We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW NEW NEW Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“NEW NEW NEW Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly front desk staff let us look at a room first, EVERYTHING updated. Checked this out because rated #1 on Tripadvisor after rejecting a Marriot spa property based on room inspection. Very modern rooms with great: beds, TV, George Jetson nite lights.... Automatic motion detector when you jump out of bed at nite, new bathrooms, and modern coffee maker. Only drawback is you have to go for short walk to beach and pool is not integrated with the whole beach experience. That's a minor downside.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GormandizerAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay and appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Our 46” Smart TV allows you to relax in your room after a long day at the beach, and the motion sensor night light helps to light the way. If you decide to take a stroll on the beach in the morning, make a cup of coffee or tea with our Keurig brewer to enjoy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    486
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
699
889
50
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lillington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went here for our anversary. We were very impressed when we checked in two days before our anversary I mentioned to staff that it was our anversary that coming Saturday, and that evening when we got in from being out most of day, the stafff had provided us with a very nice bottle of wine, a fruit and cheese tray! It was delicious and very much appreciated by us! It made our stay even better. The resort staff was very kind and considerate. The room was very clean!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the Sonesta Resort! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed all the amenities that we have to offer. Our resort strives to be a “world class” resort, and we are glad our staff could provide you with such great service. Our employees are committed to giving you the best experience possible, and we are glad that we could do that for you. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort is really, really nice. Even though you're about three minutes from a major road, you feel like you're on a tropical island, at a nice resort. They've added all kinds of new stuff, from decorations to many upgrades. Really a nice place to stay, very quiet, great food, nice rooms, and they've added a spa.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limespider676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beardstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had never been to Hilton Head before (Myrtle Beach yes) & when picking a hotel I was concerned with what to choose - we stayed at Sonesta and wow was it amazing super friendly staff, clean, beautiful view, bathroom near ocean, Areas to "clean sand off" it was gorgeous I would recommend it to anyone and we plan on returning next year! I consider myself a pretty picky person (have gone to the ocean for 20+ years every summer) usually to Virginia Beach but sure glad we chose Hilton Head and Sonesta! Congrats to ALL!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms awesome you can sit on your balcony during the afternoon for a break from beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your special occasion! We are so glad you enjoyed the resort during your stay. Our staff is committed to making your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our spa. Thank you again for your positive comments, and we cannot wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family enjoyed the beach, pool, cabanas and great staff at Sonesta in July. The pool is small but our grandson enjoyed the slow entry for children. The indoor pool was very dirty one afternoon, but staff took care of it when we showed them. The beach was busy with lots of families. We thought the chair/umbrella rental was nice, but pricey.
The rooms don't have ocean view , so do not pay extra. If you are hoping for the dual functioning chair bed , make sure you request before arriving. The website leads you to believe that all queen/queen rooms come with one. The front desk staff gave us a free rollaway instead, but it takes up lots of space. We liked the refrig in room. Staff was always friendly and helpful.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: High floor on end so you can use the stairs to get to the pool and beach quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbug914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service bar at the sonesta near the lobby is not very friendly. The lady working the bar the first night we were there was sarcastic and not helpful. The other day one of the bar tenders was an older gentleman that was almost annoyed that I asked for a drink. I guess we saved some money with that service level. Breakfast service was complete chaos. They brought you to a table and then for the server to come and take your order for coffee/tea/water would take over 15 minutes. And even when they would come they will take half the order then rush away. Someone else will then bring you the coffee and yet someone else will bring the milk. There were dozens of servers running around but they would not check back if you needed something. It was a busy weekend but all they had to do was assign a server and have them check on you every so often. Doesn't sound that complicated does it ?

By the way the front desk and the parking attendants were great. Housekeepers were ok.

Room Tip: get a room near the elevators/lobby shaft. The trek/walk to our room took almost 5 minutes from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravelerCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, 6yr old, newborn, and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was spotless and very nicely appointed. The room that we had featured a king sized bed and a sleeper sofa. The hotel provided a clean and sturdy crib for our baby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This resort is highly recommended. Lastly, the hotel grounds were clean, green, and lush (tropical looking trees and plants). The staff was professional!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your visit to Hilton Head! We are also glad to hear that you have enjoyed the pool area, as well as our food and drinks. Our entire staff strives to give our guests the best customer service possible. We are excited to hear we have become your go to place on Hilton Head!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing