We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$296
$250
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$399
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$219
$174
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$157
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$165
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$669
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's SurfWatch(Hilton Head)
$639
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,847)
Filter reviews
2,847 results
Traveler rating
2,043
589
151
42
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,043
589
151
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarum spalobby bargift shoppool areashipyard plantationhilton head islandcovered poolzero entrygarden viewbeach accessbike rentalslong weekendbeautiful propertythe entire staffparking lotgreat poollive music
Filter
Updating list...
2,491 - 2,496 of 2,847 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a wonderful resort if you want relaxation in a beautiful, calm environment. We went during the end of October. The beach was beautiful and there was a lot of warm sunshine. It was like a bit of the Islands right here in the states.

The staff was outstanding, the food was great, the entire resort was immaculate and I can not wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Pick the best room you can afford. I stayed in the lower price room and it had everything I needed. The room was large and there were even motion detected lights when you stepped out of bed! The bed and breakfast package was a great value. I looked forward to dining in the restaurant.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a nice stay at the Sonesta. The rooms were clean and quiet. We had a room overlooking the pool area and the balcony was a nice place to sit and relax. We initially had a room on the second floor and the balconies were not as nice. Quite narrow and view is blocked by a solid concrete wall. I suppose these would be nice if you had small children. We asked to be moved to the third floor to be able to enjoy the balcony and the quickly moved us with no hassles. We did not eat in the hotel (too many other good options off site) so cannot speak to the quality of restaurants. Very short walk to the beach. Comfy beds, quiet, clean rooms will always get a five from me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked our room via the resorts web site and received an excellent military rate. We had a king standard room which was very spacious with a 46 inch tv, Keurig coffee maker (included coffee and tea pods), sofa bed, small refrigerator (no microwave, though), and a narrow balcony with two chairs and a small table. The resort is located on the Shipyard Plantation (Hilton Head Island) and is secluded as you must go through a security checkpoint to enter the plantation. The plantation consists of private homes, golf courses, tennis courts, and private beach. In fact the beach is just a few steps away from the back of the resort. There are lots of trees and vegetation around the resort and it is beautifully landscaped. Although we did not have kids with us, the resort does a great job entertaining children with various programs. Bicycle rentals and beach equipment rentals are available on the resort. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The resort also has two pools (one is shaded by an overhang) and a hot tub. We had breakfast in the resort restaurant. We were seated at a lovely table on the patio. I ordered oatmeal and fruit ($6.95) and my husband ordered an egg breakfast with hash browns and ham ($10). The total cost of breakfast was very reasonable for a resort. We can't wait to return to this beautiful resort again.

Side note: We ate dinner at the Skull Creek Boathouse on Hilton Head Island, about 20 minutes from the resort. We had a delicious dinner. Be sure to see my TripAdvisor review of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although not to my personal liking, the lovely renovations have returned this hotel to its former glory and then some. Staff is warm and welcoming and very quick to make certain your stay is pleasant, every day you are there.
Rooms are cozy and comfortable. The room now includes a refrigerator but still no microwave. The room's Keurig coffee pot was most disappointig as this machine makes coffee to weak for our preference. Coffee is served in the lobby all day long. And its better coffee. Although I prefer a room with a King bed we got 2 Queens that were just fine. The room is large enough that the 2 beds don't impede comfort.
The gym is almost unchanged since the Crown Plaza days and still needs more equipment for the size of this hotel. There were waiting lines for the treadmills every day. This room is just to small to accomodate the number of guests who want to utilize it. And there isn't enough equipment. Its been like that for all of our 4 stays here.
The "new" pools are lovely as is the new hot tub. The patio and deck areas are very inviting although I personally don't care to sit on the outdoor "bedding" with sheets used by other guests that are located around the pool area. It does offer a nice Carribean feel.
The restaurants are pricey but the food is good and portions are ample. Ambiance is very quiet and the service a bit slow. A very relaxing atmosphere overall. If you have a time schedule, better let the waitstaff know ahead of time. We had no problems with any of our bills as is mentioned in other reviews. They seem to have corrected those issues. I have always enjoyed shopping in the hotel gift shop but the prices are so high now that I just looked. Oh well!
We will definitely look forward to returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaudilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at this property years ago before Sonesta took it over. You would not recognize the property, they did a wonderful job updating. Some of the remodeling touches look a little on the cheap side for the sake of saving a few dollars, but for the most part ... well done. ( We are picky ... a builder and a decorator)

Every member of the staff that we encountered was wonderful. You will be blessed if your first encounter is with Jermaine out front. The bar staff is delightful and goes way out of their way to please.

Our room was quiet and clean and it is always nice to have a large counter in the bathroom that can handle the needs of two.

Breakfast was ok. The buffett would be nice for those with a big appetite, but we chose the menu that suited us. The food was good, but nothing out of the ordinary.

We noticed a few pets on the property, so it is obviously pet friendly.

Easy check-in and check-out with very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews