We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Much improved” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Much improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel has had a fantastic remodeling make over. Customer service is exceptional. I highly recommend this resort. All employees are dedicated to providing outstanding service to assure customer has a memoriable experience.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our recent renovations. We are committed to providing our guests with great customer service, and we are glad to hear that they have made a positive impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    447
    121
    31
    17
See reviews for
649
809
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a weekend at the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island. Neither of us had ever been to Hilton Head so we had to base our choice on all of the really positive reviews they already had. Sonesta is basically brand new after an extensive renovation within the last few years. Their pool is a superbly relaxing area with a bar and grill as well. We probably spent an entire day just reading, soaking, and counting our tan lines.

There are also plenty of extras you can partake in at the resort. Rental bikes, excursions, and lots of family friendly activities for kids. Plus a great spa and massage area upstairs which we both recommend.

Their food is also very well done at both of their main restaurants off the lobby.

Overall, we came back from our trip refreshed and ready for the rest of the year. They provided a much needed vacation.

Room Tip: The pool area can be loud at night so do not stay off the pool courtyard if you want to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The renovations that have been made to this hotel are fantastic! The lobby and pool are beautiful. Not exactly on the beach, but just a very short walk. Lunch by the pool was very good and reasonably priced. Rented bikes are available next to the pool. They had live music by the pool, very enjoyable. Brought 2 teenagers with us and they cannot wait to go back. Front desk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaJ517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your kind words about our recent renovation. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the pool area. The front desk appreciates your comments as well, and we are glad that we left a positive impression with you. Thank you again for sharing your excitement about the resort, and we hope that you come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. Easy access to beach is real nice. The pool is family friendly. On Friday night they showed a movie on a big screen for the kids while they enjoyed the pool. I understand they just had a $30 million renovation. Others that had stayed there before were amazed at the great changes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsmithsc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this resort one year ago and wanted to circle back with an update. At that time I found this to be a functional but relatively modest property but I was aware Sonesta has planned a multi-million dollar renovation project last winter. Two words: Mission Accomplished! The color scheme is terrific, in the rooms, in the pool area, lobby, throughout the entire property. Cabanas being available on a first-come, first-served basis is a nice amenity. Loved the 46-inch HDTV in the room, and it's the first time I've seen motion sensor floor nightlights, an excellent convenience. This is a total makover and is now the equal of the other three resorts on the island. Excellent location in the heart of Hilton Head. I liked what they did with the bar, moving it to the open space of the lobby so even when it's not crowded you don't get a sense it is necessarily "empty" like the perception you'd receive in its previous stand-alone location. The owenership group conducted its due diligence and the results speak for themselves. The only reasons I am not giving this 5 stars is because there is only one bak of elevators and if guests are assigned rooms on the outer periphery (as we were) it can be quite a walk. Also, the exterion stairwells and stairwell signage could use refreshing. Otherwise, congrats to Sonesta, we'll stay there again. Great staff too.

Room Tip: Ask to be nearthe lone bank of elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Was overall pleased with resort and decor. Nice modern decor. Our TV in our room kept not working but we finally got it to work. The pool is nice and beach was beautiful. Wish you didn't have to pay for seats on the beach kinda dumb. Also should of had more places to get towels maybe on the beach too. The outside patio areas were very comfy and nice to sit on outside in the evening. We ate at the restaurant in hotel first evening not impressed. Loved the snow cone and hot dog stand very convenient if you didn't wanna come all the way back in from the resort. Would go back good quality for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very helpful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Resort. There are still a few improvements to be made, as we are a new resort. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as they help us maintain our Four-Diamond standards. We hope to see you again for your next visit to Hilton Head!
Thank you again, The Sonesta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a beautiful resort with both sun and shade pools and less then a blocks walk to the beach. Room was large and well appointed. Staff was very friendly. Gift shop had a nice assortment of items. Food seemed a little expensive. We only had a flatbread at the hotel. it was okay but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sonesta Resort! We are delighted to hear that James and Monica were able to leave you with a positive impression. We strive to go above and beyond for our guests here at the resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom hangers, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing