We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Louisville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm writing this review, although I stayed at the Beach and Tennis Resort, eleven months ago. At the time, it had spacious rooms, with a well-stocked kitchen, and was adjacent-to the great beach, oceanfront. I had NO problems with the room, and the restaurant (adjoining) was very fine, also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhb134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your belated review. We are thrilled that you decided to write a review even if your stay was last year. Our location here is wonderful, we are as you point out oceanfront and it is not as crowded as some of the other beaches here on the island. What better way to relax than being oceanfront and having access to the oceanfront pool as well. We hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    180
    88
    49
    56
See reviews for
249
112
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When we arrived it was at night around midnight and we found that our room door was open and all the lights on. Plus the door looked like it was once jimmied open so I immediately went to the security desk. They went in the room looked around and said that the cleaning crew must have left it open and left. That did not make us feel safe at all. The next morning I went to the front desk and the lady told me the same but made no offer to move us or anything. If not for a nice lady who works on the property we would have been overlooked. She called and called and ordered maintenance to come over. On that afternoon I got a call from a lady named Monica who is the manager and she offered to move us. Other than that it is an amazing property. landscape in pretty and the ocean is right next door. Also had some problem with kids running the halls on the wood floors but that what kids do so it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Otis,

I am so sorry that your door was left open upon your arrival. We do everything in our power to make all our guests feel safe and secure here. That is why we have security here 24 hours a day. I remember we investigated to find an answer to why the front door was not shut all the way. After we had talked to everybody including security, maintenance, cleaning company and the inspector we came to the conclusion that the inspector forgot to turn off the lights and did not lock the door securely upon leaving. I was more than happy to move you to a different villa, but I understand that you were already unpacked and did not want to move again. I do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and had a chance to take advantage of our beautiful pool and beach here. Next time you come please call me directly and I will make sure that everything is in order for your arrival.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First of all, if you visit this resort, don't expect lavish accommodations, and you won't be nearly as disappointed. I did my research, and I knew this place was somewhat dated. However, we were looking for an affordable place to stay at the beach that provided the same amenities as a condo, but that had restaurants, pool, and tennis like a hotel. The resort had all of those things. However, our villa (despite being described as a "gold" level villa which is supposed to be a really nice/updated one) was definitely lacking in several ways. The outside of the villas are looking a little shabby, and the smell as soon as you walk up to your door is "musty." The carpet outside in the halls is stained and smelly. The inside of our villa was musty as well. It was also really dusty with some malfunctioning fixtures (bathroom faucet/lamps), minimal glassware (no wine glasses), stained blankets/shower curtain, an outdated TV, and NO TV in the one bedroom. However, we're always prepared. We had disinfecting wipes, candles, and plenty of items from home to make the place our own, which it became after a few days! We also had a big cockroach that welcomed us as soon as we walked in! We called, and the front desk said they recently sprayed, so that was probably the reason for the half-dead insect in the floor. And, in their defense, we were on the first floor with our balcony facing the woods, so I'm willing to give them a pass on that, and we did not see any more after that. Due to the smell and excessive amount of dust on everything, we checked the air filter. I bet that it had not been changed in 10 years!! They gladly came out and changed it. With that change, the candles, the immediate opening of the balcony doors as soon as we arrived, and the use of the ceiling fans, we had the musty smell gone in about a day. We didn't use any of the blankets. All the sheets were clean, so we just used those. The bathroom wallpaper was peeling, and so on and so forth...But, on to the the good points! We loved being able to cook our own meals while we were there. The stove, dishwasher, refrigerator all worked well (no icemaker though). The location is great. There are plenty of tennis courts, a restaurant, a sports bar, and a great little tiki bar right by the pool. We stayed in the Ocean Villas which were just steps from the boardwalk that led to the huge pool, tiki bar, and the beach. They have bike rentals to get around the resort. The security is tight--so we felt very safe on the grounds at all times. And, lastly the price is unbeatable. $99/night. So, for that price, you can't expect a 5 star resort! I've heard that renting the villas from the owners on VRBO is better because you can actually see the villa before you rent. However, this was a "same day" trip, so the owner we contacted VRBO would not let us due to short notice. We just called and rented from the resort sight unseen. I really wouldn't have minded the villa's " decorative imperfections" if everything would have been clean and in working order. So, with all that being said, would I go back? Believe it or not, yes, I probably would! But, I would try to rent from VRBO first. The location, access to pool/beach and restaurants are all reasons that I would return. Plus, everyone there was very nice. :)

Room Tip: Ocean Villas are closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Leslie,

I agree with you we have great amenities here including tennis, 2 pools, easy walk to beach, bike rentals and restaurants. You will be happy to hear that the carpets in the Ocean Villa corridor are all being replaced by wood. That will make it much easier to clean and that musty smell in the corridors will be gone. All the villas here are privately owned. Some owners update their villa more often than others. I would highly recommend that you visit our website, where we have pictures of all our villas before making your next reservation. If you need any help making your reservation, or have questions on any of the villas please call us directly.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here in a privately owned villa in building 3 for three nights and booked our vacation through Vacationrentals,com. Overall we enjoyed our stay. One of our favorite parts of our stay here was the boardwalk that takes you to the ocean. The marsh that is located in between the villa's and the beach is full of interesting wildlife to see. We felt very safe here during our stay and if and when we travel south we would definitely look at staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a villa with view of a lagoon, so you have privacy on your balcony. The beach and other activities are a very short walk away through the tropical resort. There is also a fun sports bar on-site that is a great option when you do not want to drive to go out!

Room Tip: Book through VRBO.com, Lagoon View Villa.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for your great review. The Tennis Villas do have a great view of the lagoon. I am sure you agree that sitting on the balcony enjoying your breakfast is the perfect way to start the day. I am glad that you and your family had a great time at the beach. Hopefully you had a chance to visit the pool as well. CocoNutz Sports Bar has great food as well as being a fun place to hang out in. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay. Our place was very clean, not musty smelling, and very close to the beach. Restaurants and bar on site. We weren't far from places for "excursions" yet far enough that we weren't in congested areas. Very reasonably priced and gated community, so safe!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and there is no elevator. Fine for us, but not for elderly or handicapped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Bob,

We love hearing our guests enjoying themselves here at the Resort. All the villas are a short walk to the beach, pool and restaurants. I hope you had a chance to visit some of our restaurants while you were here. I agree having our 24 hour security is a great benefit. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I agree with other reviewers, make your arrangements through vrbo.com and you can make sure rent an updated villa. I loved the tennis villas with a view of the lagoon, you get the best of both the beach and the natural beauty of the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Owner at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Gena,

Thank you for your review. You are right, the Tennis Villas have a beautiful lagoon and you are only a short walk away from the beach and pool. We do have rentals available from VRBO, however we also have rentals available directly through Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort.

If you call the resort directly they can help you book an updated villa as well. We also have pictures of all the villas on our website so you can pick the villa that suites your family the best.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
2.2 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#18 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing