We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Links Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Just spent a week at this resort and was really impressed. Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. Very spacious and layed out well. Traveling with a 13 year old and 9 year old. Appreciated the split layout...bedrooms on opposite sides of unit. Nice, relaxing week. The pools were great. Very clean, lots of chairs, kids loved it. This was our first trip to Hilton Head and I would go back (and stay at Island Links!) tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgwyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    272
    35
    14
    1
See reviews for
460
229
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We previously stayed at Island Links three years ago and had a 2 bedroom unit with a screened balcony. We really enjoyed it and returned this year to try a 3 bedroom. As mentioned in other reviewes the 3 bedroom is a very unusual layout with the third bedroom connected by pocket doors to the master bedroom. Given our situation of traveling with extended family this layout did not work well for us. The beds also were very hard. We found out by accident (saw housekeeping walking with one) that you could request a cover top for the beds. We did that but Grandma still went out to buy additional padding. The Westin would not allow us to park there so it was more convenient to drive to a different beach than to use the one "offered" by the resort. Even with all that we would have been okay, but then we had the bugs... Inside the unit itself we had many occasions of cockroaches, two in the kitchen. We also frequently had spiders (I have a spider phobia). Supposedly they came to spray but my nephew/teenager left sleeping in the unit said he never saw/heard anyone. Then again, he was a sleeping teenager, so... Anyway, we had to buy ziploc bags to make sure everything was safe. We tried to keep bread in the microwave but the light was left on underneath the microwave and it made the microwave too hot and ruined all the bread (sandwich, hotdog buns, bagels, etc.). It really ruined our stay frequently watching for a bug to come out. One cockroach was found in the closet where the luggage was so we were concerned we might be bringing friends home with us... Also, since the balcony was not screened on this unit (like on our preivous unit), trying to use the balcony was pointless. The bugs out back were horrible, especially at night. My sister in law joked it was a movie - attack of the bugs on the balcony - you could see them all coming towards you in a swarm as night approached. I don't understand why all the units don't have screened porches. It was something we were looking forward to. Basically, this was our last stay at Island Links. Most of the office staff was ok, but one person in particular on four different occasions (one on phone before our stay began) was particularly rude (prob not allowed to give names) but she should not be working in customer service. We stayed a second week at a friend's house near Charleston and never saw one bug in her house so I know even though it's the south it's possible. We also frequently visit Florida and never had a cockroach problem there. Our advice - so many places to stay on Hilton Head - try somewhere else who hopefully sprays for bugs more often.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steensteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We should've known this wasn't going to be great right from the start. Upon checking in we were informed that The Westin wasn't letting any "outsiders" park at their facilities due to the fact that they were very busy. When aren't they very busy? So much for using their amenities, unless you want to use their less than convenient shuttle to drag everything to the beach. Moving on...when we went into our condo it looked very nice at first glance. I expected it to be very clean since the cleaning crew didn't finish cleaning it until 4pm, wow was I wrong. There was food left in the cupboards and drawers from previous occupants. There were cobwebs in nearly every corner and several dead bugs scattered about. I decided to get some fresh air out on the patio, another disappointment. The cleaning crew apparently doesn't clean outdoor areas, the patio table and chairs appear to have never been cleaned since they arrived here. I think you're starting to get the picture, but wait, it gets worse. The beds were decent at best, the sheets were worn and didn't fit very well. Day 2, the cockroaches arrive! I will skip all of the gross details, but the exterminators had to come to our condo three times in the next five days. The front desk management wasn't rude, but they didn't do much for us either. They called the exterminators and that was about it. When the exterminators finally sprayed the attic on the last afternoon of our visit we only saw one more live roach. Too bad they didn't do that sooner. My daughters were so afraid of the roaches they could barely fall asleep, they aren't looking forward to visiting Hilton Head again I'm sure. Beautiful island, not a beautiful condo! Beware of unit 203, bring your own Roach killer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68MikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The resort is a nice place. We stayed in a three bedroom unit in a three story unit. It was a very quiet resort. The pool is nice with a couple of water features that the kids liked. The beach is a mile away, but we rented bikes so it was a short bike (5-10 min. ride). The staff was friendly, but I think the office closed a little too early.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My husband, 2 daughters and I traveled during spring break (Easter/Passover week) and had a 2 bedroom unit that was very clean and spacious. It was well equipped and perfectly located next to the very large pool and jacuzzzi. Unfortunately THE POOL WAS CLOSED THE ENTIRE WEEK! The weather was 75-80 degrees and sunny every day and the pool was closed so the area around the pool could be resurfaced! I investigated every aspect of this trip before leaving including reading the management company's web page. Reba Management's website boasts "on site year round heated pool and the newly completed super pool and wet deck". It apparently was never finished and the large pool isn't heated. There is a small heated pool that no one would ever call a "super" pool. As time share owners we were allowed beach access at the Westin which was a 15 minute bike ride and a 5 minute car ride. We were allowed in their pool, but because the pool wasn't heated the water was too cold and my kids never went swimming the entire week we were there. I ended up spending $50 everyday for lunch poolside because it was much too inconvenient to load up the kids into the car or back onto the bikes to have lunch at the condo. The whole pool closing defeated the purpose of having a time share unit. When I called the management office and asked why they decided to choose one of the busiest vacation weeks to do maintenance on the pool the General Manager, Stan Snell, was rude and unapologetic stating that us "Northeners are always looking for something". The sheets on the beds were paper thin and were completely off the corners every morning. There are no blow dryers in the unit and you have to leave a $10 deposit in the office if you want one. The exercise room has 3 pieces of equipment and they invite the entire plantation for a wine and cheese party on Mondays via phone calls and signs with balloons and there were about 12 chairs around for people to sit because the pool was NOT OPEN! You may want to call ahead to be sure the pool will be open the week you'll be there as it gets pretty hot there. Please don't let my experience with this management company skew your view of Hilton Head. The island is beautiful. There are great restaurants, we especially enjoyed The Boathouse. The Lighthouse is worth the 15 minute drive for the view alone and a day trip to Savannah is a must!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMat2
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2010

One of the best time-share experiences in our nearly twenty years of time-share travel. It could be a little closer to the beach, but other than that, perfect. Our two bedroom, two bath unit is very clean and well appointed. The location overlooking the golf course is great and the pool area is very nice. Be sure to take advantage of the Westin Resort beach and pool (with restaurants/bars), which is a one mile drive down the road. They offer plenty of free parking, too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Upon arrival in the evening as office was about to close we walked into a lovely 3 br condo well appointed and comfortable looking, but the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. We needed to fry onions to help and if we had any garlic we would have fried a whole lot of it.
Other then that problem the resort is fine near all attractions and eateries etc. Lots of towels and a well appointed kitchen.
We would go back again as long as they correct the smoke smell!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan2sell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Links Resort

Property: Island Links Resort
Address: 1 Coggins Point Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3827
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Links Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa with a washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware? Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Island Links, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Links Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Links Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing