We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and modern Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Fresh and modern Resort”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at the Sonesta Resort in the beginning of June and were very impressed with the entire resort. We visited the hotel bar and received great service and enjoyed relaxing on the nearby couches that they have set up. Our room was very spacious and thoughtfully decorated. In the morning we visited the restaurant for a delicious breakfast of lox’s and cream cheese. The conclusion of our stay was spent in the Arum spa, Hope Mims and her staff took wonderful care of us. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleHHI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for visiting our new resort and offering your feedback. We are thrilled you loved every element of your stay. We will pass along your positive commentary about Arum Spa to Hope and her ladies. We look forward to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    520
    135
    35
    19
See reviews for
738
934
51
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alpharetta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I chose Hilton Head and the Sonesta for our grand kids' first trip to the beach. We love the island for all the nature and outdoor activities and could not have been happier with our stay. The renovation is incredible. We were greeted by the bell captain who immediately pulled out orange t-shirts for the children giving them the title of Sonesta kids. Check-in was easy and the room was immaculate and spacious. With a 4 year old and 6 year old in tow, we felt safe and cared for in this hotel. There was a refrigerator and a private balcony. Even though we could not see the ocean from our room, we could hear it and feel the breeze coming off the Atlantic.
The pool was the biggest hit of all. I thought we would NEVER get them out of it! The zero res entrance and the squirting fountain made entry easy and fun. The gift shop had cute things and we found an alligator watch and mermaid watch for the kids to remember their vacation (and learn how to tell time,)
Having bikes accessible and a private beach were also great. My husband and I took advantage of the Kids' Club one afternoon (extra fee but worth it!) so we could zip line. Kelly was so nice and made shirts with the kids and took them to the beach and pool.
This was a first class resort hotel. I would recommend it for everyone. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for selecting us as the destination for such a memorable vacation. We are glad you liked the renovation and that your check in was flawless. Safety and taking care of our guests are the two most important things to us. Our outdoor pool area is amazing, and we are glad you loved it. Thanks for recommending us. We can’t wait to have you and your grand kids back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Sonesta Resort in late June, 2013. We had been to the previous version (Crowne Plaza) on two other occasions and always loved it. While we did not think the property needed a renovation, we were really impressed with what has been done to the place! My favorite renovation is the conversion of the indoor pool to a shaded (roofed) outdoor pool. It makes the water in that pool so refreshing and cool at all times of the day and night. Now having seen the renovations, they exceed our expectations and all make the resort really beautiful and special. The concierge staff is truly exceptional. Bunny made sure we had recommendations and reservations for virtually every meal, and each one was terrific. When the fire alarm went off and we had to evacuate for a few minutes, Bunny searched us out to make sure we had everything we needed. She is a jewel! The location on the ocean is superb, and there are plenty of places to walk and bike around the resort. The lobby is comfortable and well appointed. My only suggestion for improvement (and this is really small) is to turn the music down in the business center. We can't wait to get back to the Sonesta. We will never stay anywhere else on Hilton Head Island.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and our room was awesome! The bathroom is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostRetired2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Our newly renovated outdoor shade pool is perfect for the warm climate on Hilton Head Island. Thank you for your kind compliments about our Concierge Bunny. We will make sure your praise is communicated to her directly. We will pass along your commentary about the music in our tech center to our director of guest services so that she may investigate and adjust any automatic settings. We are glad you loved our Oceanside location and comfortable lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Others from Trip Advisor rated this resort highly. We were not disappointed!

This hotel has been completely redone. The rooms were nice, clean, and good size. The service with the exception of a few issues at the restaurant were excellent. Pool was clean, the grounds tropical and the beach wide and clean. Highly recommend this resort when you visit HHI.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCBeach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your new review. We are glad you found our resort so favorable, especially the tropical aura of our outdoor grounds and the spacious pristine beach. We can’t wait to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

EXEMPLARY . . . I have vacationed on the Island for 37 years and have stayed at the hotel on Shipyard (through various management companies and owners) approximately 20 times. The renovation is outstanding, very well comtemplated, and very well executed. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is very inviting, pleasant, and conducive to relaxation and leisure. At my recent stay, I had personal interaction with about 20 employees of the hotel, 1 or more in probably every department. The experience with every single one of those employees was outstanding. The General Manager is ever-present on the grounds and is very social. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, over and above its two other primary competitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robellaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy to hear feedback from some of our repeat guests. It is truly special that you have been visiting this property for so many years, and we can’t thank you enough for enjoying our hotel again to explore our new renovations. We are so pleased you had such excellent interpersonal interactions with so many members of our staff. Thank you for recommending us, we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 18 the wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time . The resort is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Food was good and nice to have the pool and beach right there. We will be back for sure. I will book my next visit for longer . My only negative comment is our standard king room had a horrible view of the roof top of the building below. However the room was so nice and clean it did not matter to us. It even smelled clean .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay, and we are honored to be selected as your destination of choice for such a special occasion. Although the building is designed to provide as many scenic views as possible, next time you visit, please let us know so that we can place you in a room with an exceptional view. Thank you for your compliments about the pool, beach, and food. We can’t wait to have you back to celebrate your 19th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after a long drive from Atlanta. We were welcomed by a great reception team and made to feel important. Check in was easy but our room was not ready, we were a lille early. After a complimentary drink we went to our room a king garden view. Large and perfect overlooking the pool but high enough to be quite quiet. The resort's makeover mean's that everything is pristine. Ate in the restaurant that evening, food great service also very good.
The pool area is large with plenty of loungers, it did get quite full during the day as there were conferences going on and the wives and children used the pool are. However, we had no problem getting settled. The service at the pool is great, staff constantly offering drinks,food, water and even ice cold flannels. The bar is great and the bar staff very obliging. We noticed that all the staff were smiling which suggests a happy team, nothing is too much trouble. Ate breakfast twice but the first time we found the kitchen were struGgling and had to wait about 30 minutes for our choice, better the next day.
If I were to be picky no one told us about happy hour until we accidentally found out by ourselves. A little more info on check in would have been good.
Prices in the bar and restaurant are pretty good for a stylish resort such as this.
The beach is just a two minute stroll via a walkway over the dunes.
We spent 5 days at the resort and did not want to leave.
The place is great and we would not hesitate to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your five star review about your visit to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. The Bellmen and Front Desk team do an incredible job of making our guests feel comfortable and welcome from the moment they arrive. The garden view rooms offer a beautiful view of our lively courtyard. We are glad you enjoyed the delicious food and incredible service at Sweet Canes. We will certainly pass along your feedback about receiving more information at check in with our Guest Services department in order to ensure that all agents are knowledgeable about resort activities and are able to communicate this to all incoming guests. We are glad you were able to appreciate our close proximity to the beach. We look forward to having you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing