We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The price was right...but you get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The price was right...but you get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We got a good price on a TAN Tennis villas unit A-10, but even the gate guard said:"Who hates you? You couldn't be farther from the beach". Our unit is OK, maybe circa 1985. It has a newer coat of white paint on everything, but we still needed ice trays, a cutting board, and few other basics. The locals were helpful, but the equipment is all second rate and dated. It is clean, and the alligator on the lake behind us seems to like it here, but it is pretty far from everything. In the end, it is cheap. You can probably do better.

Room Tip: Try one of the Ocean front buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    180
    88
    49
    56
See reviews for
249
112
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I are headed down to HHIB&TR in March. While I have no opinion yet of the resort or my accommodations, I am pleasantly surprised by David Z.'s responses to "poor" reviews--a little humor, a little understanding, a little push back, and a sincere invitation to give them another try. Not a canned response like so many other management replies. Clearly, he cares about the place. If David Z's attitude is shared by other staff, it should be a pretty good visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I traveled here with my family plenty of times..everytime we go to HHI this is where we stay. It is an ideal location and there is so much around there to do. Each room we stayed in always had everything we needed to cook or clean etc. We liked bringing our own groceries down but we usually always ate out for dinner. Theres a little pool bar there but other than that if you want to drink you should bring your own or venture out. The beach is really nice but can be a little bit of a walk if your not in building A, B, or C. We splurged for an ocean front the one year and it really was nice to have. It is a very laid back atmosphere..so if you're looking for spring break or party look elsewhere. We always enjoyed the main pool and it was right near the beach. If you like tennis for fun just buy a couple cheap raquets and bring them down- its fun to play. The bunk beds in most rooms are tiny so if you're planning on using them make sure its children or someone not tall! We liked that there was a security guard at the entrance 24/7- always made us feel safe. Venture off though- there is soo much to see! Savannah georgia boardwalk is not a far trip and it was awesome to go and see!

Room Tip: Buildings A,B, or C are much closer walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnpiwowarczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We rented this condo for family coming down from up North. As some of the other reviews have mentioned, each condo is individually- owned, so decor and amenities can very greatly. Admiral's Row 416 definitely falls into the nicer category. It's angled to maximize the ocean view. It has a totally unobstructed view of the ocean and beach. It's decorated in a very beachy theme... Bright Bermuda- style colors and lots of upgrades... 3 TV's, nicer then average linens, kitchen with hardwood floor, tile in the entry, and what would appear to be designer decor. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, there are 2 baths, and a very open and bright living/dining area (flat-screen TV in living room). Much of the furniture appears to be quite new. This is definitely one of the nicer Admiral's Row units I have seen. I highly recommend this unit, first of all for the view, and second of all for the comfort and well-appointed unit itself... Great location... Close to everything... Short drive to restaurants, shopping, etc... HHBT has fantastic tennis courts as well... Never over-crowded! You will not be disappointed with this unit... A great value!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed here several times - probably 10 times - and love the great location! It is close to many stores and restaurants and is just a very short walk to the pool and beach! Large, beautiful pool with lots of room to swim & play and then just a few short steps to the beach! Restrooms and bar/restaurant right near pool too... One bedroom condos are basic, but have always been clean and is perfect for two adults, two children - kids love the bunk beds. The convenience of the proximity of the beach & pool wins us over!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaBearJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here, I was anxious to see how our unit compared - I was pleasantly surprised. We had a great unit, it was clean, functional and everything was in working order. We were in the Ocean Villas, room A143 - it was not ocean view, but it took only minutes to walk to the ocean. Our vacation was booked through TAN.

The location of this resort is nice - fairly equidistant if you want to go to Bluffton or further south on HHI. The fact that there is a security guard at the gate 24/7 is nice; it helps to feel more secure on vacation! We didn't get a chance to interact with much of the staff except the security guards and an occasional landscaper, but everyone was super-nice.

We never even used the pool because the beach was so beautiful and the water so warm!

I would absolutely come back to this resort - and request the same unit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed in admiral's row for three days w/ my staff and had a great time. The only downside was that our condo was the most basic, our staff ended up with gorgeous condos on either side of us:(, didn't realize their was such a wide disparity in amenities from one condo to another. Gorgeous veiw, perfectly adquate room, nice kitchenette, would stay here again (after requesting the condo NEXT to us :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trumpeteerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
2.2 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing