We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$280
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$146
$132
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$287
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$574
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa(Hilton Head)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's SurfWatch(Hilton Head)
$649
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,894)
Filter reviews
2,894 results
Traveler rating
2,082
596
152
42
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,082
596
152
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarum spalobby bargift shoppool areahilton head islandshipyard plantationcovered poolzero entrygarden viewbeach accessbike rentalslong weekendthe entire staffbeautiful propertyparking lotgreat poollive music
Filter
Updating list...
2,778 - 2,783 of 2,894 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent hotel. All staff was very nice. Sweet Cane's is by the pool with delicious food and drinks. Our four year old daughter loved the pool. The short walk to the beach was nice with a little one. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val154524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your excellent rating on our resort!! We are excited to hear your stay was complimented by the staff, delicious food and drinks! We look forward to expanding our menu and hope you have a chance to come back and visit again! Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed at this lovely property while in Hilton Head for the Georgia Bar meeting on June 21 and 22, 2013.

The hotel has recently undergone a $30 million renovation according to the friendly desk clerk who checked us in. This was our very first visit to this hotel so we cannot compare the before and after. But, the after is splendid. Our room was very nicely appointed and the beds were super comfy. The sparkling bath was nicely designed and appointed.

We ate dinner on Friday night and breakfast on Sunday morning at the hotel restaurant. The food served at both meals was a bit slow in arriving but was well worth the wait. We had a chance to speak with the chef and complimented him on a great menu, fabulous preparation and very nice presentation. We were happy to see him because we really wanted to let someone know just how pleased we were with the restaurant.

The grounds, swimming pool, exercise room, etc., etc., were very nice. The lobby was most inviting with beautifully designed and comfortable furniture throughout. Same holds true with regard to furniture appointments inside and outside the building. Being on the water and an easy walk to the ocean truly completes the atmosphere of this upscale feeling property. One of us had an 80 minute massage in the spa! It was fab!,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sonesta’s goal is to deliver Food is Art to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to personally tell our Chef regarding the excellent presentation and preparation. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more relaxing and pampering stay in the near future! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved it!! We were impressed with the modern accommodations and the friendly staff. Beautiful Resort. Would definitely go back. Beds reminded me of the Ritz ; so comfy!! Pool area was amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpgravlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

We are very excited to hear you enjoyed our new décor and the beds in our room. The bedding is available for purchase if you are interested so please contact us if you wish. We place great emphasis on creating a memorable experience for our guests and we are happy to hear you had an amazing stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The evening Front office staff was quite hospitable especially Frank who worked the evening when I checked in. The doormen made us feel very welcomed. What a beautiful resort! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you very much for recognizing our Front Office staff, especially Frank. Your positive comments go a long way in recognizing our staff for a job well done. We are also glad to hear our doormen were able to greet you with a warm welcome and to be a part of your vacation experience! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful vacation and look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We just stayed at the Sonesta Resort. The hotel was recently remodeled and they did a fantastic job. The hotel has a perfectly fine beach area but the real attraction is that the hotel is directly on a beautiful section of the beach. Service is what really stands out at the Sonesta. All the staff was great. However our highlight was the Executive Chef Nelly. He is an expert on all types of South American foods. He made our family an awesome authentic mexican dinner. We basically told him what types of food we liked (e.g., seafood, chicken) and he created an amazing spread of different appetizers, entrees and a desert. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had - especially at a hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent experience at the Sonesta Resort. The beach is certainly gorgeous on Hilton Head and we are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area. We are glad to hear Chef Nelly was able to create a memorable dining experience customized to your stay. We truly believe in making a difference in each guests’ stay and your comments will be shared with our team as one of our success stories. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews