We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT WEEK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A GREAT WEEK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just came back from HIlton Head after an end of the summer getaway and had a great time. We booked our condo thru our timeshare company and flew in thru charleston. the island itself was very different from what we were expecting. we were expecting cape cod-ish but it is very subtropical and lush. we ran around a little bit with check in because we needed to find the outside company that had our reservations, but the front desk personnel at HHIBTR were very nice and helpful. Our condo was at the back of the property - a third floor unit - a climb to get there but we figured it would burn off all the ice cream we ate. the condo was just as advertised- two bedroom- two bathroom - eating area- living area and small balconey. the only complaint we could have at check in was that the floors /carpets could have been a little cleaner -- and during our stay we figured the unit must have just been done over because any outlet that was not right out in the open had no switch plate cover on it - so in one of our many walmart runs i just picked up some and my husband spent five minutes installing them so that i would feel better with the kids there and the outlets covered. an earlier post mentioned the kitchen having very little in it -- and that was definitely true. the pots/pans/cooking utensils were just enough to get thru, and the silverware was only a service for 4 so we constantly hand washed spoons. and other than that the condo only had its linens and one roll of toilet paper on the roll. i did discover that our black rolling case fit two sterilite containers side by side- so i went to walmart prior to leaving and got as many condiments/cereals/salad dressings/toiletries/cleaning items as i could fit in them - and it worked out great. nothing got crushed and we were able to start off with a good selection of every day items, and we didnt need to shop for them down there. once you get to know your way around the walmart was only 10 minutes away with a publix market so it was very convenient. for us it was a short walk to the beach although with the chairs and bags and etc we did end up driving down. i cant say enough about the beach. pristine clean white sands, no rocks, no jellyfish, no seaweed--warm water--a dream. at high tide there is literally just a couple of inches of sand- so watch the tide times if you dont want your stuff to get soaked. lifeguards on duty were so helpful with one issue that we had. the pool was great - 3 feet almost all the way around so great for a little frisbee with the kids, nice and clean. one area of chairs is under a canopy so you can get out of the sun. the first night there we got pizza from gatorz pizza --- surprisingly yummy and the staff very nice. we walked down and picked it up but they do deliver. we got lunch twice at jamaica joes beach bar - the food was decent enough - i liked the fish sandwich better than the burger - good enough for lunch- the kids got their "smoothies", and you could get your afternoon drink to take to the pool. we did a few little road trips on the island and my husband took a day for himself and went to savannah for the day to explore the city. one big thing of the trip was that my son finally got on a 2 wheel bike!!! jan at the bike shed is a doll!! she got us all set up and before you knew it my son was riding up and down the beach at low tide--he was thrilled. we cant thank jan enough for all her help and encouragement.
so all in all a great week-- just be prepared for what you are getting inside your condo and enjoy the beautiful beach and island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgerrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear jgerrior --

If we could frame just one response on Trip Advisor it would be yours. Thnaks for your comments. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

See you again sometime soon at the beach!

Best regards,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    191
    96
    55
    60
See reviews for
265
128
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Resort itself was ok. Villa was in dire need of updating. Truly decorated in 80's and not updated since! Toilet ran all the time and shower in second bath didn't work. I didn't know villas are individually owned- B-1 should be avoided!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear jgerrior --

We've commented in this space before that it would be ideal if we could manage all 850+ units in the Hilton Head Island village complex and insist on standard criteria for decor, amenities and furnishings. We do that to some extent with the 157+ units we do manage, but when visitors have a bad experience, we've found that it's invariably because they have rented from an outside source, or direct from the owner and that's where things begin to break down.

We like to hear from you so we can forward your comments to those who rent without help or guidance from us and get them thinking that perhaps the work that goes into renting, maintaining and repairing would be left to management companies like ours to assure that their valuable investment is well maintained.

In the meantime, we welcome your candid comments and invite you to come back to discover how some of these concerns are addressed under new management in the coming months and years.

Best regards,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Hilton Head island Beach & Tennis Resort is a nice layout, in a good location, with nice amenities, but just adequate lodging. If you go in with your eyes open, you'll be satisfied. If not, disappointed.

The one-bedroom units are small, but adequate. Bedrooms, however, leave something to be desired, due to their size, or lack thereof. Beds are jammed against on of the walls, leaving one person to crawl off the end of the bed, in order to get up. It's just too small. Once you get past that, things get better.

The living area is adequate - comfortable for four but no more. The balcony does enable you to see the ocean (so it can be called "oceanview"), but you can't see the beach, due to the growth between beach and property. The bathroom is, again, adequate.

The pool area is the highlight of the facility. It's nice and big (advertised as "the biggest on Hilton Head"), with plenty of room, and a snack bar and ice cream service available. And the beach is nice, too. Plenty of tennis courts allow for the enthusiast to get as much court time as you want.

Don't expect to get a cup of coffee in the morning, though. There's nothing open before 11 a.m., so bring your own to brew in your room.

The facility is obviously dated, built years ago. It's kept clean, however, and there were plenty of children around. If you go with the correct expectations, it will satisfy. Just don't come with the idea of top-shelf.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doublegdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Doubledawg --

We love it when our best, most enlightened guests get it. The Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort is not The Ritz. It wasn't designed to be, and nothing we can do -- other than doing something drastic -- can change that. We are an affordable, mid-island destination resort where you can forgeet about life for a while -- for as few as three days or as much as a month or two -- and enjoy the best of Hilton Head Island beaches, great biking, the Island's biggest pool (indeed it is), a great tennis program, four convenient restaurants just steps from your villa and a staff that welcomes you with a smile and a willingness to make your stay enjoyable.

Best regards,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, ken
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed in a 1BR Oceanview on 3rd Floor of Admiral's Row.

Check-in - Easy and efficient.
Security - Very good. Always see security officer making rounds and with a security gate at entrance, felt secure.
Common Grounds - Clean and always seen staff mowing, cleaning, etc.
Pool - Very nice and big.
Admiral's Row Pool- One of the nice perks of staying in Admiral's Row is your own separate pool. Went there after the beach everyday and usually no one there.
Tennis - Plenty of courts. They looked nice.
Playground - Average. With a pool and the beach, not a lot of interest from our son.
Bike Rental - Best Bargain. $23 for the week and we biked to a different breakfast spot everyday and then explored the rest of the island.

Fitness Center - As mentioned before, small and open 8-5. Not an issue for us as we went around 8:30.

Living Unit - Ours was through VRBO and had been updated. They are older units but all seemed pretty nice. Admiral's Row Oceanfront Units were closer to the ocean than the other buildings and it had it's own private pool.

Beach - Easy access from all the resort area.

Food - Coconutz Sports Bar - Average bar food at best. Nice that it was on the resort but was not inclined to go back again for the food. Nice drink specials at happy hour and nice view of a lagoon with supposedly an alligator.

Gatorzz Pizza - Convenient. Similar to Domino's, Papa John's. Nothing special but not bad either.
Jamaica Joes at the Pool - Convenient. Decent burger, skip the fish sandwich - think it is the frozen stuff they sell in the grocery store. Again, nothing speical but not bad.

We did not go to the sit down restaurant.

Overall, a very nice resort. Not the fanciest, but clean, safe, friendly and had everything we needed and it was centrally located. Perfect for a family looking for fun at a pool and beach and to explore the island.

Other suggestions:

Adventure Golf you can bike to and is nice. The Pirate putt putt is pretty cool also. Legengary Golf, boring.

Dolphin Cruise out of Shelter Cove. $14 for almost 2-hours, can't beat it. Very relaxing and you do see dolphins.

Skull Creek Boathouse - Our most favorite place to eat dinner. TIP: Get your name on the wait list but try and find an empty table in bar area. We did this both times and saved an hour wait.

Stacks Pancakes - Good basic breakfast
Crazy Crab - Average
San Miguels - Great location, pretty good mexican food.
Harold's Diner - Not impressed. No Harold, below aveage food.
Island Bagel Company - Good solid bagel shop, Unlimited coffee refills also.
Reiley's Bar and Grill - Good location, good steak. Very loud.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront. We had ocean view and it was nice but next time we will spend the extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutch1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Dutch1230

It's perplexing that reviews of this resort can bounce from one star to five in the same week. As much as we're appreciate all your incredible comments and your view that we're a great value with pools, and great beach access, we're smart enough to realize that the truth lies somewhere between one and five -- maybe about a 3+. Thank you especially for noticing the hard work of our staff to keep everything clean and pristine for your enjoyment.

Best regards,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

For the first time in my life I lost the entire pre-paid $1000 since the Hotel room and facilities were so poor and old that I did not want to ruin my Memorial week-end special vacation. The hotel is extremely old, claims having ocean view but it does not (it is a joke, really), and there is simply no words to expolain the feeling about this hotel. It was rated as the top 2 tennis resort in Hilton Head. I love tennis, saw some pictires, seemed nice. Forget about it. PLease, please, don't go. They have to shut it down. Since they know that once you get there, you wanrt to leave right after, they have to pre-pay and do not allow refunds of any type. I think this is unbelievable. Please, please, make sure that you, or any other person that you know, don;t chose this hotel. This is our only weapon against this scam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Cecca --

We can on only reply suggesting you try us again -- if you read the lion's share of Trip Advisor reviews you'll find many more complimentary comments about our resort than negative ones. Sometimes in a big bag of peanut M & Ms you might find one that tastes a little off. We think you might have found that one. Try us again, and you may have a different experience.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 8-10-2012 thru 8-17-2012. I would rate the resort Very Good anywhere else, but just Average for Hilton Head. The grounds, however, were impecabbly maintained. They need to revamp the entrance to the facility however. Access to the amazing beach and ocean was made even more pleasant by having an extremely large pool right at the entrance of the beach. Most of the pool, although, is only 3 feet deep. The staff was very friendly. Our unit, C20 - rented through TAN, was a Tennis Villa - a few hundred yards from the beach. It was a walk-up (3rd Fl) but was very clean and amenable. The queen bed was very uncomfortable, the twins were OK. The AC worked great and full kitchen allowed us to prepare a few meals for convenience. It had a great view of the lagoon/lake that had a fountain and its own resident alligator! Wireless internet access was available for a daily charge, 2 week or monthly. About $30 for 2 weeks. Bali Hi, the main restaurant is NOT worth it. The bar by the pool and beach was worth it, with live music Fri and Sat. Very convenient to rent a bike (pretty beaten up though) to ride the beach (a MUST) and the numerous bike trails on the island. $23 for the week. This resort, on it's own, for the price was well worth it - but there are too many other places I would stay next time after exploring the island.

Room Tip: Renting a unit in the Tennis Villas, make sure you face the lake and not the parking lot. Doing some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear JSarbello --
The great thing about being "just average for Hilton Head Island" is that average for Hilton Head is way better than average for anywhere else - which is just one of our many advantages. And we're okay with being average -- that means we have a great location, we have a great competitive edge on price and our beach is wonderful.
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I spent a week here in July and shared a 2 bdrm condo with my brother and his family. The condo wasn't huge but it fit us all and had everything we needed for our get together. The resort is in a quiet area away from a lot of the traffic and crowds. There was always plenty of space at the beach and loungers to be found at the pool. We slept in most mornings, drank lots of coffee and watched the gator troll about the pond behind our condo, . The adults spent the days zoning on the beach and watching the kids build sand castles. It was a great place to relax and just revel in the sheer joy of spending time at the beach with family. I gave this resort 3 stars because it is comfortable and affordable but not over the top luxurious, new or near the prime real estate near the lighthouse. I would gladly stay here again and we are already talking about returning next year. The only downside to this complex is the early check out time and lack of a changing facility for families wanting to stretch their time at the beach the last day. No one wants to drive home (or to the airport, in our case) all sandy and smelling like seaweed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patswamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Patwamber -- It's so great to have guests here from places like Denver, to discover that some of the things people say about us are delightfully true and some are sometimes true but still delightful. This has been such a remarkable summer for the entire East Coast -- reasonable temperatures and tolerable humidity -- but especially for Hilton Head Island. It appears that this will be a guest attendance record-breaker, mostly because of people like you sharing some of the secrets that have made Hilton Head Island such a treasure. The beach here truly is remarkable, and we're fortunate to have the largest outdoor pool on the island right next door to our private beach access. That, plus the beach bar, plus the easy bicycle rentals, plus one of the best tennis programs in the Southeast and four convenient restaurants all walk-able from your lodging, make Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort a terrific place to visit and come back to year after year. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#20 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing