We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose Sonesta for our 25th Wedding Anniversary destination, based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It really is beautiful, modern and luxurious feeling while being relaxing, also. We knew from the greeting we received from Kate at the front desk, everything would be stellar. She is a fantastic asset for the resort, and we so appreciated her surprising us with strawberries and champagne for our anniversary. We also greatly enjoyed, the server we had in the resort restaurant on September 14th, I forgot her name, it was maybe Rebecca, but she was awesome and she so kindly surprised us with a wonderful dessert, and the chef had written Happy 25th Anniversary on the plate in chocolate, so Sonesta like. Touches like that really made our anniversary trip special, in addition to being on Hilton Head Island. Anca at the front desk and Bobson at Valet parking were also, especially delightful. As far as the rooms, we loved the King corner room, although it would have been nice to have the beach view, the King room was so wonderfully spacious. The motion lights are the best, we have never seen that before, such a great idea. The beds are comfortable and Keurig coffee brewer was nice to have. The location of the resort and proximity to the beach are perfect. We sure wish we'd had more than 6 nights there, and we most certainly will go back to Sonesta. Can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    533
    139
    36
    21
See reviews for
783
959
52
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The resort is beautiful since their remodel. The room choices are looking at pool, looking at resort/parking lot or at end of the 'U'. We were at end of 'U' on 3rd floor over bike rentals and it was probably best room there for us. I don't think any view is bad, major thing to know is 1st floor/ground has no balcony, just walk out to patio, 2nd & 5th have walls for balcony (no see-thru rails) so just pick what works for you. The grounds are nice with hammocks. Can't really see the beach but that wasn't really bad to us.

Staff at front desk will work with you, if you ask. Some are better being proactive and helpful. Did not eat onsite as we had a vehicle so nearby is Giuseppis and Gelato. Also rented bikes and rode miles on the beach and trails - very nice.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: 1st floor has patio, 2nd/5th have walls for balcony, 3rd and 4th have rails for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priceless_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days to get away and refresh. Arrived there and checked in without a problem, got an executive king corner room that was HUGE. Didn't realize how big it would be. If you don't like to be cramped in a traditional room, get this room. It had a king (you can also get 2 queen) beds and a sleeper sofa with ottoman. It's almost like having what some of these hotels call a suite. In the room, there's a Keurig coffee brewer. They supply coffee but I brought my own K cups to make sure I liked the flavor. The only bad thing I have to say about this place is the Heywards restaurant. I was the ONLY person in the whole restaurant and service was slow and the steak tasted pretty good, but was dry.. from that point on, I ate at a different restaurant outside the hotel at each meal. There are plenty of choices close by, and whatever cuisine you desire. Access to the private beach was easily accessible. The staff of the hotel were always outgoing and asked if I needed help from the bellman to the general manager. I'm glad I didn't pay extra for an ocean or garden view, it would have been nice, but I didn't stay in the room long enough. Even though I couldn't see the ocean, I sat on the balcony late in the evening and could hear the waves hitting the beach. The hotel was pretty full and up close parking was not easy to come by, which wasn't a big deal because I didn't mind the walk and felt secure after the first day. I also noticed handicapped parking was full every night, also. Valet parking is available and I suggest it if you can't walk very far. The Shipyard area has 24 hour security and the gate is manned. They check vehicle permits every time and every car. I recommend this resort highly (except the restaurant) and would go back again. If you're a golfer, there are 24 courses close by to play. One course is close to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you opt for an ocean or garden view, get an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my89pickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the king executive room accommodation. Although the corner executive rooms only come in kings, this room adds an additional 50sq ft in accommodation which allows for a more spacious and relaxing stay. There are several room types available at the Sonesta Resort with various views from the balcony so please feel free to contact us directly for the best choice for your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience in Heyward’s and will be sure to improve on our services. In the future if you would require assistance in locating a good parking area, please pull up to the front of the hotel and our Bell Services team will be happy to assist you. We work closely with The Heritage Collection to provide the most competitive golf rates and courses. Don’t forget to call or stop by the Concierge Desk for a discount before you head out to the courses. Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The resort is beautiful, clean modern and luxurious feeling. It's highlight are the staff - every single interaction we had was a pleasure from the moment we checked in. Kate on front desk was elegant and charming, Marea the bar manager was an exemplar of knowledge and service excellence - I was so impressed with her and with her manager who had no qualms in clearing tables or getting wine from the cellar. The bed was soooooo comfortable I didn't ever want to get out of it. Definitely recommend and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment regarding our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize Kate at the Front Desk, Marea at Bayley’s and our bar manager. We take pride in the service we offer our guests and are excited to know your stay was excellent. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our new bedding! We think the ultimate reason for a getaway is to get a good night’s sleep as well as a good sleep in and it seems like we succeeded! Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We can not wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta over Labor Day weekend (myself, husband and 3 year old daughter). It was a wonderful stay and we wished it could've lasted longer. The hotel is tucked away under the Spanish Oaks of Shipyard plantation. The grounds of Shipyard are majestic. We wished we had time to take a relaxing bike ride through the property. Next time! The hotel is beautifully updated. Nice modern vibe, comfortable lobby, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel. Expensive, but worth it to not have to drive somewhere. Nice breakfast buffet, and the omelets on the menu are delicious. Young kids were included in the buffet with a paying parent. Nice lunch choices as well. We ate poolside one day and in the restaurant one day. A little on the pricier side, but you typically pay more to dine at the resort rather than a restaurant. The location could not be more perfect. The hotel sits on the beach, so it's just a short walk away with bathrooms at the entrance to the boardwalk (a must for kids). We rented beach chairs and an umbrella, so we didn't need to bother with carrying tons of stuff with us. Nice, but the chairs are a little old and rickety. The beach was not overly crowded, but this was the beginning of the off season. The pool is fantastic. Nice large towels to use, comfortable chairs and plenty of shade. The zero entry pool was amazing with a little one. There are kids activities scheduled every day including a babysitter service if you want a little alone time. A wonderful experience. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We paid the lowest price and got a room that looked at the parking lot. Not the best of views, obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chertz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and great to know you will definitely be returning! We are fortunate to be tucked away in beautiful Shipyard plantation, a gated community closest to many of the activities on Hilton Head Island. The drive from the gate to the Resort will whisk you away to a beautifully renovated 4 diamond resort where our Bellmen will greet you with warm Southern Hospitality. Once you arrive to our resort, it is our intention to have you relax and enjoy so you do not have to leave property. Even the beach chairs which are rented through an out sourced vendor can be charged back to your room for your convenience. We are glad to hear you were able to experience the amenities and activities we have to offer during your stay. Thank you for your comments and look we forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazing resort, friendly staff, awesome pool and beach area!!! We loved our recent stay! Hotel was beautiful and so "upscale" -room was spacious and comfortable, pool was great, staff were all very friendly and willing to help, even had activities by the hour for the kids--so pleased!! Would go back for sure and recommend to all!!

Room Tip: Our room was parking lot facing, would have loved a room facing the pool for a "prettier"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moved2charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristwon, TN
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have been to this resort for several years, even when it was Crowne Plaza before Sonesta acquired it. We have always enjoyed the beautiful grounds, wonderful restaurants and all amenities. Wow! How beautiful it is now! They just completed a $30 million renovation and it is amazing! The bell boy told me each room cost $80,000 to redo. Everything is completely redone. This resort is absolutely beautiful! The beach is great, the rooms are first class, and staff is gracious and friendly. Beach towels are furnished so don't worry about bringing those and having to keep them clean and dry! There are 3 restaurants. The breakfast is wonderful and the poolside grill is great for a hamburger and fresh fruit, not to mention great frozen cocktails on a warm day. There are on-site bike rentals, as well. You could honestly stay here and not need to leave the grounds for anything!

Room Tip: I would suggest garden view, otherwise you may have a view of the parking lot. The trees are so tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
270 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing