We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skull Creek Boathouse”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #21 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skull Creek Boathouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

skull Creek Boathouse is one of our favorite HHI restaurants. The view of the water is lovely, especially at sunset. Their crab cakes are delicious, very little filler, mostly crabmeat. The chicken and sausage gumbo is richly flavorful with just enough heat. The oyster selection is the best! Be sure to ask for Nick's section. He'll take good care of you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,629
    1,637
    453
    157
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wait staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I live off island but we visit the Skull Creek Boathouse frequently, we always get great food and enjoy the friendly atmosphere. However, the thing that keeps us coming back is the wait staff. In particular Meagan, Edwina, Andy and all the rest. Have never had a bad meal or bad experience. Just not sure I want all the tourist to know what a great place this is to hang out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun evening at the Boathouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Excellent food, great service (our Waiter was Nick), good atmosphere, etc. Try to go there
several times while we are in Hilton Head area. Always a fun / good food experience.
John & Ann Wells

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillylothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Seafood stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I attempted The Boathouse twice and it was over an hour wait. The belly does not wait that long. So we made a reservation for the following night. We were sat by the windows. Our server was Michael and he was helpful with the menu and friendly. I ordered the crab cakes and my husband ordered the broiled seafood platter. We both cleaned our plates and will make this our only seafood stop next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our family just moved in the area last fall. We have eaten at a few of the Serg restaurants and have enjoyed them each. Saturday (1/25) we visited The Skull Creek Boathouse and we were surprised at how busy it was during this time of year. My wife mentioned the back patio she saw and wanted to check it out. The heaters out there made it feel like you were in a cozy cabin. (As it was chilly and windy that night). We were approached by a young lady named Coral. She offered to clear off a table and bring us some menus. She was very knowledgable of the menu and answered any questions we had. My wife had the broiled seafood platter and kept raving at how well prepared it all was. I had the chopped creole Cobb salad and ate everything out of that bowl. Hats off to the Chef for the wonderful meal. We can't wait to return and enjoy all the great aspects of the place!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing