We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better on calm days”

Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Robert Trent Jones Course, located in Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort, was named South Carolina's 2003 Golf Course of the Year. It features 18 holes, with an ocean view on the 10th hole. The course plays 6,122 yards from the middle white tees.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Jones Course at Palmetto Dunes is relatively windswept for a Hilton Head course, where most layouts enjoy shelter in the thick woods of the island. It's billed as an oceanfront course, but only the 10th green is next to the ocean. Lots of water in play on this course, especially once you hit the awesome par-3 8th. This long short hole over water to a 50-yard wide green concludes a stretch of holes that runs parallel to the island's highway. The course was renovated several years ago and the white sand in the traps is very eye-catching. The greens are large and undulating, and you'll have a fun day.

1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

I just returned from a business trip to Palmetto Dunes and had the opportunity to play the RTJ Course. It was outstanding!! Had lunch at the Grill, the onion rings were to die for!! The course was in great shape, very challenging and the view was spectacular....from the houses along the course to the ocean views on 10 and 11. I have never seen golf carts with air conditioning.....what a nice touch on a hot day! The staff was helpful and full of Southern hospitality. I would definitely go back and will tell all of my friends!!

Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visited at the end of July 2011. Course was in good shape. Palmetto Dunes takes care of their courses. Course is challenging enough without being too difficult. Large fairways, big greens (speed was good) well protected. Took four hours (for 3 people), so not too bad for a course getting a lot of tourists. The wind can be a challenge, since it comes from the Ocean. Did not care too much for the holes (3/4) next to the highway 278 except the 2 par 3. Better back 9 than front 9 in my opinion. Nice experience overall. A little pricey (about $70 at 3:00pm) but I had a good and fun time overall. Will play it again next time.

Thank fromagelover54273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

They charge you big bucks for the air conditioned golf cart and then they don't put ice in the unit so that it will work. It was 3pm and high 90's and they would not even try to help make the air conditioner work. They said they would not put more ice into the unit. When I visited the other Palmetto Dunes golf courses - fazio and Arthur hills - they were very accommodating and made sure that the air conditioner was working. I went back to the Robert Trent jones pro shop the next day and complained and they offered nothing - no help - not even an apology. DON'T PLAY THE ROBERT TRENT JONES COURSE!!!

3  Thank Bruce-golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Recent Guest,

We are so sorry you had a bad experience with us at the Robert Trent Jones Course. We appreciate your review as we are always striving to better serve our customers. We apologize that the air conditioned golf carts were not functioning and would appreciate you emailing us (customerservice@palmettodunes.com) all the details of your last visit so we can resolve all these issues with our staff. Thank you for staying with us at Palmetto Dunes and again we apologize for the poor service you received at the Jones Course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014
Google Translation

Thank AntonioCelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing