We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety and just the right amount of challenge.”

George Fazio Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Head Island’s only par-70 public golf course is located in Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and was recently named the South Carolina Golf Course of the Year by the SC Golf Course Owners Association. The layout offers an exhilarating experience and is revered as the island’s truest championship challenge. For beginners and advanced players, the Fazio course offers an exceptional golf experience.
south carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great variety and just the right amount of challenge.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I play this course often and really like it for the variety of holes, natural surroundings, wildlife, and degree of challenge. One must think about where to hit the ball to stay out of trouble, because there are a lot of large oak trees in many places on the fairways, and some water hazards. It is well designed with ups and downs, and elevated greens. There is no range, so if you want to warm up you need to go over to the Arthur Hills course and use their range...large bucket is $7.
One more thing...there are a lot of deer in the area and can often be seen on the course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stantond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Challenging Course”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Played the Fazio course for the first time in many years and was pleasantly surprised by both the condition of the course and how tough it plays. My group played from the blue tees and it was all we could have asked for.
A very challenging layout requiring that you put your ball in the right place for the next shot, I wish I now had paid $4.00 and purchased the yardage book in the pro shop. It would have helped with some of the hidden areas that made scoring tough.
The only negatives were no driving range/ practice area to warm up, no towels in the cart and no complimentary ice water- something that is pretty standard at most other courses I played.
Even with these negatives, I will be back next year and recommend this course for someone looking for a tough but fair round of golf.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MurrayBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great course, no Range”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I rented a villa on the 12th hole for a week in June and by 8 am there were at least 3 guys maintaining the green, cleaning the sand, and trimming the fringe. Needless to say after seeing this for three days and playing a few other courses on the island I decided to play George Fazio. WOW. I loved the challenge of avoiding all the sand and water. This course requires much thought in planning your shot. The only downside was no range, so if you're a golfer who likes to go into a round nice and warm you may want to hit up Robert Trent Jones, also in Palmetto Dunes. The practice putting green played true to the greens on the course which is always a plus. When I make it back to Hilton Head Fazio will be a course a play again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at George Fazio Golf Course, responded to this review, August 5, 2015
Hi Jackson S,
Thank you for playing the George Fazio, and thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Player comments are always helpful in our continuing goal of ever better customer service.
One thing we wanted to point out, in case you missed it, is that we do have four water fountains around the course - #3 Green, #6 Green, #12 Green and between 13&14. The reason we don't have water coolers on any of our courses is that some time back there was a health warning about using them, particularly in hot climates. Both the PGA and our legal counsel recommended not using them, and we've taken their advice.
Also - while we don't have practice facilities at the Fazio course, players are welcome to warm up over at the Robert Trent Jones. Our new employee should have told you that, and we appologize if he didn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great course, short wait on tee!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very nice course, I am a 20 handy caper and it still was able to find this course fun and playable. They do have back tees that looks like they would be lot more changeling. It is a very beautiful course and well kept. Only real problem was there were no pictures of the holes or yardage books (like Old South has) and for 1st time players of this course it was difficult to see where you should play the ball. There are times where you cannot tell if there is water or sand or even where the green is.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank svpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Review from a 7 handicap”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Played on June 11th, course is par 70 so it plays long even from the white tees. Fairways were a 7 out of 10 and in mostly good condition. All bunkers were raked and maintained but some of them need more sand. Make sure you pick the ball cleanly! Greens looked really nice but were really slow, rolled ok but a tad bumpy (best guess they rolled 7.5 on stemp). Make sure you ram it in the hole. Enjoyed the different shot making options the course provided whether trees to go over or around, dog legs and some bunker guarded greens. Course service was good and staff was friendly. By the way, no driving range so go hit some balls at the Arthur Hills course just a few minutes before your round. $7 a bucket. Practice some knock-down shots the wind was really blowing on the course. Best of luck!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldglvewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Fazio Golf Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to George Fazio Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing