We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed in a 1BR Oceanview on 3rd Floor of Admiral's Row.

Check-in - Easy and efficient.
Security - Very good. Always see security officer making rounds and with a security gate at entrance, felt secure.
Common Grounds - Clean and always seen staff mowing, cleaning, etc.
Pool - Very nice and big.
Admiral's Row Pool- One of the nice perks of staying in Admiral's Row is your own separate pool. Went there after the beach everyday and usually no one there.
Tennis - Plenty of courts. They looked nice.
Playground - Average. With a pool and the beach, not a lot of interest from our son.
Bike Rental - Best Bargain. $23 for the week and we biked to a different breakfast spot everyday and then explored the rest of the island.

Fitness Center - As mentioned before, small and open 8-5. Not an issue for us as we went around 8:30.

Living Unit - Ours was through VRBO and had been updated. They are older units but all seemed pretty nice. Admiral's Row Oceanfront Units were closer to the ocean than the other buildings and it had it's own private pool.

Beach - Easy access from all the resort area.

Food - Coconutz Sports Bar - Average bar food at best. Nice that it was on the resort but was not inclined to go back again for the food. Nice drink specials at happy hour and nice view of a lagoon with supposedly an alligator.

Gatorzz Pizza - Convenient. Similar to Domino's, Papa John's. Nothing special but not bad either.
Jamaica Joes at the Pool - Convenient. Decent burger, skip the fish sandwich - think it is the frozen stuff they sell in the grocery store. Again, nothing speical but not bad.

We did not go to the sit down restaurant.

Overall, a very nice resort. Not the fanciest, but clean, safe, friendly and had everything we needed and it was centrally located. Perfect for a family looking for fun at a pool and beach and to explore the island.

Other suggestions:

Adventure Golf you can bike to and is nice. The Pirate putt putt is pretty cool also. Legengary Golf, boring.

Dolphin Cruise out of Shelter Cove. $14 for almost 2-hours, can't beat it. Very relaxing and you do see dolphins.

Skull Creek Boathouse - Our most favorite place to eat dinner. TIP: Get your name on the wait list but try and find an empty table in bar area. We did this both times and saved an hour wait.

Stacks Pancakes - Good basic breakfast
Crazy Crab - Average
San Miguels - Great location, pretty good mexican food.
Harold's Diner - Not impressed. No Harold, below aveage food.
Island Bagel Company - Good solid bagel shop, Unlimited coffee refills also.
Reiley's Bar and Grill - Good location, good steak. Very loud.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront. We had ocean view and it was nice but next time we will spend the extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dutch1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Dutch1230

It's perplexing that reviews of this resort can bounce from one star to five in the same week. As much as we're appreciate all your incredible comments and your view that we're a great value with pools, and great beach access, we're smart enough to realize that the truth lies somewhere between one and five -- maybe about a 3+. Thank you especially for noticing the hard work of our staff to keep everything clean and pristine for your enjoyment.

Best regards,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 611 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

For the first time in my life I lost the entire pre-paid $1000 since the Hotel room and facilities were so poor and old that I did not want to ruin my Memorial week-end special vacation. The hotel is extremely old, claims having ocean view but it does not (it is a joke, really), and there is simply no words to expolain the feeling about this hotel. It was rated as the top 2 tennis resort in Hilton Head. I love tennis, saw some pictires, seemed nice. Forget about it. PLease, please, don't go. They have to shut it down. Since they know that once you get there, you wanrt to leave right after, they have to pre-pay and do not allow refunds of any type. I think this is unbelievable. Please, please, make sure that you, or any other person that you know, don;t chose this hotel. This is our only weapon against this scam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Cecca --

We can on only reply suggesting you try us again -- if you read the lion's share of Trip Advisor reviews you'll find many more complimentary comments about our resort than negative ones. Sometimes in a big bag of peanut M & Ms you might find one that tastes a little off. We think you might have found that one. Try us again, and you may have a different experience.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 8-10-2012 thru 8-17-2012. I would rate the resort Very Good anywhere else, but just Average for Hilton Head. The grounds, however, were impecabbly maintained. They need to revamp the entrance to the facility however. Access to the amazing beach and ocean was made even more pleasant by having an extremely large pool right at the entrance of the beach. Most of the pool, although, is only 3 feet deep. The staff was very friendly. Our unit, C20 - rented through TAN, was a Tennis Villa - a few hundred yards from the beach. It was a walk-up (3rd Fl) but was very clean and amenable. The queen bed was very uncomfortable, the twins were OK. The AC worked great and full kitchen allowed us to prepare a few meals for convenience. It had a great view of the lagoon/lake that had a fountain and its own resident alligator! Wireless internet access was available for a daily charge, 2 week or monthly. About $30 for 2 weeks. Bali Hi, the main restaurant is NOT worth it. The bar by the pool and beach was worth it, with live music Fri and Sat. Very convenient to rent a bike (pretty beaten up though) to ride the beach (a MUST) and the numerous bike trails on the island. $23 for the week. This resort, on it's own, for the price was well worth it - but there are too many other places I would stay next time after exploring the island.

Room Tip: Renting a unit in the Tennis Villas, make sure you face the lake and not the parking lot. Doing some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear JSarbello --
The great thing about being "just average for Hilton Head Island" is that average for Hilton Head is way better than average for anywhere else - which is just one of our many advantages. And we're okay with being average -- that means we have a great location, we have a great competitive edge on price and our beach is wonderful.
Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I spent a week here in July and shared a 2 bdrm condo with my brother and his family. The condo wasn't huge but it fit us all and had everything we needed for our get together. The resort is in a quiet area away from a lot of the traffic and crowds. There was always plenty of space at the beach and loungers to be found at the pool. We slept in most mornings, drank lots of coffee and watched the gator troll about the pond behind our condo, . The adults spent the days zoning on the beach and watching the kids build sand castles. It was a great place to relax and just revel in the sheer joy of spending time at the beach with family. I gave this resort 3 stars because it is comfortable and affordable but not over the top luxurious, new or near the prime real estate near the lighthouse. I would gladly stay here again and we are already talking about returning next year. The only downside to this complex is the early check out time and lack of a changing facility for families wanting to stretch their time at the beach the last day. No one wants to drive home (or to the airport, in our case) all sandy and smelling like seaweed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patswamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Patwamber -- It's so great to have guests here from places like Denver, to discover that some of the things people say about us are delightfully true and some are sometimes true but still delightful. This has been such a remarkable summer for the entire East Coast -- reasonable temperatures and tolerable humidity -- but especially for Hilton Head Island. It appears that this will be a guest attendance record-breaker, mostly because of people like you sharing some of the secrets that have made Hilton Head Island such a treasure. The beach here truly is remarkable, and we're fortunate to have the largest outdoor pool on the island right next door to our private beach access. That, plus the beach bar, plus the easy bicycle rentals, plus one of the best tennis programs in the Southeast and four convenient restaurants all walk-able from your lodging, make Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort a terrific place to visit and come back to year after year. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great place to enjoy the beach in the "off season". Not crowded. Rooms are very nicely appointed, staff is friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the beach. Centrally located to everything Hilton Head Island has to offer. We only had a short 3 day weekend, but this was a great place to spend it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgiaGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear GeorgiaGrampa:
We're making significant progress when guests like you and your family are able to easily identify all the strengths of this resort -- its location, its value and its ability to satisfy those who need a quick getaway to the beach. We appreciate your kind comments and welcome you to come back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this resort. We stayed in Ocean Villas, B355, and our villa was clean and had a nice patio with an ocean view. The captain's bunk bed was great for our 5 year old daughter and the pull out sofa worked fine for our 10 year old son. The pool was great and the proximity of our villa to the beach couldn't be beat. We also ordered Gatorz pizza and dined at the sportz bar and both had excellent food and service. Our kids also enjoyed the playground that was not far from our villa. This is a very family friendly resort and I would stay here again.

Areas for Improvement: The mattress in the bedroom was in need of being replaced as it sunk in at the middle and it would have been nice to have a tv in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Look at the individual unit pictures on the resort's website so you can select a room that meets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemsonGirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Clemsongirl94 -- Based on all the wonderful things you've said about the island, the resort and you're experience, we will look forward to your return soon. As for bedding, we always encourage (and in some instances require) those on our own rental program to maintain quality standards, but there are several management companies managing a variety of properties here and standards vary. You'll have a better guarantee of quality if you book through the resort next time. Again, thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A friend of my friend owns the condo we stayed at and does not rent it out to the public, so I will not review the accommodations. The Resort itself was very clean, family friendly and the location to the beach cannot be beat. We went to the pool (which was huge) everyday at different times of the day and never had a problem finding a chair. Any of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. We also got a pizza from Gatorz Pizza which is on the property and it was delicious! I would highly reccommend this resort and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear CincinnatiTravelGirl:

How can we respond, other than to say thank you.

Sincerely,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
857 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing