We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week on HHI. We have spent numerous weeks each year for over 2 decades vacationing at HHI and have lodged at nearly all of the major hotels and condo projects. We chose this hotel after having stayed there several times previously when it was the Crowne Plaza and its predecessor the Crystal Sands. We read where Sonesta has taken over and invested a great deal of money into the property and reviewed the information on their website as well as here on TA. All we can say is that the web photos are great, but the real thing is even better. Wow. Tastefully decorated with beautiful grounds. The staff members were so friendly and attentive to our requests. The vibe of the place is very comfortable and modern - less formal that the Westin and Marriott. The food in the restaurants was well prepared and a good value. We visited and compared to other major hotels while there, which confirmed our impressions. We will be returning to the Sonesta for our future visits to HHI. Special week in a special place.

Room Tip: They are limited on the number of rooms with ocean view and the hotel sits back further from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for your glowing feedback regarding your stay with us. We certainly try to fulfil every guest's needs to ensure a perfect stay. We are glad that you were able to come back and see the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island's $30 Million renovation after you had been here in previous years and we are pleased you are happy with the changes both to decor and experience. We look forward to your return to our special resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,200 - 2,206 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have already bragged about this resort to my fellow co-workers in Ontario, Canada!! It was worth the 17 hour drive down. The location is amazing with friendly valet to welcome you as you walk through their professionally manicured gardens, to the resorts' smiling front desk staff. We purchased their bed & breakfast plan which is well-worth the extra few dollars. Presentation, quality of food and kindness of servers, started our morning off on the right track!! And yes, the beds are amazingly comfortable (better than home - really!!) The resort is beach side, with a sand pathway that separates the resort from the beach. An enjoyable walk to an amazing, wide, beach. We felt very safe here. Lots of opportunity to golf, walk, ride bike, relax,and enjoy! We did! Without hesitation, we would return to this lovely resort. Thank you Sonesta, for making our vacation just what we were looking for!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubb916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your feedback here at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We pride ourselves in delivering the best service possible to each and every guest that chooses us for their vacation destination. We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband found the Sonesta Resort on a bidding site and we were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. We were treated like royalty. The grounds are beautiful and we were steps from the beach. Our room was very nice with a view of the grounds and the pool. The hotel is so tastefully and beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I cannot say enough about the outstanding treatment we received. The location was very convenient. We will definitely stay at the Sonesta Resort again.

Room Tip: Our king size room was certainly adequate with a nice view of the grounds and pool. It was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We appreciate your wonderful review of the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Our aim is to ensure all guests are treated with levels of service above expectations. We are glad you agree with us on our renovations and how tastefully and beautifully decorated it is. We certainly hope you can return very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very clean hotel,short 2 minute walk to beach thru lush garden property.Pool heated and never cold! Happy hour is well worth the money, and very friendly bartenders.nice touch with lights under end tables, motion activated no need to turn lights on to use bathroom in the middle of the night.bed and pillows are the BEST!great staff and great location.Highly recommend the Sonesta, had a great stay.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking pool or ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis&sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your experience. Thank you for mentioning your experience with our bartenders and other staff. We strive for excellent service at Sonesta and I am pleased to see we succeeded. Our renovation included the addition of the motion sensor lights in all guest rooms. We cannot wait for your return to our beautiful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After reading the reviews on TA, my mom, three kids and I returned from a long weekend away the third week in October at this Sonesta. I can only echo the previous reviews--just outstanding. From the drive in to view the property, to being greeted by a smiling, pleasantly chatty valet (we didn't need due to free, self-parking), to entering the BEAUTIFUL lobby...then to find the huge corner guest room that was so clean, well designed and appointed, I wish I could ask what paint and carpet they use for my own bedroom! We were pleasantly surprised to find the pathways to the beach were sprinkled with a few new hammocks, gorgeous plantings and more smiling staff. The food, both at the restaurant (for lunch) and one night in our room (after a day of biking and swimming) was delicious and NOT overpriced. I also need to give high praise for Kevin who works in security--not only helpful but friendly and genuinely concerned about our time at Sonesta. Look forward to our next trip!!

Room Tip: Large families like ours should request a corner room and request a cot--it's a twin BED, no spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We enjoy reading reviews about our guests experiences, especially when they are as positive as yours. We take these very seriously. Thank you for recognizing Kevin and our valet for their outstanding service. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had ten great days! The staff is outstanding polite and helpful, especially concierge and front desk! There is always a feeling of a personal touch! The hotel is just renovated, the rooms are really cosy and well designed and we would come back anytime!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank jumbocaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for a great review about our Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are very happy to see you experienced our Resort as we had hoped. We enjoy making our guests feel like family. Our renovation was completed in May 2013 and features an outstanding array of updates. We welcome you to return and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just got back from a week's stay at the Sonesta. As other reviewers have noted, the renovation of the hotel is incredible and very tastefully done, and the guest rooms have all the modern amenities. A pleasant surprise was that the large outdoor pool was still very well heated even into November. Finally, the fabulous appearance of the resort was equalled by the attitude of all the staff we encountered- friendly and helpful without exception. A great stay at a great price- recommended without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Our pools are heated and open year round. They normally stay at a warm 84 degrees. We appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly and helpful without exception. We really hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $155 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing