We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff! Great food. Better than Before!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed on the grounds of the Sonesta when it was previously the Crowne Plaza. I must say, new management has made great improvements. I loved relaxing in the cabanas and hammocks. It wasn't too crowded. The orange décor truly livens the place. BEST OF ALL . . . was the food and beverage manager, David Hussey . . . what a sweetheart! I left my personal blender at home in order to make health shakes twice a day prescribed by my physician. When David Hussey learned of my need, the next morning I found his personal blender in my room for my medical use until check out. What a blessing! I needed these drinks to help with my depleted energy. I rested well. No hallway commotion. Maid service was friendly and very respectful of the DND door hanger. By check-out, I was beginning to feel good again, and felt like I had actually rested. From friendly Eric (who checked me in), to the nice bartender who mixed my first prescribed shake, helpful Janice Edwards, Dian, and all of the other staff. God bless you, and I look forward to returning soon!! Big Hugs! Oh, room service was superb! I had a vegetarian meal. It was WONDERFUL!!!!! (I need the recipe.) K.C-S from Atlanta

Room Tip: If you're older, ask for a room closer to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your recent business travel. We appreciate your kind comments about our wonderful staff, David, Eric, Janice and Diane. We are committed to accommodating our individual guest requests, and we are glad to hear your medical needs were well taken care of. Thank you for also recognizing our Housekeeping staff who respected your DND. We will be waiting with open arms for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,452 - 2,458 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Secluded and relaxing! Very friendly and attentive staff. Wonderful clean room with great ocean view. Well lit hallways and elevators. Open lobby with seating is welcoming and attractive. Great restaurant with comfortable seating. Excellent food! Attractive pool area with comfortable chairs, umbrellas, clean towels, and refreshing cold clothes. GREAT VACATION!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island!. We are very happy with our newly designed lobby and appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are excited to hear your experience in our restaurant was comfortable, followed with great food. We are always trying out new ideas so we hope to surprise you with future specials. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have a child with Special needs, so travel can sometimes be a little tricky, we love our vacations so planning and finding the right place is crucial. We picked the Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head Island because it was less then 3 hours from our home compared to our 9 hour florida vacation last year. We arrived and the resort was everything you see on the website, absolutely beautiful, everything is clean manicured and new.The people working there treated us so nicely and made sure we had an accessible room for our child, everyone that works at the resort were so kind, friendly, smiling and willing to help. we felt so special, we spent most days at the pool and the beautiful beach which they provide towels for, we rented an umbrella and 2 chairs $14.00 a day. we did most of our meals @ the hotel which was a little expensive but the service and the food were outstanding everytime. on our last day the concierge recommended station 300 which was a brand new entertainment complex, it has bowling,movie thaters,restaurants,arcades, just a whole lot of family fun, its about 30 min drive away from the resort. for dinner she recommended The Black Marlin, she also called ahead and let them know our child was in a wheelchair, upon arrival , the restaurant directed us to handicapped parking and a ramp that led right to our seat facing the water on there outdoor patio, The food was delicious and our server was fast and pleasant. I also have to mention, Sonesta has keurigs in there rooms and feather beds, and you can rent bikes right there on the property, its a beautiful getaway.

Room Tip: ask for a pool patio room, to die for, live bands @ the pool and the bar is AWESOME !!!!!! but once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acooke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we are happy to hear we were able to accommodate your needs whilst on vacation. Our Concierge team is always looking for ways to recommend the best activities or dining options for our guests. We are glad to hear you had an excellent experience even off property. Thank you so much for sharing your excitement with us and we hope you will choose us again for your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This resort has it all, modern facilities, great people and service from bellhops/doormen to front desk and restaurant and housekeeping staff. All A+. A variety of rooms and views, whatever your pleasure. It is very family friendly so expect children to be around and living up the resort. The beach access is easy and nice. The pool is great, The prices at the pool grill are reasonable. The Heyward has some buffet nights (we chose elsewhere on Island). Seems like a nice restaurant. Parking- they have FREE Self parking!! They do not have free morning coffee (ugh). They may have a package for breakfast and some other amenities but I would not lock myself into that stuff. Just buy the coffee (or better yet they should have it out free). Having to pay cash for chairs and an umbrella to an outside vendor at the beach is strange. The pool could use some more shaded areas, there is plenty now but there all gobbled up.
The rooms are nice, bathrooms, TVs etc all functional and modern. Some rooms, may be all rooms have some louder noise filter through the walls.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that has a connector door to another room, the sound comes through easier. A r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and thank you for the nice Trip Advisor comment! We pride our resort on exceptional guest service, and we are happy to hear that your encounter with our staff was great! For your convenience, parking is included in the Resort Facilities Fee and valet parking is also available at an additional charge if you would like to drive up front and have our bellmen take care of you while on vacation! The beach chair and umbrella rentals are available through a town concession. You are able to charge the chairs and umbrellas to your room so you do not have to carry cash. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again to try our Seafood Buffet on the weekend and our lovely Champagne Brunch on Sundays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great private secluded resort. Very friendly, clean! Great rooms, comfy bed, great pool and drinks! Kalvingston was great he is PM service manager. Watch out for jelly fish in ocean! The burgers were pretty good as well!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brpbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your recognition of Kalvinston. The entire staff at the Sonesta Resort is committed to delivering the best service to all guests and we are glad to hear you had a great stay! Thank you for trying out our drinks and food at our pool bar Sweet Cane. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our burgers in particular! It is likely to encounter jelly fish in the ocean during later July through August, so we appreciate the heads up. Please note the lifeguards on the beach as well as our staff are well trained to treat the stings if it happens. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first stay at this resort and we were very pleased with the room. Beautiful furniture, décor and everything was first class! Very clean resort and the pools were nice too. Everything was top-notch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We are excited to hear your enjoyed your first stay with us! We are very happy with our new look throughout the resort and glad you had a chance to enjoy. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Called hotel several times before checking in to get appropriate room for handicapped son with no returned calls therefore at check in hotel Unable to accommodate promised handicapped appropriate room, dirty room when we checked in with dirty tissues scattered in room and dirty sheets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlohatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are committed to proving an excellent guest experience as well as cleanliness standards that meets our four diamond rating. We are sorry to hear we did not deliver on our promoise and apologize for your experience. If there are any concerns during your stay, please note there is a Manager On Duty 24hrs a day to ensure you have a point of contact to address your concerns. This way we will have an opportunity to provide you with alternative resolution to improve your stay while at the resort. We understand there are many choices for lodging and hope to deserve your return business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
808 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $152 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing