We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Southern Coney & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Breakfast was great and is served all day. Had the western omelet and it was not greasy at all! Pancakes were great too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    128
    46
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice greasy spoon”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Coney's resides in a strip mall on Polk Ave. I got recommendations from several places about the quality of the breakfast food, so my friend and I ventured out on a rainy Sunday and sampled two breakfast entrees at the top of the menu. My friend ordered the sampler, which included two eggs with bacon, a biscuit, with spicy sausage gravy. She balked at the gravy portion at first, but once she started, she thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I got the standard breakfast, three eggs, with bacon, hash browns and toast. All came out hot and wonderful. We enjoyed that simple fact, as the day before we had breakfast at the Sea Pines resort, where the eggs, potatoes and bacon were all cold. We sat at the counter, which allowed us to see our entrees being prepared. Nothing fancy here...just straight up home cooking.

The coffee was hot and wonderful. The service was good, the staff very friendly. and the place was full for most of the time we were there. The pancakes DID look scrumptious as we watched them being prepared. The kitchen is well organized and efficient, as our meals came out within five minutes of ordering. The bathrooms are clean.

This reminded me of the dozen odd places I have experienced in New York, a well oiled greasy spoon that pumps out decent breakfasts at reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mr8tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hit the spot! ”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

First time here and the Big Breakfast definitely hit the spot! It was more than enough to eat, not very expensive and Delicious! :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Smpadgett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes I Have Ever Tasted”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We thought we might try Southern Coney after riding by on our bikes one day. It looked like the type of place we like to have breakfast. The special was Chunky Monkey Pancakes. Normally I don not eat pancakes but they appeared appealing. After the first bite I knew I would be back. The pecans, banana, and chocolate chips melded together for a terrific taste experience. The pancake batter itself was crisp and lucious. The sides were tasty. We returned two more times after our visit and plan to eat there again this coming week. Great service. Very good coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You Can Thank Me After...”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

.... trying the corned beef hash!!

All too often I go to a breakfast joint and their corned beef hash is mush.

Not the case here! Freshly diced potatoes, corned beef, onion, seasonings. Sunny side up eggs on top.

Drip, drip, drool!!

Go to Coney's, try the corned beef hash (with rye bread).

You will thank me!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Coney & Breakfast also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Coney & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing