We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and food!”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #20 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our favorite dinner in restaurant in Hilton Head by far. It was the perfect package. We had a long wait, but got to view the most amazing view and PERFECT sunset. They have an affordable bar and docks you can walk around. The food food was very good and reasonably priced. Definitely worth a visit so long as you can tolerate the wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brian12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,779
    1,694
    478
    164
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today. Food was fresh and prepared just right. We had shrimp and grits (As good as I have had) and fried flounder and shrimp which was delicious. Service was excellant and fast. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great meal with a great view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mmccray16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Flips tables slower than anyplace I've ever seen. Soooo slow. Horrendous wait. I have been waiting for over an hour for a table and I've seen 3 empty for at least 15 minutes. I'm waiting only because of a bad thunderstorm outside.

Helpful?
5 Thank fromsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skullcreekboathouse, Owner at The Skull Creek Boathouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let Tripadvisor know about your long wait at The Skull Creek Boathouse last night. You mention that you had to wait almost over an hour. If you notice other reviewers mention outré 2 hour plus wait in many reviews, but state it's worth it. They choose to give us 4 or 5 stars as well. These reviewers don't let our popularity hinder their experience, and don't punish our ranking for it. The Skull Creek Boathouse experiences significant wait times in the summer due to our staff, who are hard workers, that deal with large crowds, hot weather, and deliver amazing experiences with a smile. Our chef sources local seafood, and creates amazing nightly features you won't find anywhere else on the island. We offer fresh hand rolled made to order sushi. A dish that takes a little longer, but well worth it. No where in the low country will you find waterfront sushi. Our kitchen's not pumping out fried fish baskets all night try to "turn" a seat. And the biggest contributor is mother nature! We are blessed with the most amazing views on the island. These factors combined put our guests in a "boathouse state of mind" as we call it, and they tend to relax and enjoy their meals just a little longer or order an extra glass of sweet tea just to soak it all in a little longer. We never rush our guests to get up from a table, and we hope you understand we wouldn't do this to you and your family either. Last night you experienced one of our late July thunderstorms as well. When it rains here at Skull Creek we lose our outside seating ability. That's over 200 hundred seats, that we are now no longer able to seat. That certainly does not help the wait time. You may have witnessed a few tables sit empty for a few minutes. This probably was due to the thunder storm. These were held for the guests who were sitting outside and needed to be moved in for the thunderstorm. Our managers are expert "meteorologists", but don't tell them that, it'll go to their head:) Who are constantly aware of the weather conditions, so no ones experience is ruined by a few drops of rain. The best thing we've done this summer is initiate an amazing program called DineTime. This is an iPod App that allows us to control our wait time all through the use of a text messaging service. The program takes the guess work out of quoting times, and mathematically calculates it for us. It also eliminates the use of pagers, and turns your cell phone into a pager. So if you are quoted two hours, you can leave the property. You aren't tied down by a pager. You and your family can go enjoy another activity as long as you are back in two hours. We recommend this service to any restaurant owner. Unfortunately it did rain, but when it's a nice evening we offer kids activities, live music, sand boxes, chalkboards, and many other options for children. We know happy kids = happy parents, this is important! Again, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. If you have any further questions, comments or concerns please email chriss@serggroup.com. We hope you give SCB another shot, we also recommend lunch as an option for those who do not want to experience a longer wait time. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island SC
2 reviews
“Best Place on Hilton Head”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I enjoy going to Boathouse every weekend for brunch. The staff is always amazing and courteous. The food is always fresh and eye candy. The atmosphere and views are the reason I don't ever want to live anywhere else. Great place for a solo visit, friends or family. Kid friendly and just a great all around place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPuffinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Have been going to this place for years. It gets busier every year. The food is great the outdoor seating is the best and the sunsets are gorgeous. The food is almost always great. This year they told us the wait was 2 hours and 45 minutes. The sat us in just over an hour. They have a new area for purchasing beers and playing games. It made the wait seem short.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeckEck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing