home near Denver, CO. We arrived at 4:45pm to avoid the wait and enjoy a nice family meal. Our server was friendly, but our first glimpse of the challenges came with our drink order. Three beer options were listed on the board yet only one gluten free and not so tasty beer was available as the other two options were sold out. Next round of problems - during our order my husband (the non-seafood eater in our group) ordered the pulled pork sandwich only to find out that was sold out. Next we tried to order cornbread only to learn that was also sold out. Seriously? A side that is part of your business name & presumably a signature item and you are sold out before the dinner crowd really hits for the evening. The server brought hush puppies which were wonderful in place of the cornbread and I can only imagine how good the cornbread was. Dinner service was a problem as 2 of our 4 plates arrived to be followed later by one more plate and then an apology for the delayed arrival (with apology from the manager) of our final plate. Our final plate was a portobello sandwich that was supposed to come with sliced avocados. Avocados did not arrive with our dish and when we asked for them, they were as hard as a solid apple. I pointed out these challenges to the manager who was very apologetic and adjusted our bill to remove one plate. Obviously this restaurant has a great reputation and the food was average with significant upside potential. I hope that management is able to make some minor changes to return to the sort of reviews and word of mouth that brought us here to begin with.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ya wait, and wait, then get good food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

They ought to take reservations. We passed the first time as there were 20+ people waiting on the picnic tables for a seat inside. The second time there, at 8 p.m. were only 12, so we put our name in and were told 30 minutes. The staff kept apologizing for the wait, and after an hour they brought out cornbread to appease us. Needless to say, when we finally were seated, most of the 6 in our group were in a foul mood, that the good food did little to soothe.

For the amount of time they spent apologizing, they could easily had someone on the phone taking reservations, (even if they made you put a deposit down.)

In this day and age where you can't sit around drinking while you endlessly wait, the wait ruins the whole experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lzsrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef David's Roastfish & Cornbread also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing