We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay it Sonesta Hilton Head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a great stay. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were both large and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Upon arrival, I mentioned it was my birthday and the bell captain sent me chocolate covered strawberries. It was a pleasure staying at this hotel. We would definitely stay at the Sonesta Hilton Head again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We love indulging our guests when they are here and are so happy Eric was able to suprise you with some chocolate covered strawberries! We look forward to celebrating many more occasions with you. Thank you for choosing Sonesta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was our good fortune to choose this hotel as a via-point on our journey south. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Lovely airy lounge areas and rooms; well landscaped; artfully furnished (Janus et Cie poolside lounges, tables, chairs). Everything you might expect of a $30-million renovation. And then there was the pleasure of excellent food, and exceptionally personable staff. We wish we could have stayed longer but instead will settle for returning soon and recommending the hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We wish you could have stayed longer! We love that you enjoyed our recent renovation to the property and all the effort and thought behind it. At Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, we want our staff to exceed every guests expectations every day. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to the day you return to Sonesta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island, SC. We met family and friends there for an engagement party for our nephew. Kelli Lively was most helpful in assisting all the attendees with reservations and accommodations. The entire experience was awesome, from the cordial greeting by Charlie, the doorman, to the receptionists, to the bartender at the lobby lounge...all handled their respective jobs, while at the same time made us feel welcome and at home. We enjoyed visiting with friends and family at the lobby lounge as everyone arrived. It was so convenient to have our rooms together and on the same floor as the party room, making visiting and sharing in the experience much easier. We know Kelli put in special effort and time to make sure we all enjoyed the resort and our gathering. Everything at the resort was just as special and beautiful as she had told us about! With guests that ranged in age from 1 year to 86 years, everyone couldn't have been more comfortable and pleased with the accommodations and the resort staff. We look forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: We loved the pool and ocean view room and the special features in the newly remodeled resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beneta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review regarding your stay as well as your experience here at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our exceptional staff from the front desk as well as our bellman. We wanted to make sure your experience was more that special for you and your family ranging from all ages. At Sonesta we are delighted this resort brought you such comfort. Thank you again and we cannot wait for your to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Sonesta at Hilton Head should serve as a model for other hotels! The staff at the front desk are the best I have ever encountered. My husband and I were amazed. I could really go on and on - but it would seem fake. thank you Sonesta for making our stay the best ever at ANY resort- including the Ritz Carlton

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

From all of our associates, we truly thank you for taking the time to write your sincere and meaningful review. At the Front Desk we want to make efforts to go above and beyond. We understand you have many options as to where to stay and we are so happy you chose Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently my family had an engagement party with fifty guests that stayed at the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island, SC. What a FABULOUS weekend!!! Kelli at the front desk was extremely accommodating in making the room arrangements for the guests and selecting a hospitality suite for the party. She, the sales/catering team, as well as, Lisa and Chloe worked with the guests to make sure that they were comfortable with their room arrangements and dining.
The venue for a party cannot be more highly recommended. Our suite had a wonderful sunset view and had more than adequate space to entertain fifty. The staff of the hotel (Kalvinston, Anca, Steve, Winston, Eric, Marvil and others) checked throughout the day of the party to see if we needed anything to make the party perfect. It is rare to find this excellent service. When we asked for some items, like adding a table outside the room with a floral arrangement, they went above and beyond to make sure that our party was extra special.
All of our guests commented on how beautiful the rooms were since the recent renovation. Several people said it felt as if they were in a cosmopolitan city with the ocean at the backdoor. What a perfect combination!
The last morning guests chose to have the Sunday brunch which was FABULOUS!! We cannot recommend the Sonesta Resort and the staff more highly!!!
We would like to send a special thanks to Kelli, Anca, Lisa, Chloe, Kalvinston, and Janet at the front desk, Eric and Marvil (the excellent bellmen), and Tracy and Kathryn for special room arrangements. Winston and Steve were very helpful throughout the party.
We look forward to staying at the resort in the future and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_JordanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our property and services at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are extremely excited you enjoyed this Resort but more importantly that you recognized Kelli, Anca, Lisa, Chloe, Kalvinston, Janet , Eric, Marvil, Tracy, Kathryn, Winston and Steve for their outstanding service. We continue to strive for excellent service througout the entire hotel and hope that every guest receives the service you experienced while you were our guest. Thank you for choosing our Resort for your special occasion and we look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Sonesta Resort for the first time this year as we visited Hilton Head Island and were very pleased. The hotel has been remodeled and is beautiful. The lobby is very inviting and we especially liked the color scheme. Our king room was very spacious and relaxing. The bed was new and very comfortable. Even though I have experienced back problems in some hotels, that was not the case in this bed. The carpeting was new as was the furniture. We especially liked the walk in shower. The lighting is the room ( as well as the hotel) was greatly appreciated. We wish more hotels were this bright. We cannot say enough about the staff. They were so friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is so clean, you can't help but relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time for writin such a great review about your stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Thank you for noticing the details in our recent $30 million renovation. From the color choice to the lighting throughout the resort, we want our guests to feel welcomed and excited about their experience. Furthermore, we love reading that our beds made you feel very comfortable throughout your stay. Please visit our website or contact the hotel as you are able to purchase bedding and hotel amenities if desired. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was on a girls trip up the east coast. Hilton Head was one of the places we want to see. I loved Sonesta Resort. I would like to bring my husband back and play some golf. I only stay the one night. I had dinner and breakfast at the resort, it was very good and the service was great. The rooms are large, clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

We are excited about you choosing Sonesta Hilton Head Island as your destination for a girls trip. Here, we desire our guests to be comfortable, but most importantly to have fun! We hope you choose us again as your destination for future trips and get to stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $178 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing