We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and nice view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 17

Bistro 17
Ranked #23 of 361 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and nice view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice patio with view of Shelter Cove. Great service and delicious food. She Crab soup is awesome. We had our dog with us, and the server brought out bowl of water for him. Would highly recommend if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    134
    40
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
366 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Our Pups Favorite Dinner Spot on the Island!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

You can't beat the water front view. Nice menu selection. Love the bread, olive, and cheese sampler that they out. They are very pet friendly, and even have a canine dining selection of sauted chicken and veggies for the pups, complete with milk bone biscuits. Our dogs think they've gone to heaven when they go here. Their french onion soup is wonderful, along with their escargot. Nice fine dining waterfront experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I had a great meal at Bistro 17. The owner, Jim made sure we were well taken care of before, during and after the meal. Location on harbor is great venue.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 843sam843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, nice food, nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Best in Shelter Cove... We had a lovely dinner on the water... Good atmosphere with live music... Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleighLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“4.5 Star Bistro across the Harbor from Disney's Hilton Head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

After a day photographing the tideline on Hilton Head Island, we wanted something nice and near to Disney's Hilton Head Resort. We walked across the bridge to Bistro 17, a French restaurant as its name implies, among three restaurants just off the property. For range finding: our five star places include Les Halles in NYC and Petit Louis in Baltimore. We had a lovely time early on a Saturday, with a mellow guitarist (plus harmonica) - vocalist in the bar while we sat outside by the harbor. The soups were ordinary, the entrees of lamb and the special filet mignon were excellent. After dinner we repaired to the bar for a finale--no lounges at this Disney property. Delightful interactions with the staff including the owner Jim and the musician. The entire experience was unhurried, mellow, and tasty. We will definitely be back the next time we are on the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 17 also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bistro 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing