We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Never Judge A Book by it's Cover

This charter had six people, 2 women, 4 men, with some charter fishing experience. Captain Campbell... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Michael R
Amazing fishing day

Had an amazing day with Captain Campbell. We were on the fish as soon as we dropped the line in the... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
zachm0826
,
Greenfield, Indiana
Read all 205 reviews
  
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
196
1
2
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
1
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain christiaan cobia mackerel sea bass great trip shark trip lady fish black tip hour charter bull dog blue fish catching fish father son experienced captain caught sharks his enthusiasm next year
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 205 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We caught zero fish, and two sharks. We were only allowed to touch the reels after the fish had been caught to reel it in. You are more of a spectator watching someone else fish. It was totally boring for my son.
As noted on previous posts, we spent the first hour catching our bait fish for us and the other fish trips that day. We were a,so told a bathroom was on board....which there wasn't.
We were still charged full price, and expected to still pay 20% tip for nothing. What a waste of money and time spent on hhi.

4  Thank nbarkley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptBulldog, Owner at Bulldog Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We give every effort to catch fish for our clients, sometimes it doesn't work out. As far as the comment about the bathroom, there IS a bathroom on both of my boats. Catching bait is part of the trip and some days are tougher than others. I am regretful that you had a bad experience, especially based on your previous reviews of charter fishing on Hilton Head. Sounds like a recurring theme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a terrific charter with Captain Christian and Wes! My 7 and 9 year old loved the shark trip! They made sure the boys had a great experience and were incredibly professional. The boys caught multiple sharks and will never forget this trip. I would recommend Bulldog Charters to all... They are truly exceptional!

1  Thank Tsm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been on charter fishing boats from Northern Norway to southern panama and this was top notch. Just look at the number of reviews 98% 5 star? Enough said. Christiaan was awesome. no doubt a second gen charter captain. Did 2 trips. Both def the highlight of our vacation. He landed us on a few huge cobia, tons of aj's, bsb's, a cuda, and more sharks than you can shake a stick at. His mates were awesome on both trips. We had kids on both trips and they were patient and helpful with them. The boat was great, clean head, tuna tower (the girls and kids loved watching the dolphins and turtles from up there), plenty of room. People say he's the best on the island and there's no question in my mind about it. Can't wait to get back down to HHI. Once we get all the pics together i'll post them. Thanks Christiaan and crew for a great time! ~brewmaster Nick and the gang

3  Thank ncrbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have had other charters in HHI before and Cpt. Christian was by far the best. Very friendly, answered all the kids questions, and was truly a professional. Had family trip with 4 adults and 2 kids, and he put the kids on the sharks quickly. Kept my mother happy with a smaller rod catching small whiting (which she totally enjoyed), and then put the guys on the Cobia, just as we had requested. Brought in 35lb Cobia which Cpt. Christian cleaned, bagged, made preparation suggestions, then.....walked it over to Hudsons Seafood with us, so they could cook it up. Altogether a great trip with a great Captain! We will be back.

Thank Rymcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We caught cobia and shark and had a great time. The largest was 38 lbs. Capt. Christiaan was patient with our kids and answered all their questions. We would go back again and would recommend him without any reservation!

1  Thank HeidiH644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews