We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hilton Head
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at Sonesta with two friends for a quick beach trip. We got a good price through Priceline and received a beautiful room, great garden view and wonderful service. The only negative - nothing to do with the hotel - is that beach access for Shipyard Plantation is at this location. As a result, the beach area can become very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your recent stay. We are excited to know you received a beautiful room with a garden view and wonderful service to compliment your stay. We do share the beach with the residents of Shipyard Plantation, our gated community. Although the immediate beach access area may naturally be more congested, with a quick turn to the right or left from the beach entrance will lead you to our less crowded beautiful sandy beach that extends throughout the island. Please remember our beach marker is 71A in case you are looking for the resort from the ocean. As you enter the resort area from the beach, Marker 71 will be ready to serve drinks and light snacks, providing a convenient food and beverage option beach side. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    484
    126
    33
    18
See reviews for
699
886
50
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Based on my stay in 2013, I returned to the Sonesta again in 2014. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very friendly, polite, and efficient. I like the layout of the hotel and the access to the beach. The on-site spa is convenient and the food is terrific. The lobster rolls were awesome, room service is quick (the avocado/turkey club with shoestring fries was incredible and I had the chopped salad twice while I was there this time), and they always have cold water flavored with fresh fruit in the lobby. This year, I brought my dog. The "pet" rooms on the first floor are convenient to a pet potty area, but mine faced the parking lot so no good view. Having said that, if I had one of the pet rooms facing the pool area, my dog may have barked at the pool noises. Note that my room had a "back" door to the patio area where the pet area was - again, convenient, but the door could not be locked from the outside so I wasn't comfortable taking a longer walk away from the room. Lots of good walking areas on the property, however, including a little lake on the property beyond the pools on the way to the beach. The hotel provided a pamphlet listing the beach pet rules as well as pet-friendly restaurants in the area. This was fantastic - had breakfast at the Skillet's in Coligny Plaza based on this listing. Short drive to the restaurant and they had a pet menu - food for pet and people was terrific. The wash-off area coming back to the hotel from the beach had a hose for rinsing off the dog which was a very nice touch and very helpful. The Pearls gift shop at the hotel is wonderful - check out the jewelry case - very pretty, unique jewelry at great prices. I would definitely stay here again - with or without my dog.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the pool; spa is on the second floor - helpful to spa-goers; pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the resort. It was a wonderful time. The serenity, and yet energy that is there is perfect. The food is a bit pricey but a night splurge was worth it. Our room overlooked the garden- but with that came a distant view of the ocean. Literally, I had the view they advertise with. We were on the 3rd floor- I would go 4th or 5th floor next time. The second floor had a shared balcony and could look up at us when we were on our private balcony. It wasn't that big of a deal because we were mostly out of the room enjoying the Beach, pool, games, the gorgeous trails or sight seeing around HH. The hamburgers from the restaurants are delish! Great location. And I cant say enough about the staff- so sweet. Even got a tip about a pizza place at our next vacation stop! Breakfast at plantation cafe is tasty- large portions, family friendly.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor garden view. It is a walk to the beach- but not far. If you have little ones, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumbleabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Amazing staff: Colin, Kristen, Emily, (Front desk -remember me- lady with red streak in hair) Tracy(Intern), Steve (Pool Bar), Deborah (Housekeeping), Eric(Valet) Josh, Keri (bar) THANK YOU ALL XOXOXO

Room Tip: Dont get room overlooking parking lot - but otherrwise great. It was a little couple and family ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review about our staff. We pride ourselves in delivering sincere and professional customer service to all of our guests and we are happy to know our efforts were recognized. Thank you again for the personal mentions and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have stayed there twice. By the second trip, the staff were addressing our kids by name, like old friends. I was traveling alone with my children and came back late one night from dinner. The manager heard from a guest that I was out in the parking lot alone with two kids and he came searching for me just to accompany us to the hotel! I was impressed!! Staff are very friendly, go above and beyond.
Facilities are great. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mudiwasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an amazing review regarding your stay with us. The service you received from our Front Desk is just an example of what we strive to provide every guest who stays here at the Sonesta. We are more than pleased to read one of our Manager On Duty was available to safely assist you and your family upon return to our resort. We are happy to know we exceed your expectations and can not wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Haven't been to Hilton Head in years as we usually go to the Florida panhandle. The beaches are not as white and fluffy as panhandle but they are so wide when the tide is out that you can easily play sports or ride a bike on them. The resort was beautiful, both the rooms and the pool area have recently been renovated. My only complaint was that one morning it stormed and then it cleared up by 2pm but the pool bar/restaurant stayed closed. This was such a disappointment to those of us at the pool wanting a frozen drink. I was there with 3 teenage girls so we ate at Salty Dog and Crazy Crab but our favortie was Marley's. They had the most wonderful Hawaiian Fish and it is right around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaVacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are excited that you and your family chose to stay with us during your return visit to Hilton Head Island. Our recent renovation has certainly added a beautiful touch to our resort with some modern and locally inspired décor. We are happy to know you were pleased with the updates. Due to the weather on Hilton Head sometimes being unpredictable, we were unable to re-open SwetCane and apologize for the interruption you experienced while enjoying our amenities. We truly appreciate you sharing your comments with us and look forward to the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back at the Sonesta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family just returned from a four day stay at this hotel. It has been recently renovated and the rooms and public areas have an urban flair that is quite attractive. Except for placing the wheelchair accessible rooms facing the wall of another building and calling it "ocean view", the hotel is very easy to negotiate for people with disabilities. The pool even has a lift and a boardwalk all the way to ocean front. The in-house restaurant Heywards had great food (better than three of the local most recommended seafood places) for dinner. Order off the menu to avoid the hotel-chain type breakfast buffet. The staff was amazingly friendly and remembered our seating and other preferences. They were very helpful with rinsing the wheelchair of sand. Beds were VERY comfortable and housekeeping was impeccable and thorough. Our only complaint was the lack of clarity about what an ocean view really meant. If we had known how little of the ocean we could see from our "ocean view" room, we would have saved money and elected for a view of the parking lot. Be sure to watch the lagoons by the guard house for the infamous alligators of Hilton Head. They are HUGE!

Room Tip: Be sure to research what kind of view you are really going to receive for your $$. Beach is very cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank equusigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this excellent review. We very much appreciate the recognition towards our friendly and exceptional staff. Our resort is located in the southern part of Hilton Head, which allows access to many of the local restaurants and shops. We are pleased to know you enjoyed dining in our very own Heyward’s restaurant. Our culinary team strives to provide Food Is Art, a Sonesta food concept, highlighting authentic local ingredients. We are very sorry to hear your room accommodation was not to your satisfaction. For future reservations, please feel free to contact our Guest Services Representative who can assist you in finding the most ideal room location. Thank you again for this wonderful review and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing