We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head to attend a wedding. While some hotels use "Resort" in their name, this one really qualifies as one. It has everything - pool, beach, restaurants, etc. and the property is spotless. The staff is very friendly and quite helpful. Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Rather than smaller flat screens, each room has a 42" HDTV and the light sensors when you get up in the middle of the night is a great idea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay while attending a wedding over the weekend. It is our goal to consistently create a memorable experience and we appreciate your acknowledgement regarding the service provided by the staff and the amenities our Resort has to offer. Our Smart TVs are 46” so you can kick back and relax while you watch your favorite shows. We are quite excited about our motion sensor night lights and glad to hear you enjoyed it too. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,431)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,175 - 2,181 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel caters mostly to families with children, so if you are looking for romantic couples vacation you will be disappointed. Facilities are ok, there is only one restaurant full of running children so nice and quit dinner is out of question. In 8 days of our stay we ate here only first night and rest of it we opted for room service which the food was quite good, but other days we had to drive out which left always one person enjoying water with dinner off course. We booked king deluxe room with direct ocean view but we overlooked mostly pool, which is pretty small and very crowded. When we went to the beach we found out that beach chairs and umbrellas are not provided by the hotel, which I have never seen at other resorts that claim 4 stars. The best part of the hotel are the people that work here and try to accommodate your needs, but on my next stay I wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor which is the 5th since others are obstructed with trees and the side buildi...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during Labor Day weekend. We hate to disappoint and are sorry to hear your getaway was less than perfect. During major holidays and summer breaks, Hilton Head Island is a popular destination for family vacation. Selection of outdoor activities and water sports make Hilton Head an ideal getaway for all age groups. Beach chair rentals are available through Shore Beach Services, and for your convenience, you may charge the items straight to your room. If you opt to bring your own chairs and umbrellas you are more than welcome to do so. As the fall season approaches and the children are back in school, the island embraces a more relaxed atmosphere, ideal for a romantic getaway. Even taking a day trip to Historic Savannah or Charleston will create beautiful memories as you stroll under the southern Spanish moss. Please keep us in mind for great deals through the fall and winter season. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly front desk staff let us look at a room first, EVERYTHING updated. Checked this out because rated #1 on Tripadvisor after rejecting a Marriot spa property based on room inspection. Very modern rooms with great: beds, TV, George Jetson nite lights.... Automatic motion detector when you jump out of bed at nite, new bathrooms, and modern coffee maker. Only drawback is you have to go for short walk to beach and pool is not integrated with the whole beach experience. That's a minor downside.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GormandizerAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay and appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Our 46” Smart TV allows you to relax in your room after a long day at the beach, and the motion sensor night light helps to light the way. If you decide to take a stroll on the beach in the morning, make a cup of coffee or tea with our Keurig brewer to enjoy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went here for our anversary. We were very impressed when we checked in two days before our anversary I mentioned to staff that it was our anversary that coming Saturday, and that evening when we got in from being out most of day, the stafff had provided us with a very nice bottle of wine, a fruit and cheese tray! It was delicious and very much appreciated by us! It made our stay even better. The resort staff was very kind and considerate. The room was very clean!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about the Sonesta Resort! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed all the amenities that we have to offer. Our resort strives to be a “world class” resort, and we are glad our staff could provide you with such great service. Our employees are committed to giving you the best experience possible, and we are glad that we could do that for you. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort is really, really nice. Even though you're about three minutes from a major road, you feel like you're on a tropical island, at a nice resort. They've added all kinds of new stuff, from decorations to many upgrades. Really a nice place to stay, very quiet, great food, nice rooms, and they've added a spa.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limespider676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had never been to Hilton Head before (Myrtle Beach yes) & when picking a hotel I was concerned with what to choose - we stayed at Sonesta and wow was it amazing super friendly staff, clean, beautiful view, bathroom near ocean, Areas to "clean sand off" it was gorgeous I would recommend it to anyone and we plan on returning next year! I consider myself a pretty picky person (have gone to the ocean for 20+ years every summer) usually to Virginia Beach but sure glad we chose Hilton Head and Sonesta! Congrats to ALL!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms awesome you can sit on your balcony during the afternoon for a break from beach an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your special occasion! We are so glad you enjoyed the resort during your stay. Our staff is committed to making your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our spa. Thank you again for your positive comments, and we cannot wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family enjoyed the beach, pool, cabanas and great staff at Sonesta in July. The pool is small but our grandson enjoyed the slow entry for children. The indoor pool was very dirty one afternoon, but staff took care of it when we showed them. The beach was busy with lots of families. We thought the chair/umbrella rental was nice, but pricey.
The rooms don't have ocean view , so do not pay extra. If you are hoping for the dual functioning chair bed , make sure you request before arriving. The website leads you to believe that all queen/queen rooms come with one. The front desk staff gave us a free rollaway instead, but it takes up lots of space. We liked the refrig in room. Staff was always friendly and helpful.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: High floor on end so you can use the stairs to get to the pool and beach quickly.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbug914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $192 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing