We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Cruise”
Review of Vagabond Cruise

Vagabond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Vagabond Cruise is Hilton Head Island's original sightseeing & excursion cruise operator located below the Lighthouse in world-famous Harbour Town since 1968. From dolphins to dinner, Savannah to sailing Vagabond has the cruise for you! Public trips and private charters are available year-round. We hope to welcome you aboard soon!
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Cruise”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My Mom and I had a fabulous cruise. We saw so many dolphin! It was amazing. The crew consisted of Phil and Dave. Phil was the captain and he turned out to be very entertaining. Dave was his mate and took care of everything else. Both gentlemen knew a lot about HHI and surrounding islands. We had a beautiful day and a wonderful 1 1/2 hr cruise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    143
    48
    30
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver Springs, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rachel Irick/ Server”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a wonderful sunset cruise experience. It had great food. Was worried because it was buffet, but the smoked brisket was GREAT! We had a super server. She was a student from Ohio doing her graduate studies and she was so sweet! Our glasses never ran dry! Rachel was great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mrollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NO CRUISE!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had purchased the tickets on Groupon prior to traveling. We looked forward to the cruise the entire trip because none of us had seen dolphins up close before. We turned our Groupons into tickets at 530 for the 630 sunset dolphin cruise. The man at the window told us to go to the dock at 615 for loading. At 630 about 20 people had gathered at the dock and no one was on the boat to greet us. As we started to get anxious about standing there a woman in line started to question another boat captain about our trip. We all stood there until around 650 when the other boat captain told us our cruise had been canceled. To say the least none of us were happy about no cruise or the lack of communication. We all walked up to the ticket booth to find even MORE lack of communication about what was really happening. At around 715 we were told that our Groupon tickets would be refunded and we received tickets for another cruise if we were to come back. Of course it had to be our very last night in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank leeann0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PassengerServices, Manager at Vagabond Cruise, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Leeann,

On behalf of Vagabond Cruise we would like to once again apologize for your experience this past Saturday on the Sunset Dolphin Cruise. There was very poor communication between our crew and the guests aboard the Sunset Dolphin Cruise. Our crew was down below deck working on the mechanical issue that they were trying to correct so we could run the Sunset Dolphin Cruise. The Crew should have informed you on this issue rather than you hearing it from our other fleet Captain.

Groupon has already been contacted on your behalf, and a credit is being issued to you now. If you need any other assistance with this process please contact our reservation office at; 843-363-9026.

We hope that the complimentary tickets that were issued to you and the rest of the guests who were turned away can change your view of Vagabond Cruise in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“great time with great friends.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The evening on board the vagabond cruise ship was fabulous. The crew was so courteous and friendly. We had such a wonderful time...we sat on the upper deck outside...and the evening was just beautiful. The meal was really good as well. We were enjoying a get together with great friends... no better way to do it.
Rachael our server was just terrific... very pleasant ... attentive and Sweet!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LILANG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
“Happy Customer”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I purchased a time-share at Hilton Head in 1985. My wife and I occupied the unit every year but three until she passed away in 2011. We always looked forward to taking The Spirit of Harbor Town to Savannah every year because the ride was great and the destination even better. Mr. Keith Walston, owner of Vagabond Cruise runs tight ships. This is the first year I took the Dinner Cruise aboard The Spirit of Harbor Town and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and service on board. The crew is very customer oriented and provide courteous and professional service, particularly Christian and Mary Kate. A most enjoyable evening. My hat is off to Mr. Walston.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabond Cruise also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Vagabond Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing