We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 to Tango offer !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 to Tango offer !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked for Valentines day and my wife was so happy!! This resort is a excellent choice if traveling to Hilton Head. Clean, Friendly, Modern. Staff were very helpful. When we went it was rather chilly so didnt get to explore the pools or beach but we will definatly be staying there this summer. The ARUM Spa was great that was the first massage ive had in 10 years and it was so relaxing. Thank You Sonesta and Arum. This trip should keep me out of the dog house for a good while.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this excellent review regarding your Valentine’s Day stay! We are very happy to read that you chose to spend your special getaway with us and were able to relax. Thank you for acknowledging our superb staff here at Sonesta as well as the services you received at Arum Spa. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the warmer months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    474
    125
    31
    18
See reviews for
685
873
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

All of the staff from the valet, front desk to the bartender were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were all very nice and clean and the view and amenities were great! I will definitely recommend Sonesta to others and return myself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtagapeach333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for your recent stay. We are excited to hear you had an excellent stay with us and appreciate your recognition towards our friendly and welcoming staff. Our goal is to create an experience you will carry home to share with your friends and family. We can not wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were there the last week of January on a discounted Travelzoo promo, and we travel with a small dog. We had read good things about this resort and found everything said was on the mark. This helped because the week, except Monday, was extremely cold with icing but no snow. This is a newly renovated and refurbished resort and it is all a great success. They make available ground floor rooms for guests with pets, but some rooms may have a less desirable maintenance street view. we were in room 1063 and those from about 1057 to 1065 are very well suited to pets, since they have outside the sliding door a walkway and mulched area behind tall bushes that mask the valet parking lot. A pet station is easily accessible (they have a $150 flat pet fee). Security on the ground floor is strong. The rooms are fairly standard-sized, a little less than 400 sq. ft., with very comfortable furniture and a deliciously comfortable and thus inviting king-size bed. Bathrooms are well appointed and certainly well stocked with quality towels and accessories. There is a small refrigerator and a Keurig coffee machine. The color schemes, decorations, and furniture designs are attractive and relaxing. Because of the weather we were in the room a little more than we might otherwise have been, so all this made it enjoyable. In addition, the service by everyone was extremely friendly and efficient.
It is a short walk to the beach, which is beautiful and good for shell collecting. The pool area and outdoor patios surround attractive natural pools. In good weather it is obvious they would be nice places to be. The main lobby is very attractive with comfortable furniture and right off it is a nice bar. Beyond the bar is the hotel restaurant, which attracted us with a 3-course dinner special. But the big surprise was the excellent quality of the food and service, which has to be among the very best on the whole island. Needless to say we ate there twice. We've been to Hilton Head many times since our first in the early '80s, so we've been to most of the restaurants there with friends and locals.
In short, this is a high quality, attractive resort, that is at the top of resorts on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmalbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review regarding your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your recognition regarding the layout of our property as well as the comfortable amenities that are featured in your room. If you are interested in purchasing any of the bedding or bathroom products you enjoyed, please visit sonestaforhome.com and explore our amenities further. We are thrilled to read we were able to accommodate you and your beloved pooch here at Sonesta Hilton Head! We understand they are a part of the family and welcome dogs under 35lbs on ground floor patio room to provide easy access to the exterior of the building. Safety is our first concern and we are glad to know you felt comfortable and safe throughout your stay. Thank you again for this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful resort, great beach and fantastic service. These guys are worth every penny!

We didn't use the pool on this trip (it was winter - but it was heated) but I can't wait to get back. Those lounge chairs are calling my name.

Breakfast buffet the next morning was delicious and well-priced - two thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cafeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an excellent review about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your recognition regarding our newly renovated resort and our restaurant Heyward’s with their delicious breakfast buffet; we are happy you enjoyed the food as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the warmer months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Ahnka, i believe her name is spelled, is completely amazing. We stayed in January, and in addition to your beautiful resort (which I'm sure would be very nice when it wasn't very cold), she made our stay warm and delightful.

Good job on color scheme, by the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for this excellent review! We appreciate you taking the time to recognize Anca who is a valuable asset to this property. All of our associates here share the same passion for excellent customer service and we are very happy to know she was able to make your stay memorable. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back during the warmer months, which is just around the corner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed for a night in October with my husband. Beautiful property and I love the pool area. The rooms are completely updated and clean. I would definitely stay again. My husband wanted to surprise me with red rose petals in the room and the staff was very accommodating and helpful to him.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our resort amenities as well as the cleanliness of your room upon arrival. Our Concierge team is always ready to assist in making your stay extra special. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your rose petal surprise. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 yet tripadvisor does not let me go back this far.

We stayed at this hotel before their renovation and loved it even back then. I can only imagine how great it has to be today. Rooms are large and very clean, the same thing goes for the bathrooms. We loved the balcony from where you could see the ocean and the resort courtyard. Pool was rather small but that's okay as you have the ocean right in front of you anyway. There was a wedding reception + beach wedding while we were there and it looked absolutely romantic. Loved it! The front desk helped with everything we needed and they were extraordinary friendly as well.

We hope to be back soon, even though it's a long way from Germany.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Garden View or Ocean View room if you don't want to have a look on the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLikeTravellingALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review about your previous stay with us. The Sonesta collection is a growing colmpany within the U.S. as well as properties located internationally. We are delighted to hear you travelled so far to visit us on sandy Hilton Head Island! Our Sales and Catering team is dedicated to making your dream wedding come true. As mentioned in you review, there are several room types to choose from so please do not hesitate to consult one of our Guest Services Representative at the Front Desk to ensure you have the desired room. Thank you for recognizing our Front Desk staff and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing