We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Experience at Sonesta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Super Experience at Sonesta”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Sonesta Resort in late June, 2013. We had been to the previous version (Crowne Plaza) on two other occasions and always loved it. While we did not think the property needed a renovation, we were really impressed with what has been done to the place! My favorite renovation is the conversion of the indoor pool to a shaded (roofed) outdoor pool. It makes the water in that pool so refreshing and cool at all times of the day and night. Now having seen the renovations, they exceed our expectations and all make the resort really beautiful and special. The concierge staff is truly exceptional. Bunny made sure we had recommendations and reservations for virtually every meal, and each one was terrific. When the fire alarm went off and we had to evacuate for a few minutes, Bunny searched us out to make sure we had everything we needed. She is a jewel! The location on the ocean is superb, and there are plenty of places to walk and bike around the resort. The lobby is comfortable and well appointed. My only suggestion for improvement (and this is really small) is to turn the music down in the business center. We can't wait to get back to the Sonesta. We will never stay anywhere else on Hilton Head Island.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and our room was awesome! The bathroom is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostRetired2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Our newly renovated outdoor shade pool is perfect for the warm climate on Hilton Head Island. Thank you for your kind compliments about our Concierge Bunny. We will make sure your praise is communicated to her directly. We will pass along your commentary about the music in our tech center to our director of guest services so that she may investigate and adjust any automatic settings. We are glad you loved our Oceanside location and comfortable lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    503
    131
    34
    18
See reviews for
718
919
51
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Others from Trip Advisor rated this resort highly. We were not disappointed!

This hotel has been completely redone. The rooms were nice, clean, and good size. The service with the exception of a few issues at the restaurant were excellent. Pool was clean, the grounds tropical and the beach wide and clean. Highly recommend this resort when you visit HHI.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCBeach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your new review. We are glad you found our resort so favorable, especially the tropical aura of our outdoor grounds and the spacious pristine beach. We can’t wait to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

EXEMPLARY . . . I have vacationed on the Island for 37 years and have stayed at the hotel on Shipyard (through various management companies and owners) approximately 20 times. The renovation is outstanding, very well comtemplated, and very well executed. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is very inviting, pleasant, and conducive to relaxation and leisure. At my recent stay, I had personal interaction with about 20 employees of the hotel, 1 or more in probably every department. The experience with every single one of those employees was outstanding. The General Manager is ever-present on the grounds and is very social. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, over and above its two other primary competitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robellaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy to hear feedback from some of our repeat guests. It is truly special that you have been visiting this property for so many years, and we can’t thank you enough for enjoying our hotel again to explore our new renovations. We are so pleased you had such excellent interpersonal interactions with so many members of our staff. Thank you for recommending us, we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 18 the wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time . The resort is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Food was good and nice to have the pool and beach right there. We will be back for sure. I will book my next visit for longer . My only negative comment is our standard king room had a horrible view of the roof top of the building below. However the room was so nice and clean it did not matter to us. It even smelled clean .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay, and we are honored to be selected as your destination of choice for such a special occasion. Although the building is designed to provide as many scenic views as possible, next time you visit, please let us know so that we can place you in a room with an exceptional view. Thank you for your compliments about the pool, beach, and food. We can’t wait to have you back to celebrate your 19th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after a long drive from Atlanta. We were welcomed by a great reception team and made to feel important. Check in was easy but our room was not ready, we were a lille early. After a complimentary drink we went to our room a king garden view. Large and perfect overlooking the pool but high enough to be quite quiet. The resort's makeover mean's that everything is pristine. Ate in the restaurant that evening, food great service also very good.
The pool area is large with plenty of loungers, it did get quite full during the day as there were conferences going on and the wives and children used the pool are. However, we had no problem getting settled. The service at the pool is great, staff constantly offering drinks,food, water and even ice cold flannels. The bar is great and the bar staff very obliging. We noticed that all the staff were smiling which suggests a happy team, nothing is too much trouble. Ate breakfast twice but the first time we found the kitchen were struGgling and had to wait about 30 minutes for our choice, better the next day.
If I were to be picky no one told us about happy hour until we accidentally found out by ourselves. A little more info on check in would have been good.
Prices in the bar and restaurant are pretty good for a stylish resort such as this.
The beach is just a two minute stroll via a walkway over the dunes.
We spent 5 days at the resort and did not want to leave.
The place is great and we would not hesitate to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your five star review about your visit to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. The Bellmen and Front Desk team do an incredible job of making our guests feel comfortable and welcome from the moment they arrive. The garden view rooms offer a beautiful view of our lively courtyard. We are glad you enjoyed the delicious food and incredible service at Sweet Canes. We will certainly pass along your feedback about receiving more information at check in with our Guest Services department in order to ensure that all agents are knowledgeable about resort activities and are able to communicate this to all incoming guests. We are glad you were able to appreciate our close proximity to the beach. We look forward to having you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza at Shipyard for many years. Sonesta has taken over the hotel and has just finished a $30 million renovation. The hotel is awesome - the rooms are elegantly finished, the bathrooms are light and cheerful. The bedroom area has motion sensor lights on the baseboards by the beds that are activated in case you have to use the restroom at night. A great idea! The decor in the hotel is warm,causal and contemporary with vibrant colors. The pool area is redone with new furniture and and new landscaping. Cabanas are also added in various areas around the pool. A new entrance has been added for the kids to get into the pool. The dinning areas have been changed and the open area bar and sitting areas have been added to the reception area. Have I mentioned the superb staff just makes the place the best on the island. Sonesta has been named 2013 Readers Choice Award winner as Best Hotel on the island.

Room Tip: A view of the pool area or ocean view would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about the newly refreshed Sonesta Resort. We are excited that you love our brand new look. The modern furnishings and Lowcountry infused décor create an elegant and upbeat, yet relaxing atmosphere. Our motion activated floor lights are one of our many new guest room features. Our poolside oasis complete with regal lounge chairs and beautiful cabanas create the perfect summer destination. The zero entry element in the pool is wonderful for young ones to play in. Thank you for designating us the best hotel on the island. We are very proud of our Readers Choice Award. We hope to have you back soon and will be delighted to take care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Sonesta Resort was great for the myself and 3 friends who came down from New York, we played golf for 3 days and relaxed on the beach in the afternoon. Great experience, great service and the golf courses were fantastic, make sure to ask for the golf package when you book. The Shipyard course down the street is was great and very convenient and the beach is a quick walk from the hotel. Overall, one of the best trips I've been on in years and its all thanks to the Sonesta Resort and the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for offering a review of our all new resort. We love that you were able to enjoy our local Shipyard Golf Courses within the plantation. Our golf package is an excellent way to enjoy our resort. We hope to have you and your friends back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing