We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food Done Right”

One Hot Mama's American Grille
Ranked #34 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Hilton Head Island
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfort Food Done Right”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We love this place. Really easy to return to again and again. This belongs to Orchid Paulmier who was a finalist on a Food Network show. Comfort food done right and priced reasonably. Awesome happy hour prices and menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    697
    224
    65
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch choice for southern cuisine.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lunch special is choice of ten or so entrees and three sides from a list of ten or so. Pulled pork for me plus collards, fried okra and cole slaw. BBQ chicken for the Mrs. plus sub of steamed broccoli for my slaw. Small piece of excellent corn bread accompanies each special. $7.99 each so hard to beat the price. Lunch portions but certainly enough for lunch unless one has been at hard labor all day.

Light breading on the okra so really good with the flavor not being dominated by the coating. Collards quite good and ample serving in a small bowl. Slaw was fine. Pork came with three sauces, including the mustard based sauce that is standard in S. Carolina. Good if one likes mustard. Warm BBQ sauce and something like vinaigrette. Tried them all. Each was fine.

Good service with helpful staff as I had several questions for them about their football coverage in the bar and Sunday brunch buffet. Going to watch a game Thursday and catch the Sunday brunch on the way out of town. Good choice in a pricey resort location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mixed reaction, but worth another trip.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place came highly recommended so we went for dinner. I think they may have been having an off night. Our server was nice and wanted to do a good job, but seemed not to know much about the menu or items. Maybe he was new. The brisket, which they are supposed to be famous for, is not that great. However, the BBQ Chicken was the best we have ever had anyway. This is what they should be famous for. The wings are also really, really good. However, we ordered the sampler plate with 5 different flavors. The plate came out with no indication of which flavors were which. They all looked the same. This is not good when you have little kids trying to avoid the spicy wings. We pointed this out and they took our plate away and brought it back 5 minutes later. The waiter simply pointed out which he believed were which. They had gotten cold during this time. But let me say this...THEY WERE REALLY GOOD. Just make sure you take precautions to know what flavor is which if you order more than one kind. We will probably give this place another shot because the BBQ chicken was so good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love a dog-friendly restaurant with great food!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We often bring our dog to Hilton Head after Labor Day so she can enjoy the beach with us and have found several places in Hilton Head that allow dogs in their outdoor seating. One Hot Momma's shares a courtyard with 2 other restaurants and it is a nice place to hang out while eating. The prices are reasonable as are the portions. We had the pulled pork and brisket with mac-n-cheese, cole slaw, and steamed veggies. There was nothing on the plate that we didn't like. Service was great and we can't wait to get back there sometime!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntheWind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food and atmospher... the Chocolate Baby back rib appetizer was great. The sweet iced tea was fantastic and the pulled pork sandwich was wonderful. Make sure that the server writes the entire order or he may forget one of the orders

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dan916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Hot Mama's American Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to One Hot Mama's American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing