We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Beach & Tennis Resort - C20”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Island Beach & Tennis Resort - C20”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 8-10-2012 thru 8-17-2012. I would rate the resort Very Good anywhere else, but just Average for Hilton Head. The grounds, however, were impecabbly maintained. They need to revamp the entrance to the facility however. Access to the amazing beach and ocean was made even more pleasant by having an extremely large pool right at the entrance of the beach. Most of the pool, although, is only 3 feet deep. The staff was very friendly. Our unit, C20 - rented through TAN, was a Tennis Villa - a few hundred yards from the beach. It was a walk-up (3rd Fl) but was very clean and amenable. The queen bed was very uncomfortable, the twins were OK. The AC worked great and full kitchen allowed us to prepare a few meals for convenience. It had a great view of the lagoon/lake that had a fountain and its own resident alligator! Wireless internet access was available for a daily charge, 2 week or monthly. About $30 for 2 weeks. Bali Hi, the main restaurant is NOT worth it. The bar by the pool and beach was worth it, with live music Fri and Sat. Very convenient to rent a bike (pretty beaten up though) to ride the beach (a MUST) and the numerous bike trails on the island. $23 for the week. This resort, on it's own, for the price was well worth it - but there are too many other places I would stay next time after exploring the island.

Room Tip: Renting a unit in the Tennis Villas, make sure you face the lake and not the parking lot. Doing some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear JSarbello --
The great thing about being "just average for Hilton Head Island" is that average for Hilton Head is way better than average for anywhere else - which is just one of our many advantages. And we're okay with being average -- that means we have a great location, we have a great competitive edge on price and our beach is wonderful.
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    209
    111
    62
    68
See reviews for
310
145
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I spent a week here in July and shared a 2 bdrm condo with my brother and his family. The condo wasn't huge but it fit us all and had everything we needed for our get together. The resort is in a quiet area away from a lot of the traffic and crowds. There was always plenty of space at the beach and loungers to be found at the pool. We slept in most mornings, drank lots of coffee and watched the gator troll about the pond behind our condo, . The adults spent the days zoning on the beach and watching the kids build sand castles. It was a great place to relax and just revel in the sheer joy of spending time at the beach with family. I gave this resort 3 stars because it is comfortable and affordable but not over the top luxurious, new or near the prime real estate near the lighthouse. I would gladly stay here again and we are already talking about returning next year. The only downside to this complex is the early check out time and lack of a changing facility for families wanting to stretch their time at the beach the last day. No one wants to drive home (or to the airport, in our case) all sandy and smelling like seaweed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patswamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Patwamber -- It's so great to have guests here from places like Denver, to discover that some of the things people say about us are delightfully true and some are sometimes true but still delightful. This has been such a remarkable summer for the entire East Coast -- reasonable temperatures and tolerable humidity -- but especially for Hilton Head Island. It appears that this will be a guest attendance record-breaker, mostly because of people like you sharing some of the secrets that have made Hilton Head Island such a treasure. The beach here truly is remarkable, and we're fortunate to have the largest outdoor pool on the island right next door to our private beach access. That, plus the beach bar, plus the easy bicycle rentals, plus one of the best tennis programs in the Southeast and four convenient restaurants all walk-able from your lodging, make Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort a terrific place to visit and come back to year after year. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great place to enjoy the beach in the "off season". Not crowded. Rooms are very nicely appointed, staff is friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the beach. Centrally located to everything Hilton Head Island has to offer. We only had a short 3 day weekend, but this was a great place to spend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear GeorgiaGrampa:
We're making significant progress when guests like you and your family are able to easily identify all the strengths of this resort -- its location, its value and its ability to satisfy those who need a quick getaway to the beach. We appreciate your kind comments and welcome you to come back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this resort. We stayed in Ocean Villas, B355, and our villa was clean and had a nice patio with an ocean view. The captain's bunk bed was great for our 5 year old daughter and the pull out sofa worked fine for our 10 year old son. The pool was great and the proximity of our villa to the beach couldn't be beat. We also ordered Gatorz pizza and dined at the sportz bar and both had excellent food and service. Our kids also enjoyed the playground that was not far from our villa. This is a very family friendly resort and I would stay here again.

Areas for Improvement: The mattress in the bedroom was in need of being replaced as it sunk in at the middle and it would have been nice to have a tv in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Look at the individual unit pictures on the resort's website so you can select a room that meets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemsonGirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Clemsongirl94 -- Based on all the wonderful things you've said about the island, the resort and you're experience, we will look forward to your return soon. As for bedding, we always encourage (and in some instances require) those on our own rental program to maintain quality standards, but there are several management companies managing a variety of properties here and standards vary. You'll have a better guarantee of quality if you book through the resort next time. Again, thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A friend of my friend owns the condo we stayed at and does not rent it out to the public, so I will not review the accommodations. The Resort itself was very clean, family friendly and the location to the beach cannot be beat. We went to the pool (which was huge) everyday at different times of the day and never had a problem finding a chair. Any of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. We also got a pizza from Gatorz Pizza which is on the property and it was delicious! I would highly reccommend this resort and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear CincinnatiTravelGirl:

How can we respond, other than to say thank you.

Sincerely,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Checked in with my two daughters Saturday evening. If an ocean view to you means a view of the parking lot and the houses next door you're in luck. One is under construction so until the second floor goes up you can still see a sliver of ocean. Dirty is the only way to describe the unit. The couch is visibly filthy and the carpet literally looks like a crime scene. The kitchen is poorly stocked and utensils are both lacking as well as dirty. No skillet, no cutting board, no collander and no knives of any use to be found. Cock roaches abound but this was the least of our problems.

Giving the fridge plenty of time to cool as directed, the following day we loaded up our groceries only to realize the refrigerator wasn't cooling. I used a temperature gauge and found after hours of being closed the fridge was above 50 degrees. And so begins the saga. We didn't get anyone over for 3 hours. Because most 5 year olds love hanging out inside at the beach waiting for repairmen. After a few more calls they sent someone to look at it. He determined it in fact was broken and offered to move us. Naturally we jumped at it given our units poor condition. Until we discovered the new unit was worse. No view at all and missing a tv. Assuming the fridge could be replaced we declined and they brought in another fridge. But not to replace the old one merely to sit in the already tiny cramped dining room. This goes on for two days, back and forth, repairmen in and out. Food spoiled and management wants nothing to do with us. So we eventually moved to the other unit only to find the original broken fridge which is now supposedly fixed. Nightmare. We are checking out after two days. I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy.

Not to pile on but the pools are big crowded and ugly with little landscaping. This is not a resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimberlywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Kimberlywoody:
It's amazing all the twists and turns of this story -- it reads like a television sitcom, with an unhappy ending. It seems you hit all the low points, but I wonder how it was at the beach, the pool and in the restaurants when all the refrigerator shifting was going on. Hopefully, that's the silver lining. It sounds as though one step at a time, everyone tried to help, but it didn't quite come together. We can only hope you're pleased enough with beach, weather and the destination's overall ambiance to return to Hilton Head Island and perhaps even give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilton Head hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the resort for 7 nights during July, and would definitely stay there again. The room that we stayed in was not perfect, but certainly good enough for the price that we paid (about $150/night before taxes and fees, $180/night after taxes and fees) and the location was great. We were close enough to the beach to walk there from our room within 5 minutes, and the resort's location on the island itself provided many options for dining and entertainment in either direction within just a short 15 minute drive.

We got an Oceanview room, and enjoyed being able to stand on our balcony and see the ocean a short distance away. Do not mistake Oceanview for Beachfront though, as you don't see the shoreline and sand from your balcony, just the ocean in the distance beyond the resort's pool and boardwalk area. The balconies also overlook the parking lots, but are set up well to allow many of the rooms to view the ocean from their balconies.

Our understanding of the resort is that people rent/own each unit, and that they rent out the units for the weeks they are not staying there. I would assume that this means that the accommodations in each room would be different, so it is hard to give a blanket statement as to the furnishings of each unit. However, our unit was well-furnished and served our family of four well. The bed was not luxurious, but it was comfortable, and it was great to have a full-size refrigerator and kitchenette to allow us to save some money on several of our meals.

We did visit several restaurants while in South Carolina though, and were pleased with all of them. Our favorite was the Skull Creek Boathouse, which was right on the water, with indoor or outdoor dining available. We chose to eat outside, and it was worth braving the heat, as we were informed by our friendly waitress that there are dolphins that hang around the pier, and that we could explore the pier as we waited for our food to see if we could sight them. When we walked down the pier, we were rewarded with viewing two dolphins swimming in very close proximity to the pier. This rivaled the viewing that we had seen the morning before when we arrived on the beach at the resort around 8:00 a.m. and saw dolphins swimming very near to the shoreline. It is also great fun to watch the sea birds as they fly overhead and then dive into the water headfirst to catch their food.

We visited the Salty Dog, and the food was good, but was more expensive than we had anticipated. We also thought it odd that we had to pay $5 just to drive into the Sea Pines area that led to the Harbor area where the Salty Dog restaurants are located. Parking was very hard to come by at dinner time in this area too, though they did have children's entertainers near the Wreck of the Salty Dog restaurant that did a good job of helping the kids have fun while waiting an hour to be seated.

The Gypsy boat tours leave from the dock in this area and offer a Dolphins and More excursion that included picking up a crab trap and seeing what it had caught (a stone crab and 3 hermit crabs), learning about some of the area and habitat, throwing a cast net to see what could be caught (we caught a shrimp, some snails, and a teeny jellyfish), and a ride out to view dolphins swimming.

The tiki bar on the resort had reasonably priced, good food too if you are trying to stick within a strict budget, but want to eat out. The waitresses were friendly, and the atmosphere was good.

On the beach at the resort, we also saw many mini crabs on the beach when we would arrive early in the morning while the beach was still fairly quiet. The kids loved watching the crabs skitter around. This was just as good as seeing the crabs at the Coastal Discovery Museum, which was one of the more interesting things to see there. Entrance to the Museum and it's grounds is free, but their attractions do cost money. We felt the price for the Animals of the Lowcountry event was expensive at $38 for 2 adults and 2 children, but we did get to touch an indigo snake, baby alligator, possum and owl, and we got to see a flying squirrel, as well as learn many facts about each animal. The rest of the outdoor exploration of the museum proved to be disappointing, including the butterfly enclosure, which amounted to about only four different species of butterflies. The inside of the museum did have some interesting information, but required a lot of self-guided reading to gain that information, which the kids tired of quickly.

We chose to spend one of our days in Charleston, SC, which is about 2 hours north of Hilton Head. It was the most interesting and enjoyable day of our vacation by far. We started out by visiting the Boone Hall Plantation. The Avenue of Oaks that leads to the plantation house is beautiful and historical, as we later found out during our tour. We took a tour of the plantation house. Unfortunately, the tour only consisted of viewing a few rooms on the main level, but it was still very interesting. We walked through some of the last remaining slave cabins in SC, where there were various informative and interesting exhibits about slaves and their emancipation. We attended the Gullah presentation, where a very spirited lady explained the Gullah history and culture in a way that immersed those watching in the Gullah tradition and spirit. The tram tour was next, led by a very knowledgable and humorous guide, who showed us everything from plants, to an Osprey nest on the property, to the Cotton Dock, Slave Cabins and Avenue of Oaks, all while informing us of interesting information regarding the families that had inhabited the plantation, and the use of the land at various points in history. The Cotton Dock was also a fun walk for the kids, and provided the viewing of many more mini-crabs as we walked on the walkway. The Butterfly enclosure here too was also disappointing, but everything else at Boone Hall was well worth the money.

Before heading back to Hilton Head, we ventured into the heart of Charleston to visit the Charleston City Marketplace, where we found some treasures to take home with us. We visited the notorious Hominy Grill, which was interesting to us since it was featured on the TV show Man vs. Food. Their Shrimp and Grits was wonderful, and the epitome of Southern cooking. We stopped at the Carolina Cider Company on the way back to the resort to try some Peach Cider. It was delicious, and we ended up leaving with several delicious and interesting food items that could only be found in the South.

The rest of our time in Hilton Head was spent either on the beach, or in the pool, as is almost necessary in SC during July! We used a lot of sunscreen, but it was well worth it. The beach has powdery sand, and is wonderful to walk on. It is also packed down near the water, and is fun to ride a bike on early in the morning and later in the evening after many people have cleared the area. Small seashells can be found and collected, especially in the evening as the tide comes in. Bikes with comfy seats and baskets can be rented onsight for $12/day or $28/week. The bike trails in the area are also shaded and very nice.

A few tips: If you can, bring basic necessities from home to avoid having to purchase them on the island. The resort provides the first roll of toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bag, dishwasher detergent, but after that, you are responsible for restocking. Limited cookware and dishes are available in the unit, but basic cooking ingredients (such as oil, salt, pepper, flour, etc.) are not, so plan accordingly. All items can be purchased for reasonable prices at the local grocery store or Wal-Mart though if you would rather just purchase the items when you arrive.

Also, the beach gets very hot, and there are not trees to provide any shade, so bring a beach umbrella, tent or canopy if you don't want to roast in the sun all day. Umbrellas and beach chairs can be purchased for a reasonable price at Wal-Mart on the island too. There are a limited number of poolside chairs under canopies in the pool area as well.

On our trip back to Iowa from SC, we visited Ruby Falls, Rock City and the Incline Railway at Lookout Mountain in Chattanooga TN. All attractions were very worth the visit, and would highly recommend these to anyone interested as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor to avoid having to haul luggage and beach gear up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank askeuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, Director of Sales at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Askeuning:
Have you ever considered getting in the travelogue business? You’ve done a very nice job of describing the ideal Hilton Head Island vacation – a wide variety of experiences, exploration of what makes the island truly special -- and thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our resort. You seem to have hit all the highlights – beach, biking on the beach, shopping, dining, observing nature, guided tours, dolphins and even traveling further afield for a day trip to Charleston. Hilton Head Island is a remarkable destination, well known for its ability to restore and renew the spirit, and we believe that our resort’s location, mid-island,with direct access to the beach, is a great home base for hub-and-spoke daily adventures especially for those brilliant enough to plan an extended stay. We’re delighted that your vacation measured up to your expectations and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
David Zunker
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
285 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
851 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing