We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come back here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was not our first choice for HHI, but overall impression is good. We were pleased with the atmosphere, remodeling, and friendly staff.
Get used to screaming children everywhere near the pool. Even in the hotel. This is a kid friendly zone, adult couples beware. Beach is a 4 minute walk through nice landscaping. Food was good, this is a nice 3.5 star property. We would come back

Room Tip: Don't bother getting an ocean view room....the view will be partial to blocked at best. Stay aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,429 - 2,435 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Best hotel on the island. The service is excellent from check in to check out. There was a fire alarm during our stay and they handled it professionally and quickly. The house keepers were very cordial and efficient. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was very please with this hotel, staff was friendly, and assisted in going beyond their means to please you. Had a problem with the air vent blowing directly on me when I was sleeping and the office had someone up there right away to fix it the next day. Then had a problem with the safe not working and right away the problem was fixed. Very clean, and again just please with the whole experience of the hotel. Beach was close enough to walk just a short distance to it.

Room Tip: Was on the top floor which was the 5th and had no problems at all getting to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelwatchjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review regarding our staff’s attentiveness. We are glad to hear your concerns were addressed immediately and corrected with efficiency. Our goal is to provide an excellent guest experience and we are happy to hear you were impressed with our response. We will continue to ensure our rooms are prepared to perfection and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our visit to the The Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina last week was more than enjoyable. The Resort is Beautiful,
the Service from the Valet to the Front Desk, to the Staff in each area of the resort exceeded all of our expectations. The room was spacious, clean, the bathroom was bright & clean, the pool areas were beautiful, the beach was easily accessable and lovely. Any and all request were quickly and efficiently addressed. The attention to detail throughout the resort and the friendliness of the staff made this trip one of the best trips we have taken.

Room Tip: We (3 good friends who travel frequently) were happy to find this resort had beautiful rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are very excited to hear our staff made a great impression during your stay. It is our mission to provide above and beyond service and we are glad you were able to experience the service level we strive to provide our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was my first visit to the resort, but it won't likely be my last. The rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly, and I really have nothing positive things to say about my experience. The seafood buffet is a must try

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackFanJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience! We are glad to hear you will be back to visit us again! In addition to our weekend Seafood Buffet, our Sunday Brunch is a must try as well. We hope you get the chance to indulge in our delicious brunch next time and enjoy the beautiful dessert selection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our business group made a first trip to the Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head, South Carolina last week. The general concensus is that it was one of the best trips we have ever taken, largely due to the excellent service and personal attention of the staff. Our requests were addressed very quickly with attention to detail. The hospitality of the staff was amazing. They remembered us by name and made us feel extremely comfortable. The rooms were first rate, clean with private balconies overlooking a beautiful vacation setting. The food was incredible. We would like to return and highly recommend the Sonesta Resort.

Robert and Cheri Monroe
Carter Distributing Company
Chattanooga, Tn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our goal is to provide an excellent guest experience that matches the beautifully renovated resort. We are excited to hear the staff was helpful and attentive throughout your stay. We appreciate your business and realize the importance of ensuring your meetings are a success. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The golf package we received at Sonesta was out of this world. The people and staff were extremely friendly and it made for a great atmosphere to kick back and enjoy a vacation. The rooms were spacious and great, with a very short walk to the beach. There are so many golf courses to play, I could stay all summer and still not get enough golf.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $147 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing