We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT TIMESHARE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Links Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Links Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
175 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GREAT TIMESHARE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved our time at IL! The pool was great with the small splash park, fountains, and even a shaded area. It was always busy but we never had a problem finding chairs. The actual condo itself was great. We stayed in a 3 bedroom in building 8 and it was wonderful. We had 2100 square feet and a small balcony overlooking the small lake there. The only downside to IL is the parking. First of all there is not nearly enough parking available. We usually had to park several buildings away and walk to ours (which wasn't too far but there should be more available spots close to each building). Also the parking lot was gravel. I'm sorry but for what you pay to own there they should have a completely paved parking area. Other than the parking everything was phenomenal. I did hear several other guests commenting on how there weren't very many scheduled activities but that didn't really effect us because we were not traveling with any children. On top of the great resort the island itself was wonderful and I would recommend going there if you get a chance. We will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steph42086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    236
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
401
204
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've been staying in unit 210 with my family for the last 10+ years and it has always been a good vacation home. There's nothing special about this place, but its big enough to fit 8 comfortably, and 2 or 3 more with airmattresses. I enjoy having the kitchen and washing machine, helps save us money on food and allows us to pack less for the trip.

It is a pain to get to the beach, but we still go as much as we want. Either a 5 minute bike ride or 2 minute car ride, definitely too far to walk. There is a shuttle but we just drove for our trips this past season. I enjoy hanging at the new pool they put in a couple years back. Plenty of chairs/shade and swimming space. Feels great after a round of golf in the hot HHI sun.

Again, i've been coming here for 10+ years and they place hasn't changed much. A little updating here and there but nothing special. If we didn't have a time share i'm not sure that we wouldn't look elsewhere to see what they have, but its much better then a hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BareTruth0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the Island Links resort recently and while it was nice, spacious and clean there are a couple drawbacks:
- Distance from beach: If you want to take anything other than a towel and small beach bag, you have to drive. We didn't try the shuttle because we felt like we had too many items (pop-up tent, chairs, coolers, etc.). Definitely NOT within walking distance!
- We had a 2-bedroom,bath unit which was nice, but the listing says it sleeps 8 with 6 of those privately. I hardly consider having a pull-out couch in the smaller bedroom equating to sleeping privately. Plus this second room was pretty cramped to expect to sleep 4 people with all their "stuff"

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank indianatigermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a blast. We justed returned from a seven night eight day stay.

When looking for a location in Hilton Head, I was torn between Palmetto Dunes and this one. We toured Palmetto Dunes while there and discovered that we had chosen correctly! Palmetto Dunes was so busy and a lot larger. Island Links is located in Port Royal Plantation which appears to be one of the smaller and less frantic of the plantations.

There were four of us in the party. Two adults and two 15 year old teenage girls. We had a three bedroom unit with two large full baths and a well appointed kitchen. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking. You can request a blender or electric mixer if needed from the front desk. The largest bathroom had a safe, which we used. No room key, YEAH!. You set your own digtal code for the door lock.

On some reviews the beds were reported as hard and uncomfortable. I must agree with that, but please know that you can request a feather top once you check into the unit. I didn't see that mentioned in any of the reviews. Check in was promptly at 4PM. No fuss. No confusion. A well oiled machine.

The grounds were beautiful and full of wild life. Squirrels, multitude of birds, and some say an alligator was in the pond, although we never saw it. The pools were clean and there was a pool for everyone. The spa was consistently at 102 degrees which was way to hot for little ones. So check it before allowing your children into it. Make sure you take the time and enjoy the welcome reception with free food, drinks, and great gifts.

I highly recommend that you use the Hilton Head Bike shop because you get a deep discount if you mention Island Links Resort. We paid 18 dollars for each bike, for a whole week! This included delivery,basket, and locks. Make sure you call and reserve your bikes at least a week in advance. The bikes were at our unit when we arrived. We used the bikes for touring the island. Please, please,please, get a bike route guide from your local AAA or ask for one at the Hilton Head Welcome Center.

I read some complaints about the Wi Fi, but we didn't experience any of those issues. The girls had ipods and a computer. The computer wasn't necessary as the business center had several and I never experienced wait time.

I never listen to timeshare or vacation club speeches, but I agreed to listen to the Anytime Resort speech for THOSE THAT ALREADY OWN, which was to last only 30 minutes. It lasted 45 and I wasn't surprised, but it was worth the 100 dollars in gift certificates we received! We had two great meals. One at Aunt Chilada and one at Crazy Crab.

The staff was friendly,considerate, and available for questions. Make sure you ask for discount coupons for any restuarant or tour you want to take. NO ONE CALLED THE ROOM ASKING US TO ATTEND A TIMESHARE PRESENTATION.

Typically, we pick resorts that are ocean front properties. This one wasn't but there is a free shuttle that drops you off right at the Islanders beach. It starts at 9AM and the last one leaves the beach at 5PM. It runs about every 20 minutes. We are early birds so sometimes we drove or rode bikes the 1.1 miles to the closest beach. If you drive, make sure to take a lot of quarters for the meters. 25 cents gets you 15 minutes of parking. Only Hilton Head residents have free parking and their stickers are displayed. We did drive over at night for walks on the beach. We parked in the free spaces....no problems:)

I was so pleased with this resort and will return again.

Room Tip: We had building 12. I think a lot of the three bedroom suites were there, but we didn't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank traveler1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We check in to the resort on June 29th and stayed in a 3 bedroom condo in the 150 unit. Beautiful unit with great bathrooms and a good view of trees and the golf course. All of the rooms are a nice size, the bathrooms are very nice, especially the master with a jacuzzi and stand up shower. The kitchen is a nice size and they condo had some good amenities. We were all very happy with the condo. We only visited the pool 1 day, but it was very clean, well taken care of and the bar was well stocked with a nice bartender. The only complaint is that they do not have pool towels, which is very annoying. A resort like this, should have pool towels.

All in all, a really nice resort, and I would definitely stay there again with our timeshare points.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JaimeBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just returned from our annual summer vacation and I most say it was a wonderful trip. Hilton Head is a great place to vacation and Island Links Resort was the icing on the cake. Easy check in and out, shuttle to the beach, nice pool and pool area and great location to get anywhere. We were in a 3 bedroom and found it spacious and well equipped. The walls/floors are thin as I could count the number of times the group went out on balcony upstairs but not a deal breaker. The 3rd bedroom is weird as it connects to master but our kids used it as a video room. It would be ideal for a family with small kids because the 2nd bedroom is on the other end. Wifi worked great and free local and long distance calls. I would highly recommend this resort and am planning a girls weekend this fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MsMichelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just got back from a week's stay at Island Links Resort and all I can say is I can't wait to go back. We stayed in a three bedroom in Building eight. We could walk out our sliding door and it was a very short walk to the pool. And speaking of the pool, it was great! It was big enough where kids could play and there was still room to relax. There were plenty of loungers in the shade and sun. The resort itself was beautiful. It was very quiet and private and close to everything. There was shopping less than 5 minutes away where you could get food if you chose to cook in. I highly recommend this resort and will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harlowe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.6 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Links Resort

Property: Island Links Resort
Address: 1 Coggins Point Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3827
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Links Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa with a washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware? Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Island Links, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Island Links Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Links Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing