We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hilton Head

“Second vist, cant wait to go back!”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #41 of 334 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The food, view and staff are all unbeatable! This was our 2nd visit and i have no doubt we'll be back. Best shrimp around!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D-From-NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 9,572 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020

Went on a Monday and place was jumping. A good sign. We shared a breaded clam step. Different breading and very good. My wife ordered the small sashimi appetizer as a main course and couldn't finish it. Took some home.
I ordered the Jambalaya. Huge portion which I brought the leftover home. It was spicy delicious. The shrimp were exceptional.
Will return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ronlandau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skullcreekboathouse, Owner at The Skull Creek Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you! Happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your dinner with us. You ordered a few of our signature items, and we are glad that we didn't disappoint. Thank you again for taking the time to tell TripAdvisor all about it! Hope you have a nice weekend, and come back soon.

Chris S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

We heard about this restaurant and heard it had good food and great sunset views. The outdoor high tops are first come first serve. Unfortunately there was a game in so we first sat outside. It is January so it got cold but they moved us inside no problem. The calamari were great. I didn’t like the goat cheese fried green tomatoes because I thought the goat cheese overpowered the tomatoes. The gumbo and shrimp with grits were really good.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 983triciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skullcreekboathouse, Owner at The Skull Creek Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for dining with us, and for taking the time out of your day to let TripAdvisor know all about your experience. We sincerely appreciate it. Hope to see you in again soon...have a wonderful week.

Chris S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I have been to skull creek many times and always recommend to those visiting HHI for the first time. The atmosphere is exactly what you would want out of a costal dinning experience with exceptional water views. They have a fairly good variety on their menu, great drinks, and my favorite thing to get from them is a Salad! Their salads are huge with good quality ingredients

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank travelingtifftiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We were so impressed by this place we had to return. We went New Years Eve and then again on Saturday night. Both times we had the sunset dinners. The seafood chowder is the best I have had anywhere. Very rich and creamy. The breading on the fried trio was light and flavorful. In all it will be a repeat when we return next year.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abaco-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skullcreekboathouse, Owner at The Skull Creek Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

WOW! Thank you for joining us twice during your holiday vacation. We are happy to hear you ended, and began the year with us! Cheers to many more visits to come!

Chris S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing