We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day @ captain's walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captains Walk Villas
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My 3 girls friends and I chose Captain's walk Villa in Palmetto Dunes for our home away from home over the Labor Day weekend. We stayed in #467 (rented via ResortQuest) and were pleasantly surprised. The photos on the resortquest website were EXACTLY what we walked in to! great ocean view, nice kitchen, comfortable living space, very nice balcony (where we spent most of our time it seems). The decor was perfectly chosen...it felt like a home and not just temporary housing. We did have a toilet get stopped up but that was resolved in less than 30 mins after calling maintenance. And the maintenance guy also fixed a slow leak in a sink that he noticed while there. if i have to "complain" about something it would be that the master bathtub could use some refinishing to match the rest of the updates. the air didn't seem to blow as forcefully in the 2nd bedroom as it did through out the unit and maintenance told us just to turn the thermostat down until it was comfortable so that was resolved. on the day of our checkout, we received a knock at the door before 8am and someone inquiring about when we were leaving (assumed it was the cleaning folks) and then someone knocked again around 11:45am. We had arranged for a noon checkout so i'm not sure why that wasn't communicated to cleaning staff. the reservation office gave us their sincerely apologies about that disturbance. All in all, this was a great unit, a great property and it was conveniently located to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lezette02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed our first trip to Hilton Head and stayed in Captains Walk #468. The 3BR/3BA unit was spacious, had a nice view, and since it is an end unit, nice privacy. I will say, though, the unit could use some updating. The kitchen and bathrooms (except for the master bath) were a little rough. The staff at Sea Turtle (property management company) could not have been nicer. Crane really took her time when we checked in to tell us all about the activities on the island and was very responsive throughout the rental process, from initial reservation through check in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vabrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with 2 teens for a family vacation and found it perfect. Great beach views, quiet, well-furnished. Beach access is great: rental chairs and umbrellas available, although our unit had chairs available. Beach is very clean, soft sand, shallow water, enough waves for boogie boards. Villa is spacious, W/D, blow dryer, well stocked kitchen, movies and games(more for younger children) TV in every room. Nice pool area with plenty of lounge chairs, for a change from the salt water. Palmetto Dunes is a great location on HHI, not too far from anything.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sad7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We rented from Resort Rentals and did not have a good experience. My family and I stayed in 2 units: 440 and 478. 478 had a great view but the villa desperately needed updated. The kitchen and bathrooms in particular were very old. When we got there there 2 bottles of cigarette butts were left on the balcony for us that we had to throw away. The picture they listed for unit 478 on the broker's website showed a beautiful oceanview when in truth, the only view we had was of trees. There was a tiny speck of blue ocean you could see if you tried really hard to find it, but not at all whe we paid for or expected from the pictures. (Resort Rentals has since removed the picture from their website after we told them it was misleading and they got defensive and combative with us). 440 was a very nice unit in terms of decoration and it being updated, but it does not have an oceanview. I would definitely recommend Captains Walk but not renting any villas through Resort Rentals/HHI Vacations. We have gone to HHI for over 30 years and love it but we certainly received poor customer service through this broker.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ohiofamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Captain's Walk is in a perfect location, in a quiet and lush plantation preserve that's covered with biking trails and canals, and in an area where the beaches are wide open. These villas are past a guard hut where access is restricted, so no public beach access, which makes it even quieter and nicer. None of the beaches in Hilton Head are really crowded, but this is still one of the better ones. It's mid-island so has great access to either side - within minutes of most of the restaurants and stores. We rented bikes several days and it was a great location to start from.

The complex is older, and perhaps some units might feel older, but we stayed in a condo that was newly remodeled and decorated and had luxury furnishings, easily as nice as a JW Marriot would. And even though the building is older, it didn't feel old. The pool is nice and spacious and well-kept, the grounds are lush, no complaints (no fitness center, perhaps only complaint).

We found Hilton Head to be perhaps the perfect place in the U.S. for a family vacation and stayed two weeks. The surf is mild, the water is warm, the beaches are perfect for toddlers, and it's 45 minutes to Savannah and two hours to Charleston, some of the neatest cities to explore for history buffs. And Hilton Head is quiet and uncrowded and exploding with greenery - it's a little more pricey than other areas on the SE coast, but well well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EveAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our first trip to Hilton Head Island and we will definitley return. We rented 423 Captain's Walk direct from the owner but collected keys etc from the Vacation company. Oceanfront , 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Very clean, with a balcony overlooking the beach and pool. Superb location at the heart of palmetto dunes between the Mariott and Hilton.
Inclued in the price was the use of the tennis courts at Palmetto Dunes tennis centre for an hour a day. Very good facility , within walking distance of the condo, although I would recommend hiring bikes as they are so useful for getting aroudn the plantation due to all the bike trails. You can also cycle to Plantation centre and Shelter Cove both of which have restaurants or use the free Palmetto Dunes buggy up to 9pm.

Great shopping at the Tanger outlet mall, including Abercrombie and Fitch and Hollister much to the delight of my teenage children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TilllyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Captains Walk in Palmetto Dunes. We stayed in the middle building of the 3 buildings on the second floor. Our 2 bedroom unit was advertised as having a "partial ocean view", but we had a great view of the pool and only slightly obscured view of the beach through some palm trees. We actually liked the trees as they gave us a lot of shade on the balcony. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. There was plenty of parking close to the building. The pool was a good size for the complex and well maintained. The pool area was cleaned and straightened up every morning. Best of all, we were steps away from the beach. Although we didn't use them, there were beach chairs/umbrella rentals very close by. There was also a nice shower/ hose area near the pool to wash all the sand off on our way back from the beach. Our unit itself was roomy, nicely furnished, although not lavish, and well appointed. It was comfortable and clean. I saw no bugs anywhere in the unit or even outside, other than a few ants on the walk towards the beach. We rented through Sunset rentals and had no problems.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.5 mi away
Shorewood Villas
Shorewood Villas
#18 of 52 in Hilton Head
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.6 mi away
Seawatch at the Island Club
Seawatch at the Island Club
#12 of 52 in Hilton Head
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Walk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Walk Villas

Address: 21 Ocean Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $706 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Walk Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Captains Walk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Walk Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing