We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #21 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to this restaurant twice during the week we were on the island. Ate inside one night and had the early bird special. Ate outside the second time over looking the water and ordered off the main menu. Both meals were a good value and were amazing. Look forward to going again next time we are on the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandBobD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,775
    1,689
    477
    164
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, OHIO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must do”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Return trip to Skullcreek ... Same results. Our server Sara was top notch and should be commended for great service. Wait was minimal - we ate inside, which was a good choice for our noisy son. Food was extremely quick as they were trying to turn tables ASAP. Hush puppies are to die for ... Wife had pasta dish which was HUGE. My broiled scallops were to perfection. Pricey meal, but worth it for the scenery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will-Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu to choose from....”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just had an amazing lunch.....Carolina Shrimp & Grits w/side salad of greens, fresh corn, black beans and creamy cilantro dressing - $9....appetizer of hushpuppies was delicious. Very clean restaurant inside and out....food served was very attractively served.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've been here on our past two trips to Hilton Head this summer and the Boathouse never disappoints.

Every time we have sat outside at the tall tables and the view is nice, staff is friendly, and food is phenomenal. I highly recommend the spicy tuna nachos. Happy hour is awesome and they have landshark on draft.

We will be back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjruffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we went very late(like 8) on a saturday night and it was really crowded b/c of some special event they were having, nevertheless we were seated fairly quickly, on the outskirts. We had a huge party of people with lots of kids and we managed to be in between two fun games that the kids loved and a big grassy area for them to play, bugs not that much of an issue. Food was decent, service wonderful. Would absolutely go again, particularly when my sons were so entertained.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trumpeteerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing