We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and setting was fantastic”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #19 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food and setting was fantastic”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We thought we would give this a try based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. The wife and I really enjoyed the setting near the marina. There is options of eating inside or outside with views of the intercostal waterway/marina dock area. I'd highly recommend the sampler platter which has a little of everything that the boathouse had to offer, especially the recommended crab cake balls and homemade hush puppies. The sampler platter was on the appetizer menus and had plenty to eat for two of us to share with a side salad. Upon our return to Hilton Head, we will make a point to return to this restaurant .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sting89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,929
    1,740
    501
    170
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For drinks, brunch, or a special occasion meal "The Boathouse" has it all, with views over the ocean and Marina.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to see the sunset!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a must place to eat at in Hilton Head! The sunset view is so pretty and the atmosphere inside and out is buzzing with energy! We were 3 couples and told our wait would be 1 1/2 hours, but it wasn't even an hour when our buzzer went off! We enjoyed walking on the dock sipping our cocktails while we were waiting for our table. I had the grouper and it was very good. The service was very good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WELL worth the wait”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed by our recent dinner at the boathouse. They said 1.5 hr wait, but it turned out to be 45 mins. If you're waiting, just get a drink at the outdoor bar and enjoy the gorgeous views. All of the food was spot on, and the service was friendly and attentive. I sent something back because my daughter doesn't like any spices and he manager personally came to check on us. We had the tuna 3 ways, calamari, boiled shrimp, hush puppies, and hog fish snapper. All were outstanding. If you're a tuna fan, you'll love that tuna dish. All of the food is reasonably priced as well. I'm actually thinking about going twice in 4 days!

Helpful?
Thank redneck6497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal - wonderful setting”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We love dining outdoors with a view of water ... and the SCB provides that - and fabulous food! We time our arrival in HHI so that we can stop on our way in for lunch at SCB. This trip we even went back for a second meal at SCB - it's that good! We will definitely be back on our next trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWIllinoisBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing