We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good barbecue”

One Hot Mama's American Grille
Ranked #34 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good barbecue”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Ate dinner here during a recent Hilton Head vacation. Nice casual Tex/Mex/Barbecue joint in a good location on the island.

The "daily specials" all appeared to be good deals. On the night we dined, there was a BOGO special on the baby back ribs. As other reviewers have already declared, the ribs here are very good. Even better at half the price. Other food items that were good included: jalepeno cornbread (ultra moist), sliced brisket, mac-n-cheese, buffalo wings and the barbecue sauces. The coleslaw was a bit bland but that sounds a little nitpcky.....

Prices are reasonable, considering the Hilton Head location. Service was fully acceptable. I recommend One Hot Mama's for a very good barbeque value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kviolasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,376
    682
    222
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Started another Hilton Head vacation and got some coupons to One Hot Mama's. Quickley seated and got drinks. Met Josh who went over the menu and made good suggestions. We had the Ribs and Buffalo Chicken, and Ribs with BBQ. We liked the food and service so much we came back another night. This time Sofia challenged me to get the full rib order. All the food arrived and we needed a To-Go box. This is a great place and suggest you make this a stop when on the island. We averaged spending $40.00 per night, BUT with coupons and the Buy one Get One offer, we did OK. I don't give many Excellents, but this is one. Owner also stopped by and talked to the guests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The four of us went for lunch on a quest for baby back ribs and we weren't disappointed. The lunch special at $9.99 came with a third rack of fall off the bone ribs, a piece of jalapeno honey corn bread and your choice of two sides. Our group had a selection - collard greens, house made chips and baked beans - all very good. The service was excellent. Way to take care of us Josh! If time permits, we'll go back for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, Ny
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Could not believe the SIZE of our platters of food...and every bite was delicious! Very goo\d service,

Helpful?
Thank BfloLuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Now I Remember Why”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Why I had not been there in 2 years … it serves entrees and appetizers that range from very good to poor … it just depends I guess who is in the kitchen.

We had wings to start which were very good. Nice and meaty and the sauce was nicely prepared.

Then came the main courses … my son had chicken fingers (fine) and fries – soggy at best.

My wife had ribs and got mac and cheese as her side. Ribs were average at best but the M&C was very watery, too much salt, and probably out of a box. My wife left half of her $17 meal.

I had a salad (OK) and sandwich – bottom of bread was soaking wet due to lettuce and tomato on side being really wet.

The wait help was OK … and I hate to be this way, but one waitress in particular was slovenly and made the meal even more unappealing. At the risk of being shallow (yes, a typical guy) my wife made the same observation, independent of me. She just was not professional in her appearance and made a bad situation worse.

I won’t be back … until I forget again! We should have made the drive to Jim and Nicks, which is always better than OHM.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newave314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Hot Mama's American Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to One Hot Mama's American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing