We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We usually stay at the Westin, but it was sold out when we wanted to visit HH this year. The hotel itself is very clean with a modern, recently updated decor. Room was beautiful and modern. Staff were all pleasant and welcoming. I wonder if the hotel sponsors foreign employees, as most seemed to be from the Caribbean and Australia. We had breakfast daily at the hotel's restaurant, and it was delicious and very decently priced, with healthy options (The breakfast at the Westin was more expensive and not as good). There is also a breakfast buffet available, although the menu items were filling enough so we never bought it. There is plenty of free parking that is relatively close to the hotel, so we skipped the valet. Note that the hotel allows dogs up to 35lb for a one-time $150 fee. Grounds were very well-kept. Beach is awesome because the hotel is flanked not by other hotels, but by private homes, so it isn't crowded. Pairs of wooden beach chairs with umbrellas are available for rent for ~$30 for an entire day or $18 after 1pm. They did not seem to sell out, either.
Only minor complaint was that the door on our safe was broken and unusable, and Wifi was shotty at times.

Overall, we felt that Sonesta was just as nice as the Westin, but less expensive and with better food. We will be staying here in the future when we visit HH.

Pro tip: Before you go, make sure to join the free Trvale Pass rewards program on their website, which gives you free Wifi and discounts around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domer621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear domer621,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review with us and our future guests. As you may imagine, the team was pleased to read your comments, and they look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are also delighted that you signed up for our Travel Pass rewards program. While this will earn you free stays in the future, you will also be informed of great offers for Hilton head as well as all of our sister properties. We are excited that your future trips to Hilton Head will bring you back to the Sonesta Resort.

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    428
    117
    29
    15
See reviews for
624
776
43
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had no hot water and had to call 4 times to get any update. Apparently it was only our side of the hotel but they didn't offer to move us. In addition, no offer on free night stay or spa visit to compensate. Internet is little better than dial up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
4 Thank GamecockChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear GamecockChic,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with our Executive Assistant, and as suggested, we should have been more proactive in making up for our shortcomings. We are so grateful that you will be proving us another opportunity to regain your confidence in Sonesta Resort, and we will be waiting for your return.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I was there this past week for a conference with my job and it was great. The staff was very friendly and made sure our needs were met. The room was spacious and clean. The only problem I had was connecting my phone to the Internet. Other than that it was a great stay and I will definitely return again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Latarsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Latarsha L,

It was a pleasure to have you and your colleagues stay with us, and thank you for the great feedback regarding the event. Our complimentary internet has 24 hour support, so in the event a guest has challenges, we are happy to assist. We also provide additional bandwidth for our Travel Pass rewards members, so be sure to sign up!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel is well situated to make excellent beach access. The building and rooms were obviously recently renovated; gorgeous interior design, super clean carpet everywhere. Guest room was great, plenty of room, top notch bathroom facilities, great bed and linens. Loved the automatic night light sensor as you moved to the bathroom. I was there solo, end of summertime, but a bit too early as the place was packed with families with lots of children. Pool quickly filled, music playing loudly, lots of screaming fun going on. NOT a place to rest. Beach was packed. Ocean warm, not clear waters, and regular threats of jellyfish; I luckily escaped.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Terry S.,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are a great family destination, as is Hilton Head, while the children are enjoying their summer break. Once the children go back to school in mid-August, our resort transforms, and the clientele shifts to couples and friends. With miles of beautiful beaches, wonderful golf courses, tennis and our Arum Spa, there is something for everyone. I would like to encourage you to stay with us again this fall; It truly is the locals favorite time of the year, and why so many choose to call Hilton Head Island home. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here got 5 nights. The room was very clean and a good size. It had a seating area and a small balcony. We chose this resort because it was reasonably priced for being right on the beach... and the beach was spectacular! It wasn't too crowded if you walked just s little way past the path to the resort. The restaurants and bars on site were fine but waaaaayyyy over priced. Spend the days on the beach and sleep in your room but do everything else elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anitsirk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear anitsirk3,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor fans. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort and our beautiful beaches. I will be sure to share your comments regarding pricing with our food and beverage director to ensure that we are still pricing competitively with our local restaurants. As you may of heard when checking in, our Travel Pass rewards members do enjoy a 10% discount on food and bike rentals as well as a 15% discount in the Arum Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Sonesta resort with my family. We had a corner room with a king bed. The room was quite large with a pullout sofa, nice size bathroom and a little fridge and coffee maker. Since our two boys don't like to sleep together, we did travel with a blowup bed. The room was large enough to accommodate the extra queen bed and still give us plenty of room to move around. We had a small balcony that looks out at palm trees and a small lake. The pool was small but never crowded when we were there. The beach is a short walk from the pool. There was always fruit infused water available in the lobby. My kids loved this! We did not eat on the property and traveled with our own wine so I cannot comment on food or beverage. The king bed was super comfortable. The staff was very nice and professional. My only complaint would be that one night we did hear a crying baby in the room next to us. We drowned it out with the tv until we were ready to sleep and all was quiet at that time.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the corner rooms, they are worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Zinwinegirl,

Thank you for providing our fans with your recommendations. We recently added a new suite type after converting 3 hospitality suites to a King Studio Suite. All three have spectacular ocean views, two 46" smart TV's, a full sized pullout couch and dining room seating for six, so please look into this room type for your next visit! Please be sure to try happy hour at Bayley's Bar and Terrace for great appetizers and a glass of Zinfandel when you return. Until then, we will be waiting for you!

Kind regards,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Sonesta Resort. The rooms are modern and very clean. The grounds are maintained beautifully and provide many areas for relaxation and privacy. We were able to check-in early and the front desk staff were beyond welcoming and gracious. The hotel is in a perfect location for shopping and great restaurants with bike trails that lead to all areas of the island. Fabulous vacation spot!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Heidi O,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests on Trip Advisor. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance to you, and let us know when you would like to return.

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing