We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This HHIT the spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Marysville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This HHIT the spot”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a two-bedroom tennis villa and were pleasantly surprised at the good location. It was a less than 5 minute walk to the beach in a quiet little cove. We rented bikes at the resort and I would suggest that you do so as soon as you get there. The little poolside bar, Jamaica Joes was good for drinks but I wouldn't eat there again. The resort is conveniently located in the middle of the island as is an easy drive to just about anywhere. One tip to HHI, is eat early or late or basically way off of regular hours unless you like to wait a long time for even a mediocre chain restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPlaneDrifter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    209
    111
    62
    68
See reviews for
310
145
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

So I grew up in this area and knew this property and we were able to get a special rate for our three-night stay. I say that up front as color for this review. First of all, it is in a great location. Mid-island which means you don't have to fight traffic towards the south end (unless you want to). Beach is busy but other than this resort it is mostly locals and the condo owners on either side of the resort. Pool is very nice (huge) but busy with kids. Pool-side bar was nice; easy to walk in from the beach or over from the pool for lunch and a drink. Third-story ocean front view was very nice though I would be wary of any lower story claiming to have as good a view. Keep in mind these units are all individually owned and merely managed by the resort; room service only occurs on the day of check-in so bring laundry soap and extra towels. The one-bedroom we had was small but adequate for our needs. Had we brought the kids it would have even smaller. Internet access was mediocre (Netflix was so-so). For a computer it was fine but every time we tried to access with a phone it wanted us to log back in. As to the expectation management...this is not a 5-star resort so don't expect that sort of service or amenities. It is a moderately-priced condo village on the beach with a great pool. Just keep that in mind. If you are looking to be pampered...look elsewhere. If you are looking for value and a good place for the kids and the beach, this is it. Had we not gotten the discount I may have been tempted to try something else but will definitely consider this place in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, let me say I am glad you came back to visit us here on Hilton Head Island. Thank you for pointing out that we are a very well priced resort right at the beach. We strive to keep the resort well priced. That is why we do not offer daily maid service and towel exchange. However you can always call us and we can arrange it for a small fee. Yes, I agree that Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort is at the perfect location here on the island. As you said the beaches are not as crowded, and you don't have to fight all the traffic unless you want to. We do have the largest ocean front pool here on the island for our guests to enjoy. During the summer months we have alot of familes that come down and enjoy the beach as well as the pool.
Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first week long family vacation. We rented 4 separate villas all in Admirals Row, two ocean views each with 2 bedrooms, and two ocean front 1bedroom units. The units met all of our needs. My brother & sis-in-law had a corner unit that provided exceptional views and breezes on the balcony. Our unit was nicely appointed with upgraded kitchen cabinets and granite counter tops. The nieces & nephews and their kids loved their villas as well.

The grounds were nicely tended and offered beautiful scenery within the resort complex. The staff that we dealt with at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. I found that in itself to be an improvement from phone conversations I'd had while making reservations.

It was especially nice to have all the dining options on property. We had good food and service at all sites. We enjoyed the opportunity to get out of the sun and go to Jamaica Joe's for a drink and snack in the afternoon. Excellent fish tacos!

The beach is great, and we all enjoyed the large waves. We have made plans to return next year.

Our biggest complaint is the height of the speed bumps. With a low profile fully packed car we hit bottom.

Room Tip: If you want closest to the beach, choose Admirals Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeIrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of your stay. We're delighted to see five Trip Advisor dots on a critique. We are pleased to hear that our front desk staff and the restaurant staff were helpful. Thank you for pointing out the beautiful landscaping at the resort. I agree with you they do a great job. Thank you for visiting and enjoying all our restaurants here on property.
I am thrilled you and your family enjoyed your villas as well as the beach. I do hope you come back and see us again.



Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We rented one of the one bedroom ocean view villas in building C, Unit 136. As for the unit, it was very clean and had tile floors. Complaints would be that the mattress on the sleeper sofa was unusable - it was very old. In the master bedroom, the blinds did not block out he light at night from the bright lights in the interior hall just outside the widow. The unit overlooked a parking lot - no ocean view. The grounds were well maintained, and the proximity to the beach was excellent - just a short walk. The beach itself is wonderful. The on premises bike rental had very old bikes - might check with one of the local bike rental copies and get better bikes.

Room Tip: Most ocean view villas do not have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate it. You are right that particular villa is a resort view, with no view of the ocean. The villas is listed as a Resort View on our website. I would highly recommend that you upgrade to an ocean view on your next stay. Our reservation department is very knowledgeable and will gladly help you find a villa with great views. This way you will have the side view of the ocean from your balcony. We will contact the owner to let him know about the sofa sleeper. It is difficult to find a comfortable sleeper sofa, but the good news is that the manufactures are getting better. I agree with you that our beach is wonderful as well as our pools. I am glad you enjoyed them during your stay.

Sincerely,
Monica Morgan
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Before booking this resort I read alot of bad reviews. But i kinda decided to go to Hilton Head last minute and there wasnt many hotels located on the beach that had availability. So i took a shot in d dark, crossed my fingers and booked with this place. I was surprised, our room was great. I have no complaints. Our unit was clean, full kitchen with good appliances,Tv,cable,dvd,radio,wfi. Sofa bed, bunk beds in hallway,one bedroom with queen bed & small tv. Patio with furniture. Pool or beach wasnt crowded. I like this place better than a hotel b/c you dont have to worry about a housekeeper coming in everyday. We were in unit A-144 ocean villa.

Room Tip: Ocean villa A-144
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMDASIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you decided to give us a try. I am even more pleased that you had a wonderful time and everything was terrific in your villa. All the villas are privately owned and not all owners have updated their villas, and many of the villas are not on our rental program. Some owners rent out their own villas. I always recommend viewing the villas on our website www.hhibeachandtennis.com. This way you can pick the villa that you like and that suits your family best. You are so right at this time of the year it is not as crowded by the pool or at the beach. It is a wonderful time to come and visit us at Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort. Please come back and see us again.

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family just returned from a 3 night stay in Admiral's Row 231. This was a 2 BR/2 BA unit and it worked great for 2 adults and 2 children, plenty of space for everyone to relax. The unit was very nicely decorated and had a nice view of the pool. It was supposed to have an ocean view, but due to a very large palm tree right in front of our patio it was completely blocked. We did have GATORZ pizza at the resort and it was great, so I highly recommend that. Security is frequently seen at the pools, and on the property so that is a plus. We all slept well every night so we didn't have any issues with noise. The large pool and access to the ocean is great, and if you stay in Admiral's Row they have a smaller pool as well. This was our second year staying at this resort and we will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Each unit is pictured on the website so you can see exactly what your room will look like. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemsonGirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing all your positive comments of your stay here with us. You are so right the two bedroom/two bath villas are perfect for a family. There is plenty of room to move around inside, as well as relaxing on your own balcony. I agree with you that having security around 24/7 gives you piece of mind. As you mentioned we have two pools here on our property for everyone to enjoy. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Family (2 teenagers, wife and I) stayed here July 16-19. Had 1st floor beach front Admiral's Row, AR 101. GREAT view from patio/balcony. Kitchen was newly remodeled, sofa area was clean and comfortable. Nice flat screen TV. Bedroom was fine. Tastefully decorated.

Pizza from Gator's was beyond good, you have to try this. They only take cash when they deliver to villa.

Employees at front desk were nice.

Grounds of resort were very nice and tennis courts were good. All in all, a very pleasant, laid back stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the positive review of your stay. We're always delighted to see five Trip Advisor dots on a critique. Thanks for the enthusiastic comments on the great view and the villa itself. We have to agree that being able to sit on the balcony and have that incredible ocean front view is amazing. What a great way to relax. We are pleased to hear that our front desk staff was helpful. They are very dedicated to give you the guest a wonderful experience. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
849 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing