We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Nearby Hotels
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$186
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
$69
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$271
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$192
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,761)
Filter reviews
2,761 results
Traveler rating
1,967
580
151
41
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,967
580
151
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarum spalobby barshipyard plantationhilton head islandpool areagift shopcovered poolgrounds are beautifulzero entrybeach accessgarden viewbike rentalslong weekendparking lotthe entire staffgreat poollive music
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,535 - 2,540 of 2,761 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The service staff is amazing! We arrived to this resort by fluke. It was a stopover on our trip from Florida back to Canada. The staff realized how tired my husband looked from travelling and provided a very reasonable rate for our stay. The hotel has completely been refurbished by the Sonesta group, and is beautiful, modern and clean feeling. The pool area is nice and big to lounge around or take a dip. The ocean beach is a long stretch of shallow entry warm water. Breathtaking and perfect for biking, jogging, fishing, boogie boarding, dolphin spotting, and searching for sand dollars. We initially planned only to stay one night, and ended up sleeping here for three. A great family spot
in beautiful Hilton head. It was really fun seeing and feeding all of the turtles in the pond on site. Thank you Charlie for your good recommendations, and staff for taking such good care of us. Your hospitality meant a great deal in making our stay so enjoyable. We can't wait to come back! Next time, with our golf clubs and tennis rackets.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackinnon1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you very much for you wonderful review. We are so happy you found our hotel and stopped by on your way back to Canada. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities and ended up extending your stay to 3nights! Our turtle feeding is a popular activity for families, even for the adults. Thank you for noting the service provide by Charlie. We are truly fortunate to have such dedicated team of staff working for us to create a memorable guest experience. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that has been completely remodeled in the last year. Very clean, the beds were very comfortable, modern decor, great pools, delicious refreshing water with fresh fruit slices, nice exercise room, friendly service, and much more! Our whole family would vote to come back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We can’t wait to have you and your family return for another fun and relaxing stay! Our Housekeeping and Engineering team works hard to upkeep a clean and refreshing atmosphere. We appreciate you recognizing their efforts. For future visits, don’t forget to join Travel Pass to start earing your points towards a reward night stay. Thank you for your positive comments about our recent renovation and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not only was the island amazing, but so was the hotel. The ocean was very warm, about 80 degrees every day. The sand where the water goes up to high tide was hard, but where it didn't go, it was almost like powder. Usually, the pool was very crowded but the water was very warm too. We played golf twice at the Shipyard Plantation golf club, and the Clipper course was really nice. Some other things you can do besides golfing and swimming is biking (I highly recommend it), going for a run on the paths, ocean fishing, and looking for alligators. If you see any signs for alligators, they are actually telling the truth. In the ponds in the plantation there are real alligators. This resort is no doubt the #1 place to stay in Hilton Head.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear the weather was nice during your stay. It certainly does make a difference when you are vacationing on an island where outdoor activities are very popular! Yes, we are in the south and you may encounter a few alligators around the lagoon and yes, they are real. It is true then you see the sign “Do not feed the alligators” so please follow the sign! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one beautiful resort. Everything you need or want in a beach getaway is here for you. Large beach, gorgeous pool, hammocks, water fountains, bikes, ping-pong, cabanas, outdoor showers, and beautiful manicured landscaping.
Room is spacious and highly upgraded.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriDmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This resort is both classy and modern. It is very clean and well maintained. The pool area is nicely laid out and the beach is only a short walk from behind the hotel. We had two double beds, and the room size was average. The enitre staff of the hotel were all very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in picking out the best restaurants and for finding activites for our family. Loved it! We will definitely be back to stay at the Sonesta!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRNJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews