We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Dining”
Review of WiseGuys

WiseGuys
Reserve with OpenTable
WiseGuys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Merchant Street
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation Dining”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were greeted and seated immediately at a nice table. Service throughout the night was very good. The avocado/arugula salad was excellent, wontons, beef carpaccio and goat cheese crepes small plates were excellent, but the lobster risotto just didn't make it. The pork entrée was also good, but not great. Bananas Foster with vanilla ice cream dessert was also very good. So a little up and a little down. Overall would recommend though. Dish selection is key.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,699
    366
    97
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not Hilton Head and Just Average”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For people who love the average style northeast restaurant, especially local New york style restaurants than you will enjoy this place. People like the association with so called Wise Guys and get caught up in the atmosphere. t's busy, noisy and the food is fair or average for the price. The service was good, the wine corked and musty. Tasted more like vinegar. Had to send two glasses back. if you don't know good food and wine and want to get the New york Feel there are much better places to eat in New York. When visiting Hilton Head there are a great number of much better Italian restaurants than this one. I personally would not go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antony359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and excellent food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I dined here for the first time a few nights ago, and despite having to wait (we reccomend getting reservations) they got us in quicker than our quoted time. Our waitress Kate was very energetic and up beat. My husband likes to give the wait staff a hard time (he thinks he is funny) and she laughed and gave it right back to him. Her food suggestions were exactly what we were looking for and her wine suggestions were spot on, it's almost like she just knew us! We will absolutely be back before we head back home and plan to tell all of our friends about this place! Hands down the best meal we've had this trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Went for ladies night out, and we had a great time. The small plates and the wine our server Kate recommended were awesome. Our server let us enjoy our night, and had a charming personality. We will definitely be back again!

Helpful?
Thank kmary16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing food in quaint atmosphere and great early bird special!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Wise Guys 4 time now on our trips to HHI. We have always had a good experience. The steaks are amazing and the short ribs fall apart. My son loves the pizza and the chicken fingers are fresh hand breaded that even the adults enjoy. The best part is if you get your order in by 5:45, you get the early bird special which is 25% off your entire check including alcohol. This will be a regular stop for us every year. Oh and the Mac and cheese is to die for!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WiseGuys also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to WiseGuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing