We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Sunday brunch buffet on the dock” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skull Creek Boathouse

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #21 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch buffet on the dock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

While visiting some friends in Hilton Head over the 1st weekend in November, we checked out the Sunday brunch at the Boathouse. The omelet station was well stocked with all the standard items and prepared to your exact specifications. The buffet offered fresh fruit, French toast, Danish, applewood bacon, sausage links, shrimp & grits and an egg frittata. The six of us had a little of everything and everyone felt that the food was very well prepared and the $15.95 price was reasonable for what was offered. One tip: this place opens at 10 AM on Sunday and getting a table is easy at that time. The closer it gets to noon there are more people arriving and a line starts to form for a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,542
    1,601
    433
    154
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a wonderful and relaxing place to eat. We found this place last year and went back twice this year. It has great outdoor seating on the skull creek and we went back on a Sunday afternoon and had another great meal and watched NFL Football on their outside bar area. The food is very good and the service was excellent. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoopnet4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another good meal at Skull Creek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great and festive atmosphere, especially if you are on vacation. The two bars on site are great if you have to wait for a table, which you will. You can also walk out on the docks and check out the resident alligators and manatee that hang around in the water. The food is great, although I did find a fish bone in my grilled redfish this time, which was a bit disheartening. My girlfriend's drink was a little watered down, but the waitress made it right and they even gave us a free dessert because of the bone in the redfish. This is my 4th or 5th time here and every time I am delighted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretoadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Casual, enjoyable with good food as well; great for families with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a recommendation by a "local". Was not the easiest to find; thank goodness for the GPS. It was worth the search. Two of our party had the Deviled Crab Benedict. They both raved. If you have ever had the crab benedict at Billy's Boathouse in Jacksonville FL (which is super, by the way), this was even better. The other two of us did the create your own omelet. I was disappointed with my omelet; I was anticipating fresh mushrooms. Instead, they used canned. Would have been really good made with the fresh. This was even more surprising because clearly visible when you enter the premises are bins of fresh produce: avocados, tomatoes, green onions, etc. we will return; their patio area is "pet friendly" and they have a good sunset view. They have a weekend special brunch buffet for just under $16. Mimosas, Bloody Marys and Screwdrivers were $3.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nigmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the plague!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We tried this place on a lark instead of relying on referrals from friends---OUR BAD!! Our server, Kelly, was totally inconsiderate of my wife's minor special diet needs, and made us feel like we were an inconvenience to her. On top of a rotten attitude, she severely overcharged us for one of our orders. I ordered my tuna rare and it came back medium. Shall I go on? Save your money and go to Hudson's or Charthouse right next door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edbcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing