We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan of the cover charge”

The Electric Piano Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Nightlife in Hilton Head
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Electric Piano bar is Hilton Head Island's ONLY dueling piano bar, but we are so much more. Live music nightly!! Each night is different. We host everything from Dueling Pianos to Piano-Guitar Duos to Full bands to Live Mic nights to Karaoke nights. The Electric Piano Bar is not your typical nightclub. This bar rocks!! Come out and sing-a-long, Dance-a-long, and party with us at The Electric Piano Bar. We are a 21+ establishment at all times.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a fan of the cover charge”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I were looking for a place to go decided we would go to the piano bar. Called and gentleman on the phone informed me no cover as long as we got there before 9:30...well when we got there before 9:30 the gentlemen charged us $5 cover charge and stated that it depends on the crowd?!?! Anyways we ended up spending a few hours because Sterlin(?) who was the entertainment was funny. I will say this piano bar has an older crowd. If you are wanting a bar/club/dance atmosphere with a younger crowd i'd recommend one hot mamas, the lodge, Riley's and Hilton head brewery vicinity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElectricPiano, General Manager at The Electric Piano Bar, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Customer.
We are sorry there was a miscommunication about our cover charge. We do Charge a $5 Cover. We offer a 2 for one cover coupon in the island events magazine found at most hotels on the island. We are glad you enjoyed the entertainment. We are a Piano bar and not a "dance Club" or Nightclub, typically the crowd is much more mixed in age on the weekends. We hope you'll return to EP to check out the other great entertainers we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    12
    6
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Karaoke and Over Priced Drinks”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A group of six of us went to the Electric Piano Bar last night May 17 2013. A few of us had been to a dueling piano bar in other parts of the Country and had an amazing time and were hoping for the same experience here. So we made a reservation and instead of having to pay a cover we were told that there was a two drink Minimum. After finding out the price of the drinks I would have rather paid the $5 cover at the door. The drinks were good but way over priced. $8 for a single shot of rum and some sprite and cranberry juice in a small glass in my opinion was way overpriced. The music was ok. They played a good mix and seemed to keep the party going. My only problem was some of the songs seemed like they were singing Karaoke. A couple songs they had no idea what the words were and really made a mess of the song. If you don't know it don't sing it. Don't even try and sing it. They tried to play a Country song that I love and made a complete mess of the song.
Most of the group was in the 30s range and really didn't know must of the songs. It seemed it was more geared to the older crowd. I wouldn't recommend this place to the younger crowd unless you know more of the 60s and 70s rock and roll.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElectricPiano, General Manager at The Electric Piano Bar, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
We are sorry you did not enjoy the Dueling Piano show on Friday Night. The players try to do all the songs, even ones they don't know very well, because it tends to be worse when the request is not even acknowledged. The Priced of our drinks is pretty much the same as it is all over Hilton Head Island. If you were able to by-pass the cover you actually saved $5 per person. Venues with live entertainment and no food have to charge a certain price for their drinks since that is there only form of making revenue. We do run nightly specials through the week for people looking for a deals on drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Motown music!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We had our annual girls week and always return to the electric piano bar during our stay. Sterlin and shuvette are so much fun with great Motown favorites. Just a fun place to go The bartenders are fun too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kls88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElectricPiano, General Manager at The Electric Piano Bar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customers,
We Thank you for your positive review of the Electric Piano Bar.
We are Glad you enjoyed our entertainment and we hope that the service was just as good.
Please visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall fun!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I were having a "date night" while vacationing in Hilton Head. The in-laws kept the kids while we had a night out on the town. We started out at a local bar/restaurant (see my other reviews) and then made our way over to The Electric Piano Bar that was in the same area.

We were a little skeptical at first due to the size when we first walked in, but the night we went there was no cover charge, so we figured why not! All the "front row" bar seats were taken, but we found a couple of nice seats on the back bar against the wall. It is a small shotgun type of space, long and narrow. However, they have it designed and laid out perfectly for that space. The night we went was R&B/Motown and All-Request night with Sterlin and Shuvette. Sterlin & Shuvette were awesome. Interacted with the crowd, made jokes, and kept it fun and lively. The bar service was excellent too. Be aware they serve no food here, just drinks.

We would recommend this place to anyone! Young or old. We are in our early 30's and we had a blast. Yes, there was mainly an older crowd, but there were a couple other young couples there. Age doesn't matter, everyone was having a great time.

Be sure to check out the website to find out who is playing that night if you end up decided to go. I think Friday nights are dueling piano nights, so we're looking forward to checking that out when we go back to HH next year. Well done EP, well done!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BhamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,403 reviews
592 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Ok table service but couldn't play any song we asked for”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for my Mom's birthday because we heard a lot of great things. It was not horrible but could've been much better. It is quite cramped and the piano players couldn't play any song we asked for. The demographic was quite a bit older than we thought it would be even being on Hilton Head Island. We may give it once more change so hopefully it turn around a lot!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElectricPiano, General Manager at The Electric Piano Bar, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
We thank you for your review of the Electric Piano Bar. The off Season tends to bring an older clientele, as the younger college students and Interns are not yet on the Island.
We are sorry that the entertainment did not know any of your requests, they are working to expand their song knowledge every week. The off season is a time for our staff to learn new things and we have just brought in quite a few new players. We hope that you'll join us again during the season. We have a ton of different things planned starting in March. We also hope you're service and drinks were up to your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Electric Piano Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Electric Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing