We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Renovation Was No Lipstick on a Pig”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This Renovation Was No Lipstick on a Pig”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just had a wonderful stay at the Sonesta in Hilton Head. I stayed here two years ago when it was the aging Crowne Plaza. I didn't plan to return to the property but other TripAdvisor reviews discussed how nice it was after the renovation. I was truly impressed. This wasn't a little makeover. They erased all signs of the Crowne Plaza, thank goodness. The rooms were completely redone and are very nicely appointed. The bathrooms have a large back lit mirror and new toilets and fixtures. There is a large (I think 46 in) flat screen TVs in the room. The lobby area is also very nice. The hotel is done up in a very tasteful taupe and white color scheme throughout. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great job with the renovations. This is where we will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your return visit. We are very excited about the outcome of our renovation and happy to hear you were impressed by our finished product! As you can remember from your previous stay, it is quite the transformation with much brighter colors throughout the resort which adds a fresh and clean feel. Our new motion sensor night light under the night stand, 46" TVs, refrigirators, and the back lit mirror in the bathroom are some nice new features added to our newly renovated guest rooms. We hope you had a chance to spend some time at our bar, Bayley's which is now in the lobby, featuring happy hours and wine tasting during the week. Thank you so much for recognizing our staff for their helpfulness and friendliness. We look forward to your next visit to Sonesta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    520
    135
    35
    19
See reviews for
738
934
51
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First class place to stay at reasonable rates, the renovations gives the place that very "new" and "modern" look. The staff are friendly and efficient, always with a smile. The location is easy toreach relative to other parts of the island. Rooms are big and comfortable, the pools are large and great for family stays, a short walk to the beach. We will return. As mentioned
by others - yea the shampoo does flow a bit slow in the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I received a massage from Lizzie at the Sonesta Spa yesterday, and it was fantastic. Hands down the best massage I have ever had. The spa is really nice. Everything was super clean, and the personnel were very friendly. At the end of the massage you receive a soothing foot soak and a glass of champagne! This spa is small, but top notch and very well run. I intend to go back for a facial.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It would be difficult to use all the superlatives that could describe our four nights at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. I started researching a nice hotel in a great location. We hadn't been to Hilton Head in several years, so I focused on HH. I wasn't familiar with the Sonesta Resort there until a special deal showed up in a Travelzoo newsletter. The pics looked great, and the price was right, so I decided to take a chance. We arrived on Labor Day evening...........the holiday crowds were gone, and we almost had the place to ourselves. When I mentioned we were celebrating our 35th anniversary, the delightful young woman at the front desk upgraded us to room with an amazing view. Because a thunderstorm had rolled in, we decided to have dinner at the Seacrest, their casual dining restaurant, instead of venturing out in the downpour. The service and food were amazing, and they even served complimentary champagne and a delicious chocolate cake decorated with "Happy 35th Anniversary." The hotel was recently remodeled from top to bottom, and it looks like a world class resort on the Travel Channel. I have never dealt with such attentive and friendly staff..........even the housekeeping staff had ear-to-ear smiles and warm greetings. The pool area is so much more than a typical beachfront pool......hammocks, cabanas, a lagoon with a fountain and even more. With the lighting at night, the area is downright magical. After a multi-night hotel stay we are usually ready to get back home, but after our visit to the Sonesta Resort, we truly didn't want to leave. We're already planning our next family reunion at the nicest place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We'reAlmostThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! We are honored to know you chose to stay with us to celebrate such a special occasion! Our goal at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is to embrace our guests as individuals. Your anniversary stay gave us a wonderful opportunity to thank you for allowing us to celebrate your 35th anniversary together. We are glad to hear your room was upgraded to a beautiful view and your dinner experience was excellent. We are very excited about our newly renovated property and happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities. Thank you for considering us for your next family reunion. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our Sales Department so we may accommodate your needs as you plan your next trip back. Thank you and congratulations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've often traveled 180 days a year. This was celebrating our 35 yr anniversary and it was our best vacation ever...perfect beach...perfect room...perfectly beautiful hotel...great food on the Friday night buffet...and poolside sandwiches also...no crowds...great walk right onto the wide white beach..perfect weather...perfect service...beautifully remodeled...great concierge recommendations...Friday night movie by the pool was so fun...cozy hammacks and pavilions and poolside loungers. I earned the points with the wife! We were just sad to go back home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Widelytraveled57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this resort twice this year. The renovation by the Sonesta is absolutely beautiful. Everything in the rooms is brand new and very modern. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, complete with a bar and live music. There are hammocks around the grounds for lounging, as well as direct access to the beach. The staff was amazing on both of our visits. There is no other place we will stay when visiting Hilton Head!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great hotel! Staff was warm and friendly. Since we were here after the summer rush, the pool was not crowded, very relaxed. It was our first visit to Hilton Head. We will definitely be back and will absolutely stay at the Sonesta. It helped make our 25th wedding anniversary trip a memorable one!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing